We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hamburg Dammtor - Not another damn tour”
Review of Vorbach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vorbach Hotel
Ranked #93 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Nagasaki, Japan
2 reviews
“Hamburg Dammtor - Not another damn tour”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

First impression was like entering an elegant old familiar establishment. The staff was very kind and friendly. The ceilings in the hotel are high like Victorian buildings with deep cornices, they have preserved the original style with the hotel makeover and introduced some mod cons like elevator in the centre of the stairwell. The breakfast was fantastic, I did not want to move from the elegant dining room. If you cannot sleep the bar is open 24 hours, or you can go for a walk around the neighbourhood and savour the architectural delights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eros447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    83
    38
    6
    1
See reviews for
18
37
11
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I enjoyed by three day stay at the Vorbach Hotel. The hotel is only 5 minutes from the Domntor train station. There is an events/information office in the train station that can provide you with a map and directions to the hotel. The hotel itself, seems to be two buildings connected on the second floor. The building features classic tradional German architecture but the interior is a bit simpler and basic. My room was as small as I have ever stayed in. I had to sit in the only chair and prop my feet up on the bed in order to work on my lap top. The door into the bathroom didn't completely open before it banged up against the toilet. That being said, the room offered everything I needed as I wasn't at the hotel much. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel offers breakfast in a confined space on the second floor each morning. The waiting staff are great but the breakfast is pretty basic. As far as I could determine, you had a choice of a soft boiled egg or a hard boiled egg, to go with selection of cold plates available on the one buffet table. The hotel is in a great location for sight seeing. You can rent bikes from a shop at the University a block away and pedal to the downtown canals and cathedrals in 5 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My stay in this hotel was extremely pleasant and for a decent price. Room with lots of natural light and a view of a big tree. Very peaceful.
Great, strong shower and good breakfast.
Very friendly staff.
Highly recommended :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

elegant old bulding with very spacious rooms including top designed bathrooms and kitchen with all you need for a pleasant stay.
the Hotel is based at the top district of the city of Hamburg,10 minutes walk to the "Alster" or "Jungfernstieg",the famous shopping area.
also "Opera","Thalia-Theater"and "Laeizhalle",the best place for concerts are within walking distance.
just at the corner from"Rothenbaumchaussee",where you find all kinds of restaurants,europeen,asian,german food....
i recommend the Hotel Vorbach!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNCello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Classic Hamburg Hotel in one of the best areas. Very friendly and professional staff. Spacious rooms with kitchenette and coffee and tea making facilities.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evergreenswing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
370 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Great location in quiet side street near Hamburg Uni. Dammtor station is ten minutes away and can get you anywhere in Hamburg quickly. The hotel rooms are OK and the price is quite reasonable for Hamburg, especially for the quiet nature of the hotel.
Skip the breakfast. I paid 9 EUR a night for a very basic breakfast that was not worth it at all. Walk to a nearby cafe as there are many near the Uni or go to the train station for a snack instead.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veffekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stay here when traveling for a single night on business.
The hotel consists of former apartment houses and the structure of the building still shows this. As a result every room has a different layout.
The style of the room dates back from the late 80ies, at least it feels so. But everything is in good conditions. Bathrooms are quite standard and from my point of view need a makeover style wise.
Breakfast room is charming.
To me the hotel typically fits in the area and offers an adequate value for the price you pay. Particularly when considering the area of the city it is in.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Eimsbüttel
Hotel Wagner im Dammtorpalais
Hotel Alster-Hof
#60 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Uhlenhorst
Hotel Alsterblick
Hotel Alsterblick
#149 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eimsbüttel
Hotel Preuss
Hotel Preuss
#233 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vorbach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vorbach Hotel

Property: Vorbach Hotel
Address: Johnsallee 63-67, 20146 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Rotherbaum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vorbach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Vorbach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vorbach Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing