We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City Centre Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg
Ranked #32 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Had a great stay at the hotel in December 2011. The reception welcome was very quick and efficient, with the receptionist recommending the best Christmas Markets and sights, and providing a map.

The hotel is very well located, a short 8-10 minute walk to all of the main city centre (it pays to note there are no corporate business hotels right in the centre apart from the Marriott which is fractionally closer but only by a couple of minutes). It is located right by the Conference Centre, Damnator Station and the Botanical Gardens. The station has Deustche Bahn, S Bahn and U Bahn links and can connect you to the main station and Rathaus stations if the short walk is too much for some. The station also has some small shops selling magazines, stamps, water, snacks etc and also Starbucks.

The hotel has well appointed rooms, in either Natural or Urban style, with clean neutral colour schemes, flat screen TVs including English channels BBC1, 2 and 3 and BBC World. However there is no pillow menu as per other corporate hotel chains, and the pillows were somewhat uncomfortable. The bathroom was very well lit, with anti fog mirror, and large power shower, however there was no bathtub. Bathroom amenities were of a good standard. The hotel room we were allocated (2306) had amazing views over Hamburg and the inner and outer lakes and the city centre,

Service throughout the hotel was excellent, from reception, restaurant staff and leisure club, all acknowledging their guests in public areas. The bar area was very nice in the lobby, and a wide selection of food and drink was available. However I did have to go up to the bar to order, and no table service was offered, which I would expect from a hotel of this calibre.

Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of hot food, including eggs cooked to order, cold meats and cheeses, breads and pastries, yoghurts, fruits and cereals and a wide selection of different teas, coffees and juices. However orange juice was not freshly squeezed.

Trader Viks restaurant was very good, with exceptional food, however the experience was spoiled by terrible service, with the restaurant not that busy, and drinks taking 15 minutes to arrive, forgotten second drinks order, long waits to clear tables, having to ask for desert menus and waiting a long time for the bill while three staff members seemed to stand by the welcome podium.

The hotel has a well appointed spa area, with relaxation room, and a sauna and steam room and also a mini gym.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for leisure and business guests, as it scores with service and amenities, in a great location. I would definitely stay here again if I were to return to Hamburg.

Room Tip: 2306 is a great room, high up and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckenhamTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

771 - 777 of 2,075 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2011

This hotel delivers what would would expect from a Radisson hotel: Stylish, comfortable and great service. I enjoyed an effortless month long stay during the summer.

Free internet is bonus as was the train station that is next door and one stop from Hamburg centre. The hotel's onsite steam, sauna and gym is brand new and similar to a small fitness club and the surrounding gardens are beautiful addition.

The staff, breakfast, bar and restaurant are also spot on.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itouralot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

The Radisson Blu hotel is one of the few skyscrapers in Hamburg .The hotel is ideally located with a train station at its doorstep & a beautiful park on one side. Our room was situated on the 21st floor with great views of Hamburg city. The rooms are quite spacious & clean. We had a smooth check-in.
There are plenty of good restaurants that are in close vicinity of the hotel within walking distance. With the train station located opposite the hotel it is very convenient to access various part of the city. There is a Mac Donald outlet situated inside the train station along with a few other shops.
Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skymir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I've stayed in this hotel on a business-trip to Hamburg. Really enjoyed a spacious room with excellent views (24th floor). Staff at reception very friendly and professional ( I asked to check out a bit later and this was fine), beds comfortable, bathroom with bath tub, all lovely.

Italian restaurant serves good and tasty food in afternoon. The breakfast was fine as well, however for 22Euros a bit pricey for what you get - compared to other 4 star hotels in Hamburg as for example the Moevenpick hotel or Hotel Hafen. Not much choice on their cheeseboard, and cold meats could have been better

Could be easily improved by having a wider choice of international cold meats/salamis including some Italian/Spanish ham, Mozzarella, different varieties of international cheeses.
And also offer some freshly squeezed juice, and perhaps even a sparkling wine for those who would like to have a German 'Sektfruehstueck' - breakfast with sparkling wine. (The Moevenpick hotel does so.

Breakfast finishes at 11, and I was not really impressed when one member of staff at around 11 started to carry empty chairs away from my table when I was still seating there. Gives you the impression that you better should hurry up now, and leave. (I was on my own at a table for 4. Ideally staff should wait until the guest leaves).

But all in all, a very pleasant experience, well-run hotel with very nice rooms.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view on one of the upper floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah-Lena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We got what we expected from Radisson, great view, clean room, nice (I liked the window to the bathroom). Somehow I felt cold and the air conditioning worked but wouldn't heat the room. We didn't contact the reception to ask though, so can't complain. The staff was very nice and professional. Breakfast very good but also very expensive (EUR 22). We came by car and had a little problem with the GPS 'cos the access road is closed due to reconstruction and we had to force it to find us the other way. The location is convenient - close to S/U-bahn but we also just simply walked to the center without problems.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pashoshina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg in July as a stop over prior to Celebrity Cruise Event

Situated in the Planten du Blomen The Hotel is just a 10 minute walk to the city centre

Rooms are modern comfortable and well appointed everything you would expect from Radisson

Ideal choice for a city break or business trip

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seamermate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the this Hotel. Excellent location, excellent hospitality, and overall outstanding experience. The room was nicely appointed, the housekeeping staff timely and thorough, and the bed slept like a dream. The hotel is well-built to minimize street noise, and the elevators are incredibly efficient. We highly recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carstensen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#18 of 321 in Hamburg
1,637 reviews
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#13 of 321 in Hamburg
2,271 reviews
Empire Riverside Hotel
#24 of 321 in Hamburg
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Hamburg
#30 of 321 in Hamburg
1,503 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg

Address: Marseiller Strasse 2, 20355 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#13 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#13 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $125 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center next to the “Planten un Blomen” park you find the Radisson Blu Hotel. Hamburg's biggest and tallest hotel is now, after renovation, also the newest one. Lake Alster, the shopping district and many cultural attractions are within walking distance. The Radisson Blu Hotel offers 556 rooms in 3 different styles: “Natural”, “Urban” and “New York Mansion”. The hotel’s conference area of 2,122 m² offers a multi-functional area for events up to 1000 people. The direct access to the Congress Center Hamburg, CCH, grants additional flexibility if extra space is required. For exclusive events Hamburg´s highest event location “High End” is the place to be: Situated on the 26th and 27th floor breathtaking view over the city is included! The Health & Spa invites guests to workout and relax and two restaurants & bars promise culinary highlights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Radisson Hamburg
Hamburg Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing