We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and architecture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #42 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kherson, Ukraine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Among high price found not other big issues.
Situated in the city, just on the canal it look very alike as old red-stoned buildings around, same time very modern inside.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Lovely design of room include simple but nice looking bathroom.
Some cons and advises for improvements:
-prices in restaurant higher than in city, varieties of main courses and soups low
-in a bathroom no single-use: shower cap, tooth brush and razor
-very expensive as for present days Wi-Fi
-free bottle of a mineral (drinking) water in the room been only at first day and not been provided other 2 days
-in my case all bad clothes and set of towels in room where for one person only, in case a couple all those items had to be requested
-artificial ventilation in the room was quite noisy and not effective, has to kept window opened
-be careful with wake up service- you can use it on TV in the room, but in my case instead of wake-up music it were only 'white noise" as TV been not tuned/ adjusted properly

Room Tip: Rooms at canal side not so affected by direct sunlight daily and afternoon and can been more comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vadym P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear cieff,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share those comments regarding your recent stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg. We are delighted to hear you loved the location, the architecture and the staff. We also thank you for your advises for improvements which are appreciated. Generally the number of towels and toiletries in the room depends on the number of persons who are booked in this room. If you have booked a single room it will be equipped with towels and amenities for one person, if you have booked a double room there are towels and amenities for two people. Please accept our apologies for the wake up service which obviously didn´t work as expected, we immediately solved this problem. I have passed your constructive comments to all the team and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel on a future visit to Hamburg.

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    525
    176
    42
    19
See reviews for
175
513
64
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

One-night family stay for Hamburg Christmas markets. Hotel is in a great location to visit the Christmas markets. Service is efficient and hotel in general is clean and well maintained. Our rooms were pretty dated and not so nice however, and whole place has an airport hotel feel to it - very transitory atmosphere. Breakfast is nice and very good selection all beautifully prepared.
Hamburg is wonderful at Xmas, and the Flying Santa in the main square outside the Rathaus is a must-see, and only a short walk form the hotel. There's also a Christmas market at the back of the hotel, and you are only a short walk to the other two markets. Hotel is also right on the main high-end shopping street.
Would go back again but more for its location than the hotel itself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonNeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear LondonNeat,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback which we really appreciate and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay in Hamburg. I am sorry to hear that you felt that your rooms were pretty dated but we are planning to renovate the hotel during the next year. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S of Wales
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The ambience and the location are superb. The hotel is situated on one of the lovely waterways that criss cross Hamburg. Interesting walks take you quickly to the stylish new Hafencity, the old quarters and the Alster lake. The staff at the hotel are pleasant, friendly and efficient. We stayed 5 nights. The first class service makes you feel equally at ease. The rooms are large and well appointed with nice views.This is an ideally placed hotel. There are plenty of boat trips and take time to absorb all the architecture from the very old houses and churches to the awesome new architecture evolving at the harbour. Hamburg is a 'must see' city.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view of the waterway then choose a front facing room ; the rooms facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StellarSofWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear StellarSofWales,

Thank you for your positive feedback and for taking the time to post a review following you stay with us. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and I will pass your kind words to all the staff. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Room was spacious, bright, and clean. Location was perfect for us, we walked to Hamburg Museum, St Nicholas memorial, St Micheal's, St Peter's, St Katherine's, down to the harbour, and alla round. We wandered down to an area that had a number of nice Portugese restaurants, also found a Spanish restarant close to hotel. We had one meal in the hotel, food was good, but a little over-priced. WiFi was expensive. European hotels in general need to start providing free WiFi.

Room Tip: Hotel is at least 4 star if not a little higher, so expect that all rooms would be excellent. Higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Gordon E,

Thank you so much for your great feedback. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and we do really hope that you will come back in not too distant future!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

A lovely hotel in a great location. Room's were large and clean, and there was a well equipped spa. The gym could have more resistance machines as there was only two. The WiFi seemed very expensive and therefore we skipped on it...amazing that it isn't included in the price of the accommodation these days as no extra for use of the spa / gym etc!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elmo_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Elmo_Aus,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share those comments regarding your recent stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg. We are delighted to hear you loved the location, the hotel and our spa. We can understand your irritation about the fact that Wi-Fi is not free of charge, unfortunately, we are bound by contract and cannot offer at this time Wi-Fi free of charge.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

In the beginning something went wrong twice the Spa wasnt open while we hoped to go and they only booked us for 1 night while we booked two. But problem was solved quickly. When we couldnt find a parkingspace the second day because the garage was full one of the employees even parked our car when there was a spot free in the garage so we were really carefree. I had a really late checkout and problems with the internet connection but also these were solved in no time. Breakfast however is quite expensive so i would recommend to go for a bit of a walk there are quite some really good others in the neighbourhood for less. The gym is quite nice with a good view. I would definately recommend it to someone else!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lietsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Lietsa,

Thank you so much for your very valuable and much appreciated feedback following your last stay with us. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend our hotel to someone else. Please accept our deepest apologies for the misunderstanding with your booking but we were happy to hear that this problem was solved quickly. We look forward to welcoming you back in not too distant future!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have stayed in Steigenberger in Hamburg for many times. We love this hotel because of the location, nice architecture, very big rooms and nice service. Unfortunately the service is not a 5 star service anymore.

The rooms are clean when you do arrive to the hotel, but the cleaning of the room is very poor during the stay.

We had all the time some problems with the key cards. They doesn't work work well. We had to change them a few times. We stayed in the same hotel 2 times during the spring and we had problems with the keys and doors on both times. Its quite annoying when you can't get into the room and have to go to the reception to change your key.

The restaurant menu is very poor. The food is quite tastless.

Wi-fi is not for free. Even in the business center you have to pay for the use of the computer and printer.

Probably next time we visit Hamburg we will find some new place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IDMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear IDMoscow,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg. Only by constructive criticism of our guests we are able to improve constantly our services and we would like to apologize that you had those problems with the key cards. We take your complaint very sincere and currently we are planning to renew the key card system of the hotel within the near future. It is true that WiFi is not free of charge but it is not true that our guests have to pay for using the computer and printer in the Business Corner. The use of the Business Corner is a service we provide free of charge.

We are very sorry that your stay in our hotel did not meet the level of expectation you had and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to show you we can do better.

With kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#38 of 319 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#6 of 319 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Hamburg
#28 of 319 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,225 reviews
Neustadt
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
#44 of 319 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 stars 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Address: Heiligengeistbruecke 4, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#19 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#32 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#35 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#40 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 5* superior hotel, built in the typical Hanseatic style, is located in the city centre, only a few steps away from all the places of interest and excellent shopping facilities. A total of 233 generously sized rooms and suites offer the comfort that is expected by travellers. The Shiseido Day Spa with a panoramic sauna, steam baths, relax lounge and a large range of different types of massages, Ayurveda and beauty treatment take care of you after an exciting day. Thanks to a roof terrace, there is a fitness area available for open-air training right in the midst of the city. At the Restaurant am Fleet situated directly at the waterfront, you will enjoy your breakfast with a magnificent view over the Alster waterway. In the Bistro am Fleet with attached conservatory, you can enjoy the light, Mediterranean-style kitchen as well as unusual Euro-Asian creations and a daily changing business lunch. The Pianobar with live music and a Davidoff Cigar Lounge will offer the perfect end to the day. At the newly openend SABAI restaurant you can savour a modern cuisine with the best of Asian and European cuisine. From now on: free Wi-Fi (256 kb), high speed internet per 24 hours: € 8.00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Steigenberger Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing