We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$317
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$105
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$94
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Hamburg(Hamburg)
$162
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ARCOTEL Onyx(Hamburg)
$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$209
$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$145
$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,457)
Filter reviews
2,457 results
Traveler rating
914
1,043
368
96
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
914
1,043
368
96
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness tripneuer wallpiano barexcellent hotelcentrally located hotelquality hotelwalking distanceperfect locationfree wififitness roomrooms are largebusiness hotelchristmas marketsuperior roombreakfast was excellents bahnnice stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
472 - 477 of 2,457 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2012

very effective hotel that delivers everything you would expect in such a class (except free wifi). Nice touch is that the staff always tries to book me in the same room! Great cocktails in the bar!

friendly staff that really helps you to explore the beautiful town of Hamburg. Lovely christmas market at the doorstep of the hotel during December!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonDesmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear SimonDesmet,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to your next stay in Hamburg.

Yours sincerely,

Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

It was my great pleasure to spend 7 nights in this luxoriuos hotel which is located in a very nice area of Hamburg.
the team were friendly by all means, you don't have any difficulty in the transportation from the gotel and to the city including the Alster lakes,theHafen aea and the Altona area.I wish to repeat my trip to the great city-Hamburg and to this hotel certainly

Room Tip: choose the non smoking side rooms
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msjawadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear msjawadi,

Thank you for your nice review. It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your next stay in Hamburg.

Yours sincerely,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The location is great, walking distance to Hamburg's fashionable shopping and the lake in the city. My room was average at best, a bit dated but spacious. Bathroom with shower in bathtub and folding halfdoor not very comfortable. The bed was fine, nothing special.
The major annoyance is the very, very noisy fan of the aircon / heating system.
I had no time to complain, as I was on a very busy schedule and therefore not certain whether or not the problem was just in my room or throughout the hotel.
This desperetaely needs some attention by management and in the meantime, guests should eb provided with earplugs if they ar to enjoy a peacuful, relaxing sleep

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hongkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear Honkon,

Thank you for your review. We would like to apologise for the noisy air condition and we regret that you had no time to inform us. Our technical department would have repaired it or we would have offered you a room change. Please inform us for your next reservation about your experience so that we ensure that your stay is up to the usual standards our valued guests expect.

Yours sincerely,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

a modern, stylish hotel with large spacious rooms, perfect and friendly service. Great experience!

the hotel rooms have large bathrooms and a desk which really invites to work. The beds are quite comfortable. However, no idea why there is no free internet access.

The hotel is downtown close to the Hamburger Michel.

Outstanding is the breakfast buffet with an incredible choice of fresh juices.

I will definitely come back when I stay for night in Hamburg next time

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfh110, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Dear Oliver,

Thank you very much for your nice review. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your compliments are greatly appreciated. We thank you for your information, that we should provide more modern business solutions. We can understand your irritation about our internet access, unfortunately, we are bound by contract and can not offer at this time Wi-Fi free of charge. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Yours sincerely,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We have just returned from a great trip to Hamburg for the Christmas Market. We used the Steigenberger as our base and we were very impressed. We have a 7 year old son and so wanted a room with enough room to have his bed with us - the room had loads of space even with a single fold up bed in it for him. The staff were incredibly helpful and were happy to speak English when my school boy German failed. The breakfast is very good with a lot of choice. On Saturday after a lot of walking we came back to the hotel for tea and cakes - very indulgent but very resonable cost.

Room Tip: We had a standard room booked through Expedia at a special rate which made no difference to the service we recieved.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Dear John B,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to your next stay in Hamburg.

Yours sincerely
Karl Schlichting
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews