We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Madison Hamburg
Nearby Hotels
$300
$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$105
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Best Western Amedia Hamburg(Hamburg)(Great Value!)
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Budget Hamburg City(Hamburg)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
ARCOTEL Onyx(Hamburg)
$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$209
$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Barcelo Hamburg(Hamburg)
$146
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$95
$90
NH Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,117)
Filter reviews
1,117 results
Traveler rating
833
247
29
8
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
833
247
29
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall kitchenetteloft roomportuguese quarterrubber duckgreat hotelmichael's churchnespresso machinehotel restaurantwithin walking distanceappointed roomshotel guestshafen cityminiatur wunderlandminute walk from the hotelshort walkhotel is modernquiet location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 1,117 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Upgraded to a full size studio on last trip rooms are superb. Service excellent. Close to the old tunnel so doddle to get to blom and voss shipyard which is a ten minute taxi ride. Staff very attentive and friendly. Restaurant food pretty good but plenty of restaurants nearby.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear "John A.",
thank you very much for your great review! We are very happy about your praise and that you enjoyed your stay in one of our lofts! We are all looking forward to welcome you back in August. Very best regards - Yours Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Nice hotel in a good area for what we were there for. Reception was nice as were the chicks working there. Bar and patio area was nice as it was a hot sunny day. Room was big and clean. Nice wetroom which was large. Free very fast WIFI which was a bonus. My bad thing is I got charged for a bottle of red wine I didnt have. I actually never touched the red wine but was honest and told them I had a bottle of coke and a bottle of Apple juice, but still charged me anyway. Always read the itemised bill before leaving reception.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HRH-Garden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear "HRH-Garden",
thank you very much for your review and the praise about our staff. I am very sorry to hear about the mini bar charges and cannot really explain it. We never discuss with our guests about mini bar items and cancel them immediately. I will talk to my Front Desk staff to prevent a situation like this in future. I am really very sorry for this and hope to welcome you back soon. Very best regards Yours - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at the Madison with our family and we had one of their suites, which were spacious and well appointed. Staff were friendly and efficient and at hand with any info or assistance needed for Harbour cruises or the nearby "Speicherstadt" area.The breakfast was good and the glass jar at reception filled with Haribo Colrado sweets a temptation every time we walked past.
I would certainly recommend the Hotel for anyone who is on a visit to Hamburg, it is conveniently located a ston's thrown away from The Michel, Hamburg's landmark Cathedral as well as the port.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NilsHeckscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear "NilsHeckscher",
thank you very much for your positive feedback and the great recommendation. We are very happy that you felt yourself so comfortable with us and enjoyed your time in Hamburg. Hope to welcome you back soon again - Very best regards, Yours Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The staff are always courteous, friendly and efficient, the rooms comfy and spotless, and the location of the hotel is perfect, whether you want to stroll into the city for shopping, visit the many attractions of the harbour area, or just chill out in the spa. The rooms with kitchenette are especially good since you can choose to make your own breakfast or have a light meal (or more) just when you feel like it. Although the hotel is so well situated that there is a wide choice of cafes, restaurants and bars on the doorstep. Very good for public transport too.

Room Tip: Rooms with the kitchenette are best!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maud23_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear "Maud23_13",
thank you very much for your great review. We are very happy about the praise about our staff that i will share with them of course. Good to see that you had a nice time in Hamburg and that The MADISON was the right starting point for your trip. Hope to see you soon again. Very best regards - Yours Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Madison hotel is an excellent choice, the room 612 was very comfortable and spacious, excellent breakfast, perfect location, very helpful and friendly staff. We had a great time and we will definitely return to this hotel next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fabienne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear "Fabienne910",

we are very happy to read such an impeccable review. It is always our highest claim to have such satisfied guests upon their leaving.
So, maybe your next time in Hamburg is soon already - but no matter when - we are already looking forward to welcoming you again here.

Best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews