We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its a cake heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Herr Max

Herr Max
Ranked #10 of 53 Dessert in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Its a cake heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

I used to go there every saturday/ sunday. The cakes are just amazing. And they change the cake sorts every week. I love the one with strawberry and basil. What a combination. Must try !

Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter-ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    34
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I absolutely love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Living in Hamburg I frequented this place as much as I could.

I always make a point to go back every time i visit. The place is awesome!

From the quirky decor to the tasty delights, there is not much that i can fault with this place.

Located in a rather 'Hip' end of Hamburg, it is always filled with students, the artsy types and people who love good food/ coffee.

I have never been disappointed with any visit here and would 100% recommend that you pop in no matter how long your stay in HH is for.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank smoothedoutdrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany, Italy
Level Contributor
148 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“nice place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

This café is a very nice place to enjoy a cup of tea/coffee chatting with friends. The atmosphere is very friendly and relaxed. Cakes are really tasty (I suggest to try their apple pie).
It's perfectly located in a nice street, with a lot of shops nearby.
I well recommend it, well done!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank montinaviganti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
220 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely coffee and sweets shop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I read about this place in a magazine and decided I must try it. I was so happy we did! It was so cute and charming inside and it was a nice warm break from the rain. The apple pie was delicious and so was the berry cake we tried. I am allergic to nuts and the staff was great at helping me with that-- they looked at all of the recipes and even spoke english with me to make sure what I was picking was ok. I highly recommend!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Domfas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best cheesecake you'd ever have!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

All homemade cakes and pies, cute original enteria in French style. I could never have an other cheesecake after trying yhe Canadian one here, it's a must! The ice cream is to die for...

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisaakesson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herr Max also viewed

 
Hamburg, Germany
 

Been to Herr Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing