We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
Ranked #18 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I genuinely have nothing bad to say about this hotel. Every aspect of it was excellent, from the amazingly spacious rooms to the friendly bar and front-desk staff and from the location to its cleanliness - all were ideal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkyb_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen S, Director of Sales at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hej dear guest,

thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We hope to see you again.

Best regards

Tobias Albert
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    508
    114
    30
    11
See reviews for
244
507
45
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed on business and will try and get back to this hotel and Hamburg for a holiday it is well worth it!

The restaurant was well organised and the food was excellent, the bar and the beer especially were on top form.

The rooms were bright, clean and modern, just lacked milk for the brewing gear.

The position of this hotel is ideal for most attractions.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeH8544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen S, Director of Sales at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hej dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback and your point to the milk.
Normally there should be coffee whitener in every room with tea and coffee facility.
Sorry, that our housekeeping forgot to refill the gear.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

Tobias Albert
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stylish rooms, based on Eco friendly principles.
Very comfortable bed ( not always the case in trendy hotels!)
Nice touch to get a free bottle of water

Have not tried the bar/ restaurant or other facilities, only reason not to give 5 stars (stayed on 2 business trips)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hej dear guest,

thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We would be happy, if you try our restaurant during your next stay
and give us the fifth star.

See you.

Best regards

Tobias Albert
Senior Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Simple, modern, clean and good size rooms close to Gaensemarkt (central). Rooms have wodden floor, wgich gives it a cleaner feel, as these usually smelly carpets in hotels. Breakfast is simple and fine for something quick, but could do with a bit more love and care. Elevator is very creative (diver in deep see coming up!), but very unpleasent feeling.
Would definitely use Scandic again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank keeptravelingMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen S, Director of Sales at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hej dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback.
It helps us a lot to understand, what our guests like or dislike.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
177 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a very unusual hotel. as it is ikea-like a low-cost sustainable approach (only local products, no toiletries, no room service - a small 24h shop instead). Very unusual but really enjoyable. Breakfast was really great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ropongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hej dear guest,

thank you very much for your positiv feedback.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed one night to celebrate my wife's birthday. Therefore I asked for their best room and we got it:-) It was a big lovely room with all facilities. The staff was very polite, helpful and serviceminded. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant. My wife being an vegetarian, we asked what our option was, as there are no vegetarian main course on the menu. The chef went to work and presented a delicious meal:-)
We will definetly come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolafsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hej dear guest,

Thank you very much for you positive feedback.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
If possible, we try to accomplish every wish.
See you again.

Best regards
Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
149 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Based on excellent TripAdvisor reviews, we chose to stay at the Scandic for a short trip to Hamburg. It was an excellent choice and also great value when booked in advance.

Check-in was friendly and quick and we were pleased to find our room was a little bit different to other chain hotels (with nice features such as a recycling bin, massive bed, and clever layout). It was also very quiet so we slept particularly well here. The location is excellent for tourists, being close to all train services and a short walk to the nice area around the Rathaus.

As our first experience of the Scandic brand, we were very impressed and would select the brand again for its subtle quirkiness and good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hey dear guest,

thank you very much for your positiv feedback.

We are glad to hear that you like the Scandicstyle and philosophy,
which we also offer in our other 160 Scandic Hotels in Europe.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter

Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#13 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hamburg Emporio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hamburg Emporio

Property: Scandic Hamburg Emporio
Address: Dammtorwall 19, 20355 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hamburg Emporio 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Hamburg Emporio combines sustainability, Scandinavian design and functionality in a unique way. The concept of "water" as a stylish design theme can be found throughout the hotel. The Hamburg hotel has 325 rooms in two categories, a restaurant and bar "H20", as well as eight conference rooms with a view across the city. Thanks to its location on Gansemarkt in the heart of the city, the Scandic Hamburg Emporio is the ideal starting point for holidaymakers and business travellers. It is part of the Scandic Hotel Group that has more than 230 hotels in Europe and is considered a pioneer in environmentallyfriendly tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Scandic Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Scandic Hamburg Emporio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing