We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incompetent stuff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Hamburg Emporio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
Ranked #18 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
113 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Incompetent stuff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I paid several days before arriving in Hamburg and once at the reception I checked that my booking and payment was fine.. Just few minutes later on my mobile an sms from my credit card highlithed that I was charged twice!!! And 2 different amount!! And the two receptionists could not do anything they said because it was a week-end day!!! I can't believe it!!! First time ever!!! And if I had to use my credit card for other reasons during my stay????

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    481
    108
    29
    10
See reviews for
232
471
44
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericia, Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed 2 days in connection with a visit to the Xmas market end of November. We notified them in advance of our twins and there was little presents for them when we arrived in the room... big points with the kids. Location is a short walking distance to the center even with small kids.
Shopping is unbeatable... great selection and reasonable prices compared to other metros...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesperA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I found the overall night such a pleasure, to wake up in the morning and go for breakfast to be greeted by a bunch of smiley and happy cleaners is amazing, and then to also be greeted by a very kind man who showed me to my breakfast table.

The staff overall were always smiling and their seemed to be a really nice working spirit among the staff, as everyone said "Guten Morgan" to one another.

A hotel I which I would gladly stay again, and if I was not employed already, seems it would be a friendly, caring and comfortable place to work.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eng0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
96 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel is situated in the heart of Hamburg, 5 mins walk from the Gaensemarkt. It is new, and is very much Scandinavian in feel.
Rooms and bathroom are comfortable enough. Internet works problem-free.
Breakfast is very good.
However, the one big minus about this hotel is the very slow check-in and -out speed. It is simply not good enough. Staff seem unfamiliar with the IT systems. There is no concierge, which obviously adds to the reception's workload. Even at peak check-out times there are only 2 staff on duty.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GGlen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
557 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

a modern euro-style hotel. The elevator was flooded with blue light and was happy did not have to spend longer in it.

The room had the expected amenities and I actually liked that there were no closed drawers, easier to not miss something.

easy walk to the convention center across a park and also to downtown which was about 10 minutes.

Breakfast selection seemed a bit poor for nice German hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeBirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Overall, the hotel is far too overpriced and far away from reaching a four star level in the services it offers. What's even worse - the lack of service is constantly disguised by an alleged "eco-friendliness". It's not eco-friendly to save wherever you can - it's simply misleading!

Pros:
- Big room (I stayed in the standard room)
- all new
- nice shower

Cons:
- Big room is completely empty. There is one chair and a bed and a desk and that's it. Hardly any decoration and no light.
- Bathroom amenities are served in big, installed containers and are limited to soap and shampoo/shower gel all in one.
- Aircon unit cannot be switched off (how environmentally friendly is that?!)
- there is no (I repeat: "zero") wardrobe in this room. Instead, you get an open cupboard Ikea thing. Very ugly and all your clothes are out in the open.
- Breakfast is only average. Coffee isn't even brought to your table, but one has to get it oneself.
- Changing programmes on the TV takes 10 seconds per change.
- Finally: The price is a joke. 150 EUR per night can buy you a much better experience in almost any four star hotel in central Hamburg.

In summary, I recommend: Either to downgrade to 3 star level and adjust the prices accordingly or to seriously up the services offered. In the current situation, I cannot recommend anyone to stay there, unless one gets a rate of less than 100 EUR per night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lars G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanciano, Italy
Level Contributor
244 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Scandic Emporio is perfectly located in downtown, few meter far from the subway. The htoel is brand new just opened and the staff is kind and efficient. The rooms are spacious enough and have a minimalist furnishing completed with all you need. The bed is confortable as well as the pillows. I did not have the chance to test the internal restaurant but the breakfast is varied and very good.
Only disappointment is the light in the lift: it's terrible and really annoying.
For the rest I would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anxanum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#7 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#12 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hamburg Emporio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hamburg Emporio

Property: Scandic Hamburg Emporio
Address: Dammtorwall 19, 20355 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hamburg Emporio 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Hamburg Emporio combines sustainability, Scandinavian design and functionality in a unique way. The concept of "water" as a stylish design theme can be found throughout the hotel. The Hamburg hotel has 325 rooms in two categories, a restaurant and bar "H20", as well as eight conference rooms with a view across the city. Thanks to its location on Gansemarkt in the heart of the city, the Scandic Hamburg Emporio is the ideal starting point for holidaymakers and business travellers. It is part of the Scandic Hotel Group that has more than 230 hotels in Europe and is considered a pioneer in environmentallyfriendly tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Scandic Hamburg Emporio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing