We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Seemannsheim(Hamburg)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Madison Hamburg(Hamburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sir Nikolai Hotel(Hamburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,457)
Filter reviews
2,457 results
Traveler rating
914
1,043
368
96
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
914
1,043
368
96
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness tripneuer wallpiano barexcellent hotelcentrally located hotelquality hotelwalking distanceperfect locationfree wififitness roomrooms are largebusiness hotelchristmas marketsuperior roombreakfast was excellents bahnnice stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
434 - 439 of 2,457 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

we were in this hotel for a business trip but i recommend this hotel for a romantic vacation in beautiful Hamburg.
the location is perfect ,the ambiance is sweet and the rooms are like an apartment
the best breakfast i have ever had and many beautiful stuff which is totally impressive .
if you want to impress someone ,invite him/her to this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amir t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear amir t,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. It is so nice to read that you would recommend our hotel even for a romantic vacation. Indeed our hotel is built in typical Hanseatic style and it is situated in the middle of the city but very idyllically on the banks of an Alster waterway. Thank you also for your kind words on our ambiance, the rooms and the breakfast. We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can make a booking for you.

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Superb location, within 2 minutes walk of 3 train/ subway stations.
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and immediately switched to perfect English when they heard my stumbling (almost non existent) German.
Breakfast is well worth having, but I understand quite expensive if you don't pre-book it. There was little that was not on offer; hot food, cold food, an amazing array of meats, cheeses and fruit an eggs/omelette chef, and not to forget the sparkling white wine!
Next, after a long day exploring, we came back to wonderful afternoon tea/coffee and an amazing array of cakes (I have now had to change my lifelong claim of not having a sweet tooth!). Bliss.
We ate in the bistro a couple of times in the evening and the food was good, but expensive.
Rooms were spacious, beautifully clean and well maintained.
Any negatives? Sorry but I have got to say that the lack of wifi in the bedroom and the loud clanking air conditioning, spoilt an otherwise wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holidaysrus09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Holidaysrus09,

Thank you so much for sharing a review of your recent stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg. It is a great pleasure to read your comments which I have shared with our staff and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We do hope to welcome you back for another delightful visit in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance with your booking.

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have stayed at Steigenberger Hotel for a business trip on fifth March for two nights!.....hotel has very nice location ,intimate and helpful staff, clean and spacious rooms!.....I,ve enjoyed my two nights stay with wonderful veiw of my room and convenient facilities and especially royal breakfast at this hotel!......on the other side in my opinion hotel has negative points that I remember those!......first point was expensive wireless internet!....27 euro for two days!......while nowadays small restaurants also have wifi internet for costomers and expensive wifi internet in this hotel was very strange for me!......the second negative point was the room has not any facilities for preparing tea or coffee......and the third point was the hotel has not a pool!........all in all staying in this hotel due to all the benefits of hotel and the best location in the business heart of Hamburg was very evocative and memorable for me and I definitely recommend the hotel for all the rich persons!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PooryaTehran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear pooryaTehran,

Thank you very much for posting a review following you recent stay at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to let us know about it. We also provide room categories where coffee and tea making facilities are included, please let us know that you would prefer such a room when making your next booking. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg on a future visit.

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days, one week before Christmas. The location is excellent. Most of the important places to see are at walking distance yet the subway station is adjacent to the hotel, which is a big convenience. The city was very lively at that time of the year, so we did not spend much time in the hotel and walked the streets. As far as I have seen, it's a nice hotel, a little on the expensive side and maybe worthy of four stars rather than five. But the location was so good I did not mind the price. The beds were comfortable, rooms were clean, well isolated, quiet. Actually it boils down to this: If I go to Hamburg again, I would look for other places to stay but this hotel would sure be in my list.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Onuque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Onuque,

Thank you very much for posting a review of your stay with us. Indeed during Christmas time the city of Hamburg is very lively with all these nice Christmas markets everywhere in the city. But also in summer Hamburg is worth a visit with its beautiful Alster lake, the picturesque canals, the harbour and landing bridges and so much more. And if the weather is nice you can even have breakfast on our restaurant terrace which is situated directly at the waterfront with a magnificent view over the Alsterfleet. We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg very soon and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance with your booking.

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A very restful hotel in a great central location, close to the S and U bahn stations but by the canals away from the road. Excellent customer service from all the staff we met. Did not eat in the restaurant but the breakfast was fresh, varied and individually prepared. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolipep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Jolipep,

Thank you very much for your review and your recommendation. We are really delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you both back to Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg on a future visit!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews