We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Madison Hamburg
Ranked #1 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Not glamorous with impressive gardens and pools or ocean view like we are used to but there was something very special about our stay! We loved our three day in this hotel and in Hamburg. Quite an impressive town. PLEASE make sure to have a meal at Amber Cafe opposite corner. You will be well surprised as we were. Reasonable and lovely food. Better than even in town centre. The only fault and I am not even sure whether it is part of the hotel is the spa and the attitude and shocked faces when their staff could not understand that we did not want to get naked in front of all of them to use the spa facilities. However we really wanted to swim in the pool and had to give it a skip. Otherwise perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honeyontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear "Honeyontravel",
we are very happy about your great review and that you had such a very special stay with us. That is how it should be! I am very sorry about the behavior of the Spa, but as is it run by a different company we have no influence on their house rules. Nevertheless we want to thank you so much for your "perfect" and the great recommendation. Very best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
There are newer reviews for The Madison Hamburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

Excellent hotel near the water in central Hamburg. Staff very nice and helpful. Rooms are spacious and very nice indeed as well as clean. Area very quiet and nice. Sct. Pauli and center within walking distance.
Nice bar with Happy hour every day.

Room Tip: Go for a Kingsize bed.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear "thertel",
thank you very much for your positive feedback and your praising words about The MADISON. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time in Hamburg. Very best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very basic. Hotel staff doesn't really care. Rooms very old fashioned. Approach to rooms like walking through a maze. Only saving grace is the breakfast.
The service was phenomenal - everyone from the front desk to the concierge to the guy who first showed me to my room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANGELINAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear "Angelinadelaide",
thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us and your praise about our phenomenal staff and our breakfast. Unfortunately I am a bit unhappy about your critical words concerning our rooms. Of course there is no accounting for taste, but cleanliness is one of our highest purposes, why i hope that everything was in order in this case. Very best regards - Yours Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

2nd hotel on our family honeymoon, and only stayed 1 night but it was a fantastic hotel. Location was great and cost about €10 from the station. Hotel room was clean, modern and spacious for the family of 3.
We didn't have the breakfast as thought it was a bit pricey. Nice cafe across the road was very good.
The bar was good and very reasonable and staff were very friendly to us and our daughter.
When we checked out they gave our daughter a little rubber duck and I thought this was a lovely touch, and she enjoyed the sweetie jar at the reception desk.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear "Casson",
thank you very much for your nice review and the great recommendation. We are very happy that you had such a wonderful family honeymoon and stay with us. So lovely to hear that your daughter met MAX - our rubber duck. Hope to welcome you back soon again. Very best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I chose this hotel based on TA reviews and its location near the harbour. We arrived on board Queen Mary 2 two days ago and a short taxi ride (€7) later we arrived at this hotel in a quiet leafy street. The staff were extremely pleasant and spoke very good English. As our room wasn't ready we left our luggage and went for a stroll. The location was perfect. Very close to St Michael's Church and the huge Planten and Blumen park. The city centre is less than a mile away. We didn't need to use the public transport at all.
When we eventually got into our room I was surprised by how spacious the room was. It was tastefully decorated with all the facilities you could wish for. The business studio package included the minibar which was generously stocked with alcoholic beverages and sumptuous breakfast which I would gladly pay €18 if it wasn't included. As we only stayed overnight we didn't get the chance to use the spa.
Taxi to the airport took less than half an hour and cost €25.
Excellent hotel and we will definitely return and recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MerseyGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Dear "MerseyGooner",
thank you very much for your fantastic feedback and the great recommendation. We are very happy that you had such a wonderful stay with us after your trip with QM2. Hope to welcome you back soon again - Very best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We had a very comfortable stay at the Madison hotel, the hotel had a very comfortable and bright rooms with almost home feel, great beds, breakfast and most importantly staff was very friendly and eager to help.

Room Tip: Corner room had a very special home feel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, Geschäftsführer at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear "TomasNesvorny",
thank you very much for your nice feedback and especially for your praise about our staff. We are very happy that you had a comfortable stay with us and hope to see you soon again. Very best regards - Yours Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I have stayed here several times for a week each time whilst in Hamburg in Business. The hotel is very clean, the food is excellent. Staff are friendly and helpful (unless you need an MP3 adaptor which they advertise, but cant find...) Rooms are very spacious and comfortable with Lan and WiFi, large work desk etc. Bathrooms are a great size with full bath and shower. Plenty of storage space for clothes. Bed is supremely comfortable! The rooms also come equipped with large TV, and a sound system that has Ipod Dock too. I had the Business Studio room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Firebirdapache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, Geschäftsführer at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear "Firebirdapache",
thank you very much for your great review and the perfect recommendation. We are very happy that you always enjoy our spacious rooms and plenty of amenities. I will immediately buy some MP3 adaptors for your next visit. Best regards - Yours Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 319 in Hamburg
1,470 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 319 in Hamburg
2,419 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AMERON Hotel Speicherstadt
#11 of 319 in Hamburg
734 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
St. Pauli
Hotel St. Annen
Hotel St. Annen
#2 of 319 in Hamburg
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hamburg

Address: Schaarsteinweg 4, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $168 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madison Hotel Hamburg with its 166 rooms is ideally situated between the Elbphilharmonie, the Speicherstadt and the city, just below the town's emblem - the Michel. From our hotel, you can reach all places of interest on foot and explore Hamburg. We provide excellent transport connections to the highways as well as to the public transport. All of our rooms and suites are at least 35 m² large and offer, amongst other things, a spacious working area with state-of-the-art technology and a large and comfortable bed with a high-quality mattress. A spacious bathroom and a fully equipped kitchenette with refrigerator await you in your air-conditioned room. Our Marleys restaurant presents a wide range of Euro-Asian and international dishes. The breakfast buffet is served from 06:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and on Sundays even until noon. Directly in the house, there is the 3,500 m² Meridian Spa fitness and wellness oasis. Our guests can use the Meridian Spa until noon free of charge and afterwards after paying a reduced daily price. The spacious thermal bath area and the nice massages with aroma oils promise you peace and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Madison Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Madison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing