We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location short walks to Hamburg's principal attractions.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #43 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent location short walks to Hamburg's principal attractions.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Excellent location very centrally located short walk to Aussenalster, Hafencity, Wunderworld and many nice shops and restaurants. Metro stop conveniently located across the street. Buffet breakfast is had cold and hot cooked to order options.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rlcasas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear rlcasas,

Thank you for your lovely feedback following your stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, it is really appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel well located. We will be glad to welcome you back to the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg in not too distant future!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    777
    256
    72
    22
See reviews for
268
760
89
530
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

This Steigenberger is quite old, also in terms of the room furniture. It took my shower 10mins to give hot water, the sink was blocked all the time so I stood in a puddle of water. Check-out was so long so I had to wait over 25mins as there were only two counters open.

Breakfast was fine but cost EUR 28 on top. Internet wasn't included either and cost EUR 14 per day!

Positive was the friendly staff, and a well-equipped hotel bar with friendly bar staff. The location was great for us since we attended a conference in the 'Handelskammer'.

Not sure if I would recommend this hotel for the price. I stayed in the Steigenberger in Vienna once before and the overall quality was miles better than this one, and it was quite new.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FairReviewerDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear FairReviewerDana,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following you recent stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg. In terms of the long check out time I apologize. Your feedback is valuable for us and I thank you for making us aware of these matters. I have referred your feedback to our Front Office Director to follow-up and take action to ensure that this is not repeated in future. It is true that WiFi is not free of charge at them moment because we are still bound in contract with the provider but from January 2014 we will provide free WiFi to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you both back to Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg on a future visit.

With kind regards,

Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The train from the airport stops only 100 metres away. The neighboorhood is great, a kind of small Amsterdam. Check in quick and efficient. Excellent breakfast in a room overlooking a canal. In good weather they have an outside patio just a meter above the water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Egnazia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Egnazia,

Thank you very much for your feedback, which is really appreciated. It is a pleasure to hear that you loved the hotel and the location and that you that you enjoyed our breakfast. We look forward to your next stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Decided to go to Hamburg to celebrate my husbands birthday, picked out this hotel as we wanted it to be special and we were not disappointed. The location was fantastic for walking around the city and site seeing, our room overlooking a canal. Plenty of cafe and eateries very close to the hotel, and train station located in view of the main entrance of the hotel.
Room was very spacious and met all our requirements, a little trouble getting our tea supply replenished but a small detail overall a very relaxing enjoyable stay.
Parking under the hotel ideal and not too badly priced for city centre location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthiec007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Ruthie007,

Thank you for your lovely feedback following your stay at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg. It is really appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your husband´s birthday and that you found the hotel well located. The area around the hotel is certainly a lovely area and in close proximity to the most important sights, shops and the Hamburg harbour.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you both back to Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg on a future visit to Hamburg.

Best regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

A big hotel well situated in Hamburg, but with a very cold ambiance at the front desk.The staff at the front desk were not very friendly. The waiters, however, were very friendly and efficient. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast buffet was very good and there was a lot to chose from.

Room Tip: Avoid taking a room on the main street if you don't want to be awaken by the metro station which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nad435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Nad435,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg. I am delighted to hear that you loved the rooms and the breakfast buffet. I am very sorry that you found our front office staff not as friendly as expected. Your feedback is valuable for us and I thank you for making us aware of these matters. I have referred your feedback to our Front Office Director to follow-up and take action to ensure that this is not repeated in future and please accept my deepest apologies. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg on a future visit.

With kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was my first visit to this hotel.
I was on a business trip and I will be visiting the hotel quite often.
It was simply an excellent experience.
The staff was amazing, extremely friendly and ready to accomodate my every request.
Rooms are spacious, clean and in general in top condition.
Also the location - you cannot ask for a better location, 5 minutes walk from the Alster and City hall.
Breakfast was amazing - Top class.
Overall a fantastic experience. A trully great hotel.
Demetris

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Demetris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Demetris,

Thank you very much for your feedback, which is really appreciated. It is a pleasure to hear that you loved the hotel and that you have enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I only stayed a couple of nights but the beds are really comfortable, the hotel is clean and well maintained - I'd definitely go back.

The location is great - only a short walk from the centre of the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelight06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear travelight06,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of you recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you had a good time at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg and that you would definitely come back. So I look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can assist with a booking.

With kind regards,

Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#34 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
#54 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Address: Heiligengeistbruecke 4, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#19 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#32 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#36 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#40 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 5* superior hotel, built in the typical Hanseatic style, is located in the city centre, only a few steps away from all the places of interest and excellent shopping facilities. A total of 233 generously sized rooms and suites offer the comfort that is expected by travellers. The Day Spa with a panoramic sauna, steam baths and relax lounge take care of you after an exciting day. Thanks to a roof terrace, there is a fitness area available for open-air training right in the midst of the city. At the Restaurant am Fleet situated directly at the waterfront, you will enjoy your breakfast with a magnificent view over the Alster waterway. In the Bistro am Fleet with attached conservatory, you can enjoy the light, Mediterranean-style kitchen as well as unusual Euro-Asian creations and a daily changing business lunch. The Pianobar with live music and a Davidoff Cigar Lounge will offer the perfect end to the day. Rree Wi-Fi (256 kb), high speed internet per 24 hours: € 8.00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Steigenberger Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing