We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gresham Carat Hotel
Ranked #173 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Bonn, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Does the job”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Location good if you come by car as next to busy highway junction. Decent straight run into town centre by taxi- 15-20 euros. S-bahn a 7-8 min walk through run-down area, but good quick access once at station- 2 stops to central station and same line for many tourist areas. Breakfast room and bar a bit retro but service decent and at reception too. Bit light on quality of breakfast, but serves late at weekends- til noon. Rooms clean and decent size, but traffic noise a problem and furnishings starting to show signs of wear. Not quite sure how it was 4 star however.

Room Tip: Pretty clear which side of building you should get a room- think it was odd numbered ones away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham Carat H, Manager at Gresham Carat Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for rating us on tripadvisor.
We are sorry, that you haven´t felt well in the hotel surrounding area.
We are located at a part of town called Veddel, which is near by the industrial harbor but very close to the city center as well.

We hope that you enjoyed you stay here with us and are looking forward welcoming you again as guest. Best regards from Hamburg.
Yours Gresham Carat Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    51
    67
    27
    14
See reviews for
23
74
17
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Location
Although the hotel is sited directly next to the motorway, the neighbourhood can be classified as poor. Secondly there are limited options for a restaurant within walking distance.
The station is about a 5 minutes walk away which will bring you down town within 5 minutes.

Parking
There is limited space at the hotel and you have to park your car near the Penny market.
Does not really feel secure.

Hotel
On the outside it makes a tired impression. On the inside it is clean an a bit less tired.
The best staff is in the bar where the waiter is friendly and helpful
Breakfast is a normal continental breakfast, nothing special.

Rooms
The rooms are large and have single beds although there is no air conditioner.
The bathroom is spacious but the fittings are tired. The toilet is very low and showed
cracks. You have to take a shower in the bath tub.
Fortunately the rooms have double glazing in 4 layers which reduces the sound but makes the rooms hot in summer. The minibar is filled with various condiments and drinks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Super7NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights with my husband & 8 year old son.,hotel nice and clean and rooms okay cleaned every day. most of the staff not very friendly except the man on the night shift very helpful, did not ask had we enjoyed our stay or said goodbye as we left. the hotel not situated in a good area no where to go or eat , breakfast was okay but expensive to eat and drink there. Not far to the train station to get into Hamburg city about a 10 mins walk and 2 stops. the Hotel is okay for a base as we went out everyday from the morning to evening ,as nothing for children or surrounding area for children to do .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham Carat H, Manager at Gresham Carat Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are always interested in positive feedback and constructive criticism.
We are very sorry that our staff was not friendly to you. This is absolutely not the standard.
We are located at a part of town called Veddel, which is near by the industrial harbor but very close to the city center as well. I think it is hard to find a hotel in Hamburg were kids can play in the surrounding area.
We hope that you enjoyed you stay here with us and are looking forward welcoming you again as guest. Best regards from Hamburg. Yous Gresham Carat Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just left this hotel this morning, gentleman working nights at reception was very kind&helpful unlike lady on reception this morning who wasn't friendly didn't even ask if we enjoyed our stay or say thanks. Room was cleaned to perfection & the girl that set up the bed for our little boy did a brill job adding a special touch. Food was good but quite expensive. Nothing to do in the area so you'be no choice but to stay in the hotel and nothing for kids in such an isolated area

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinegary24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham Carat H, Manager at Gresham Carat Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are always interested in positive feedback and constructive criticism.
We are very sorry that our staff was not friendly to you. This is absolutely not the standard.
We are located at a part of town called Veddel, which is near by the industrial harbor but very close to the city center as well. I think it is hard to find a hotel in Hamburg were kids can play in the surrounding area.
We hope that you enjoyed you stay here with us and are looking forward welcoming you again as guest. Best regards from Hamburg. Yous Gresham Carat Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

A very reasonably priced hotel situated in Harbour City on the south side of the Elbe, only 2 stops from Central Station. Rooms are simple but comfortable, with very little outside noise evident. Granted, the hotel is situated in a rather dark residential area - having stayed there in late November, street lighting was very poor. However, it is about 10 minutes walk to the S-Bahn, which is convenient. This is a much cheaper option than staying somewhere in the centre of Hamburg and perfectly suited my requirements as a base to sleep. Breakfast was very overpriced (13 euros each) but I find that in the majority of hotels. Wifi isnt free which is a let down in this day and age. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basketball83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viersen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Never a 4 star hotel. Location was the first thing to be concerned by, it's not exactly in a nice area and you don't feel particularly comfortable leaving your car in the exposed parking area behind a dodgy-looking fruit machine place and a penny markt.

'Renovations' were going on when we arrived and I was stunned when I saw that the rolls of carpet lying about were not the ones being pulled up but laid down, they were hideous! I guess all hotels need to carry out work sometimes, but you don't expect the work to be going on when you return to the hotel after 5pm.

Corridors and walls generally looked very dated and the whole place was cold. Our room looked okay, but even in there it seemed difficult to keep the heat in. The bathroom was certainly not 4 star standard and looked somewhat neglected and the shower didn't work properly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DixonBaimbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Carat for just one weekend night when visiting the Model Railway museum. The hotel is in a quiet but rather stark area in Veddel. We got the impression that it's not a nice area to wander about in, but there's a convenience store on the hotel doorstep and it's just a 10 minute taxi ride into Hamburg. We liked the Gresham very much - we had a spotless room with very comfortable beds and a newly upgraded bathroom. We didn't use the leisure amenities except for the bar as we spent the days out in the city. The breakfast buffet was super. Most of all though, we were impressed by the staff - they worked very hard, were very friendly, and made every effort to make our stay enjoyable. In particular we were treated like royalty by Sebastian - nothing was too much trouble for him, and we'll certainly stay there again on our next trip.

Room Tip: Try to gaet a room with the new bathrooms decor - super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Criddus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hamburg
Holiday Inn Hamburg
#82 of 319 in Hamburg
769 reviews
1.5 mi away
Novum Hotel Hagemann Hamburg Hafen
3.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Hamburg-Stillhorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Park Hotel am Berliner Tor
Park Hotel am Berliner Tor
#166 of 319 in Hamburg
198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elbbrucken Hotel
Elbbrucken Hotel
#217 of 319 in Hamburg
47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bridge Inn Hotel
Bridge Inn Hotel
#224 of 319 in Hamburg
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gresham Carat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gresham Carat Hotel

Property: Gresham Carat Hotel
Address: Sieldeich 5-6, 20539 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gresham Carat Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gresham Carat Hotel in Hamburg is located in the Eastern part of Hamburg at the Elbbridges. It is conveniently located only a few minutes from the Hamburg harbour, cruise terminal, Ballinstadt museum, harbour city, the Elbphilharmonie and the famous Speicherstadt, making it a great base from which to explore Hamburg. Explore our Spacious Bedrooms The hotel offers beautifully designed rooms with luxurious furnishings to ensure that you rest up and relax whilst staying with us in our ideally located hotel in Hamburg. All of our bedrooms have sound proof windows, Free Wi-Fi, Samsung Plasma multi channel TV's as well as all other modern conveniences to ensure a most enjoyable stay with us. Our newest Executive rooms are equipped with air conditioning. Free surface parking is also available. For your relaxation we also have a Sauna which is free to use for all of our hotel guests. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Our newly refurbished Limerick Restaurant, is renowned for some mouth watering food options. Our hotel bar “Shannon”, is designed like a modern Irish lounge. You can enjoy Guinness on tap as well as a large selection of other drinks including Irish single malt Whiskeys. This is an ideal venue to watch sporting events on our T.V. screens. The Gresham Carat Hotel in Hamburg is the perfect base for enjoying the very best of what Hamburg City has to offer. Look no further for a 4 star hotel in Hamburg City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gresham Carat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carat Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing