We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique atmosphere, helpful staff”
Review of Hostel Kiezbude

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Kiezbude
Ranked #33 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Hamburg
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Look. It's an inexpensive hostel on the loud, seedy Reeperbahn (party district) that used to be a brothel. Do not expect five-star quality, class, and quiet. Do not expect anything "family-friendly." But if this sounds interesting and fun to you, then I promise it will be.
Our room was very basic, but the decor kept with the spirit of the place's old purpose, which we thought was entertaining. Peter, the guy at the front desk, went above and beyond in helping us find cool places for sightseeing, dining, and fun. We spoke to him in German but it seems he knew English as well. Without his recommendations, I don't think we'd have found nearly as much cool stuff to do.
I wish there'd been a few more accessible toilets, and by accessible, I mean able to be used without embarrassing yourself. The ladies' room had two facilities but no stalls to divide them, just a sparse beaded curtain, so unless you're adventurous or mad drunk, it can effectively only be occupied by one person at a time.
All in all, I loved this place. The price was right, the location was unbeatable, the staff was great, and the atmosphere had a really unique and entertaining character. If I find myself in Hamburg again, I'll be here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 58 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

Went here in December when it was reasonably quiet and really enjoyed my stay. Peter the guy that runs the place is very helpful and advised the places to go in Hamburg and the ereas to steer clear of, the bird that works with him aint to shabby on the eye either. Nice room and comfy bed, excellent location tho decor not to my taste.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goonerboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Arrived with a group staying the weekend for a stag doo. In a very run down area and the building is covered on the outside by grafitti, so much so that you dont beleive there is a door. We checked in and you have to see the decor to believe it. The rooms were basic and noisy but for all the time we spent there they were fine for a group of lads.

On check in we were rudely greeted by the owner and thought we would have problems with him. If you dont mind being spoke to like naughty children or been screamed at and having temper tantrums displayed in front of you then you'll love it. And that was before we had even been passed a room key. Never have I met a person with so little social skills and such anger problems!

I certainly wouldnt recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AKelly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a stag do...location bang in the middle of party central....a bit noisy due to constant night life outside till 7 in the morning....but overall does what it says on he tin!!!receptionists are helpful so please use for and advice....

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Reiceproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This place is really something. The extremely sleazy decorations are hilarious and weirdly charming in its extremity.

The location is great, right by the nice bars in St. Pauli and next to the S-Bahn.

The personel were really cool, relaxed and open, and gave me and my friend some great advices for places to go - and most importantly don't go.

Don't hesitate going here, if you ar looking for at cheap place for a wild weekend in Hamburg.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasBehrndtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

First view from outside is scary as the building looks like abandoned. Once inside, the pshycodelic style of the reception help to make the first impression less bad and that's all.

The lady in front desk was nice but there was a man not so friendly supervising every step of her who also didn't give any sign of welcome while my friend and I were checking-in.
The room for four was terrible, the only "good" thing was the colours in the walls. The bed was the cheapeast possible with no comfort at all. In the middle of the night the room was all bright as the windows was not covered by a good courtain.
In the reception they were selling ear protectors due to a simple reason: if you don't buy, you don't sleep as the rooms are facing the main avenue in St. Pauli.
I was charged for the towel and this to me is something that I guess is a bit old fashioned in the world of hostels, but is acceptable once you have at least a good one, but this was not the case.
The other night I choose to spend at another Hostel called Generator and this was a really great experience. Kiezbude urgent demands professional administration.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Was awoken in the middle of the night by the owner screaming and threatening people within the hostel for apparently forgetting their key. Very scary and intimidating. Only one male and one female toilets in the entire building. Very noisy and in a very seedy part of town. I would avoid this place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Altona-Altstadt
Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Pauli
St. Pauli
Buch-Ein-Bett Hostel
Buch-Ein-Bett Hostel
#56 of 108 in Hamburg
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altona-Altstadt
Instant Sleep Backpacker Hostel
St. Pauli
Pyjama Park Hotel und Hostel
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#69 of 321 in Hamburg
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Kiezbude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Kiezbude

Address: Lincolnstrasse 2, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Altona-Altstadt
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Hamburg
Price Range: $64 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Kiezbude 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostel Kiezbude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing