We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hosts, Very Good Restaurant, Nice Rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Hamburg Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard Hamburg Airport
Ranked #75 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
177 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Hosts, Very Good Restaurant, Nice Rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

OK, the restaurant is a little pricey. I don't want to go exploring on the evening I leave Hamburg on an early morning flight. The buffet was excellent, the service was top rate, and the price moderate for value received, and this is an important distinction in my view.

The room quality was well above par, the rate competitive especially if you consider proximity to the airport. I had no internet issues, and my front desk greeting and all staff contacts were friendly, and English well spoken, which to me speaks to valuing the international guests.

Decor is current, and it's a nice quiet location inside a busy corridor to the airport. Excellent. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    198
    53
    13
    5
See reviews for
48
78
27
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is a very convenient hotel if you need to get up very early to catch an early flight from Hamburg airport.
The bed was nice and the room was really quiet and nice. The bathroom was also very nice. They don't have mini bar but you can buy bottle of water, juice, wine and some other stuff right next to the front desk.
I actually liked the restaurant Concorde, that they have inside the hotel, it was very elegant and nice and they had a good buffett. They also have some live music some nights. If you are traveling on budget I highly recommend the tomato rugula pasta (you'll find it on the vegetarian section of the menu), is one of the cheapest main dishes and it's very good. You can also walk around the block and you will find a pizza place, very cheap. If your flight leaves earlier than the first shuttle (5 a.m.), you can order a taxi and will take you to the airport for 5 euros.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Like many I was visiting for just one night in advance of a departing flight. It's so close to the airport you can walk from the terminal and S-bahn station to the hotel. They suggest being safe and taking the shuttle, but really it is not far and stay on the sidewalk to the left, along the parking lots, and then left at the traffic circle and over the bridge and just a short distance further and the hotel is on the left. It was a refreshing walk for me and easy with wheeled luggage.

The reception was gracious, everything clean and well prepared. The room was decent sized, bed comfortable, and everything in order. If you're not from Europe or accustomed to it, the room lighting doesn't work until you put your door key card ALL the way into the dimly list slot and until it CLICKS. Thankfully they left the TV on to provide a glow to the room so you can even find the room light control slot for the key.

The noise of the airport is not that noticeable as the windows are fairly sound proof it seems. Also, it appears Hamburg does not allow flights between midnight and 6am. I didn't have the breakfast or use any of the restaurant services so I can't comment on that.

This is a great choice if you have to travel, or even as a cheaper alternative to staying in the center of the city with the convenience of the rail service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel-here-there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

About 10 minutes on foot to and from Hamburg airport if you're in reasonable shape and carrying light bags. It's paved all the way and a straight line so you'd have to be an idiot to get lost, but it's very exposed to the wind. Free shuttle from early to late every half hour, or on request. I asked for a special run away from the usual half hourly slot and the driver was outside before I'd reached the van. On the downside, he was the only member of staff I met who was all smiles.
Plenty of parking outside. Efficient but dour check-in, which set the tone for my few dealings with the desk staff. They were always responsive, everything I asked for was agreed politely, but I've had warmer receptions at funerals.
There are only two or three floors and I didn't notice significant noise from outside the hotel or from the airport during my stay. The internal walls, however, are paper thin.
The room was small but adequate, Courtyard normal, and had more storage space than I found in the Marriott on ABC Straße. Empty minibar, which I like. Couldn't fault the cleaning. MR gold got the usual free wifi (146kB/s, phone and tablet simultaneously, no drop offs) but no breakfast, and if that was a room upgrade I'd hate to see what steerage looks like. Small bathroom with shower cubicle, minimum of toiletries, no robe or slippers.
If you're not Marriott gold or platinum expect to pay through the nose for wifi and breakfast unless there's some kind of package available.
Didn't try any of the food offerings as I was out and about early to late. Bear in mind that the hotel's on the edge of a quiet suburb half an hour from Hamburg so you will be short of food options if you base here instead of in the city; realistically, in the hotel or at the airport, which has an Edeka supermarket and a decent and very comprehensive restaurant called Marché in terminal 2.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank voronUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriola Island, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was a last minute reservation for one night. The accommodation was great. Staff was helpful and friendly except for one arrogant male at the reception desk. We were particularly surprised by how quiet the rooms and the entire hotel are, considering how close they are to the airport. We did not eat at the restaurant because we knew about a fabulous Chinese restaurant close by from a previous visit to Hamburg, so have no comment about the restaurant.

However it was during this previous visit to Hamburg that the Courtyard by Marriot really shone. Our then hotel did not have airport transportation so we approached the Courtyard hotel to see weather they would take us to the airport. They just asked us to be at their hotel with our luggage and they would certainly drive us to the airport. Now that is service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Min0che
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Unfriendly staff, bad house keeping, expensive restaurant and most of all internet connection coming from the late 90s. In addition to that TV services are too slow and you can wait 10 second for channel change.
Airport nearby situation is not a big problem when room window is closed. Insulation is good. Probably you can have troubles on 3rd floor, which is actually the last one.
Shuttle services are controversial, depends on the driver. Most of the drivers do their job perfectly, but some of them are unfriendly and unprofessional.
Reception. A staff having high self-esteem without coverage. Tried to cheat and forced me to pay a culture tax (tourist tax) even though I'm on a business trip.
A positive thing is the rich breakfast buffet, although waiter can hardly speak English.

Stay away from this hotel. Too high room price for low quality serviced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ventsislav T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

from 6.10 until 11.10 we were staying in the marriott courtyard hamburg.
as usual the hotel was without any problems on the contrary it was very good.
also the staff ,and i mean all of them,were just very helpful .
the price of the room is very reasonable.if you come without a car ,there are plenty of public transports to downtown hamburg and it is very close to hamburg airport but not noisy in the room as double double windows.in the night you can open them as there are no flighst from midnight until 6 am.
we would always recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: any floor is good,there are only3 floors including ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globewinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg Airport
0.5 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Hamburg Airport
0.0 mi away
Kocks Hotel Garni
Kocks Hotel Garni
#215 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ibis Hamburg Airport
Ibis Hamburg Airport
#67 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
1.0 mi away
Leonardo Inn Hotel Hamburg Airport
0.1 mi away
meinHotel
meinHotel
#257 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hamburg Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hamburg Airport

Property: Courtyard Hamburg Airport
Address: Flughafenstr. 47, 22415 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#54 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#57 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Courtyard Hamburg Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 600 metres/0.4 miles from the International Airport Hamburg. The underground train station within 3 minutes walking distance from the hotel will take you directly to the city center of Hamburg ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Hamburg Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hamburg Airport Hotel Hamburg
Marriott Hamburg
Hamburg Courtyard
Hamburg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing