We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, excellent facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg
Ranked #31 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, excellent facilities”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel whilst on a business trip at the adjoined CCH congress centre. The hotel is bright and modern, with lots of classy features. The staff on check in are extremely helpful and efficient and the rooms are superb. I was on the 7th floor, and this provided excellent views over the city. The bathroom was perfect for me (excellent modern shower cubicle) however, my room did not have a bath. This did not affect me but something to bear in mind for those with children etc, although perhaps this is available in the other rooms. Breakfast was very good - buffet style with a range of cooked, continental, cereals, fruit, and lovely smoothies! The bar is also a great place to unwind in the evening, on the warmer evenings it was nice to be able to take the drinks outside to the patio area. It serves a range of cocktails and standard drinks. The location of the hotel is very good - situated right next to the Dammtor station, it makes for easy travel around the city and beyond. Right next to the hotel is the Planten un Blomen garden, which is nice to be able to escape from the hustle and bustle! Overall, a very convenient and well maintained hotel, great for business travel but also for a city break.

Room Tip: If you need a bath, make sure you request a room with one (some are shower only) Rooms at the end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roundtheworld247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    844
    195
    41
    22
See reviews for
164
678
115
785
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed at the Radisson Blu for 3 days for a global meeting and found the hotel to be a good business hotel for the following reasons:
1) Location is central and right next to the railway station (for those who want to see more of Germany after a business meeting, it's great)
2) Room was clean, airy and comfortable with free internet connection (wired and wireless for multiple devices is excellent)
3) Staff are obviously trained to manage meetings and conventions, so they were friendly, helpful and efficient

What made it a 4-star instead of a 5-star hotel for me:
1) No bedroom slippers - granted, the floors were wooden strips instead of carpeted, so that made it more bearable, but definitely would have been a nice touch to have provided a pair
2) No complimentary drinking water - the tap water may have been fine for drinking (I think), but as a first-time visitor to Germany, I would have liked some kind of note from the hotel management to let guests know this. I had to order a bottle of still water from room service that cost Euro 8.50 (which is exorbitant!)
3) Meeting rooms were not 'refreshed' or 'refilled' in between breaks - the variety of drinks provided was much appreciated, but if you were the 2nd group in the same meeting room that your colleagues have just vacated, you're left with half-empty or empty bottles of water and used glasses. Not very professional
4) No bell-boys or porters - considering that the taxi drop-off is one floor BELOW the reception, it would have been nice for the hotel to offer assistance. Everyone had to lug their own bags up the escalators (didn't even see a lift nearby!) to check-in. That also meant that if you needed a taxi and one wasn't available, you had to get it yourself. After I checked-out and had dragged my suitcase down the escalator to the taxi level, there were no taxis and no one around to help me. About 100 metres away, there was a queue of taxis waiting at the train station but short of walking over with your suitcases to grab the taxi, there was no other way of getting one over to the hotel. Again, missed the mark on this one.

Overall, I would return to the hotel (if the price is right!) as it's a good 4-star hotel and comfortable for a business meeting. But if they sorted out the small touches, it could be a great hotel that anticipates guests needs much better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannetan03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I stayed at this location because the business convention was just next door to the CCH Congress Center. It is also situated next to the railway station and is about 20-25 minutes (25 Euros) from the Airport by Taxi. Check-in went smoothly. My room which was light and modern and was situated on the 17th floor, it seemed to have been reburbished to a very high standard. A small highlight for me was being able to watch BBC television without being stuck with BBC World News or CNN which is usually standard in most countries and hotels as well as having WLAN for free. The service was excellent and very friendly. The Radisson is a very large hotel which was shown at breakfast in the morning......a lot of people! The breakfast was good but for 24 Euros it should be. The Radisson Blu is a great business hotel, my room cost 175 Euros per night.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can to get a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Modern hotel, well located in the heart of Hamburg. 2 restaurants of which the Thai restaurant on ground floor is excellent but not cheap. Public transport is nearby. Many attractions such as Casino are in walking distance. Moderin interior. Rooms are modern, good equipped. WLAN for free. Service is excellent. Good breakfast and very good SPA.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessCaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

i stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, due to a business convention.
the hotel was recently renovated, and it definitely shows- the room was really spacious, the meals excellent, and overall, you just feel at ease there. i tried the spa, and the wet sauna was HEAVENLY. also in the spa, and for free for the gusts- a dry sauna, a small hot tub to soak your feet, and this crazy view of the botanical garden.

outside the hotel is the botanical garden, a train station and a subway station , the Alster lake is a short walk, and the city center is one train / subway station away

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel two times - it is good for business, but also for tourism. The building is from
the late 1970th - not very modern, but ok.

The rooms are spacious and the view from the upper bar is great. The Maithai-Bar has delicious Cocktails. It is a perfect location for congress visitors (CCH), exposition visitors (Messe Hamburg) and tourist, as it a 5 minute walking distance to the Alster Lake and the shopping streets Junfgernstieg, Gänsemarkt, Europapassage and Mönckebergstrasse.

Room Tip: Upper Floor - better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RimBal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed there over the Easter weekend for 3 nights- the ambience, decor, design and quality are excellent, but where this hotel fails in in the detail. We had a business class room, and had to ask (several times) for all the facilities which should have been included - robes, newspapers, breakfast card...
On the Saturday,the breakfast service was a shambles - we had to wait in line for 20 minutes for breakfast - it was like the school cafteria! When we eventually got a table, we noticed many dirty tables with staff ignoring them. The were not organised. I accept that the hotel was busy, but this hotel is supposed to be a confernce hotel and should be able to cope with numbers.
On another day we arrived back at the hotel at 18:40 to find that the room had not yet been cleaned and our breakfast table still in the room (we had given up on going to the restaurant for breakfast!) We had to wait 40 minutes in the bar for the room to be cleaned.
The environmental policy is ignored - we got new towels every day despite not requesting them and new soaps every day even though it was not needed.
On the positive side the view from the 23rd floor was amazing and the room service breakfast was very good indeed. The staff did their best to rectify the situation when we complained, but this is just not what you expect (or pay for) in a hotel of this class.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AitchX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#13 of 319 in Hamburg
2,099 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 319 in Hamburg
1,432 reviews
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#16 of 319 in Hamburg
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 319 in Hamburg
2,371 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#27 of 319 in Hamburg
1,451 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg
Address: Marseiller Strasse 2, 20355 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#13 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#13 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center next to the “Planten un Blomen” park you find the Radisson Blu Hotel. Hamburg's biggest and tallest hotel is now, after renovation, also the newest one. Lake Alster, the shopping district and many cultural attractions are within walking distance. The Radisson Blu Hotel offers 556 rooms in 3 different styles: “Natural”, “Urban” and “New York Mansion”. The hotel’s conference area of 2,122 m² offers a multi-functional area for events up to 1000 people. The direct access to the Congress Center Hamburg, CCH, grants additional flexibility if extra space is required. For exclusive events Hamburg´s highest event location “High End” is the place to be: Situated on the 26th and 27th floor breathtaking view over the city is included! The Health & Spa invites guests to workout and relax and two restaurants & bars promise culinary highlights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Rezidor, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Radisson Hamburg
Hamburg Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing