We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base in Hamburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Madison Hamburg
Ranked #2 of 322 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at the Madison with our family and we had one of their suites, which were spacious and well appointed. Staff were friendly and efficient and at hand with any info or assistance needed for Harbour cruises or the nearby "Speicherstadt" area.The breakfast was good and the glass jar at reception filled with Haribo Colrado sweets a temptation every time we walked past.
I would certainly recommend the Hotel for anyone who is on a visit to Hamburg, it is conveniently located a ston's thrown away from The Michel, Hamburg's landmark Cathedral as well as the port.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NilsHeckscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear "NilsHeckscher",
thank you very much for your positive feedback and the great recommendation. We are very happy that you felt yourself so comfortable with us and enjoyed your time in Hamburg. Hope to welcome you back soon again - Very best regards, Yours Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

The staff are always courteous, friendly and efficient, the rooms comfy and spotless, and the location of the hotel is perfect, whether you want to stroll into the city for shopping, visit the many attractions of the harbour area, or just chill out in the spa. The rooms with kitchenette are especially good since you can choose to make your own breakfast or have a light meal (or more) just when you feel like it. Although the hotel is so well situated that there is a wide choice of cafes, restaurants and bars on the doorstep. Very good for public transport too.

Room Tip: Rooms with the kitchenette are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maud23_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear "Maud23_13",
thank you very much for your great review. We are very happy about the praise about our staff that i will share with them of course. Good to see that you had a nice time in Hamburg and that The MADISON was the right starting point for your trip. Hope to see you soon again. Very best regards - Yours Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Madison hotel is an excellent choice, the room 612 was very comfortable and spacious, excellent breakfast, perfect location, very helpful and friendly staff. We had a great time and we will definitely return to this hotel next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fabienne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear "Fabienne910",

we are very happy to read such an impeccable review. It is always our highest claim to have such satisfied guests upon their leaving.
So, maybe your next time in Hamburg is soon already - but no matter when - we are already looking forward to welcoming you again here.

Best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This immediately welcoming hotel is in an excellent location. Central location with easy access to shopping centre, the harbour and the train station. We had a studio on the top floor which had a large desk, small kitchenette and lots of wardrobe and draw space. The bathroom was spacious with the usual complimentary toiletries and hair dryer. The food in the restaurant was very good and the bar was a very comfortable area with a relaxed atmosphere. All staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel which was 16 euros each. There is a cafe across the road with hamburg typical pastries, yogurts with fresh fruit and excellent coffee. This suited us better. Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merrills47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear "merrills47"

many thanks for the very good rating you gave. With your nice and very good description of our standard rooms (studios) we assume to having met your needs and taste.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you again here at the MADISON.

All the best - yours, Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel at the heart of Hamburg. The place is clean, the rooms are excellent and the staff are helpful and friendly. The food is good and the evening bar is welcoming with great staff. A brilliant experience in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear "Kevin",

thank you so much for the great feedback on your stay with us. I will share this with my team immediately - they will be very happy as well.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon here at the MADISON.

With my very best regards,

Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The location is in the center of Hamburg, walking distance away from the heart of the business district.
Well furnished and very clean. Great working station with quick internet.
The restaurant downstairs can serve both for business dinners, lunches, and private ones.

Only 8 EUR taxi from the central train station.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moshe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear "Moshe L",
thank you very much for your great feedback regarding your stay with us. We are very happy about your praise to our location and furnishing. Thank you very much and best regards to Kopenhagen - Yours Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel and well kept room. Very clean and organized. Again another hotel in hamburg (germany/europe) that impressed me. 5-8mins walk to ferry pier and train station to airport.

10-15mins walk to shopping area. Breakfast is simple. You can order eggs, bacons etc if they dont serve on table.

Overall satisfied and will stay here again...

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerryTheWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear "JerryTheWalker",
thank you very much for your great review and recommendation. We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay with us and a good time in Hamburg. Looking forward to welcome you again! Very best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 322 in Hamburg
2,572 reviews
Neustadt
Hanse Clipper Haus
Hanse Clipper Haus
#16 of 322 in Hamburg
550 reviews
Neustadt
Adina Apartment Hotel Hamburg Michel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Hotel St. Annen
Hotel St. Annen
#1 of 322 in Hamburg
389 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#72 of 322 in Hamburg
1,114 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hamburg

Address: Schaarsteinweg 4, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $172 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madison Hotel Hamburg with its 166 rooms is ideally situated between the Elbphilharmonie, the Speicherstadt and the city, just below the town's emblem - the Michel. From our hotel, you can reach all places of interest on foot and explore Hamburg. We provide excellent transport connections to the highways as well as to the public transport. All of our rooms and suites are at least 35 m² large and offer, amongst other things, a spacious working area with state-of-the-art technology and a large and comfortable bed with a high-quality mattress. A spacious bathroom and a fully equipped kitchenette with refrigerator await you in your air-conditioned room. Our Marleys restaurant presents a wide range of Euro-Asian and international dishes. The breakfast buffet is served from 06:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and on Sundays even until noon. Directly in the house, there is the 3,500 m² Meridian Spa fitness and wellness oasis. Our guests can use the Meridian Spa until noon free of charge and afterwards after paying a reduced daily price. The spacious thermal bath area and the nice massages with aroma oils promise you peace and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Madison Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Madison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing