We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Madison Hamburg
Ranked #3 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We chose this place as it is only a short stroll to Minatur Wunderland, the main reason for our trip to Hamburg. We had three wonderful days/nights at the Madison and we can only heap praise on this establishment. It was extremely clean, the staff were very friendly and spoke good English and the restaurant food was varied, well priced and delicious. Our room had a 2 burner electric hotplate and microwave which we didn't use for our short stay but a great advantage for longer stays. The location is excellent being close to the underground train station (5 mins.) and also close to the nearest hop on hop off bus station. It is a short stroll down to the wharf area and there are plenty of cafes in the area. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mick_K51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Mick_K51,
thank you very much for your great feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time with us and the MADISON was the perfect starting point for your hamburg trip. Thank you very much as well for the praise about our staff. Hope to see you soon again. Very best regards - Thomas kleinertz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    221
    26
    8
    0
See reviews for
149
351
51
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brunei
Level Contributor
200 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The staff at the Madison have a saying that it is "Home From Home" They are spot on.
Every single member of the staff are extremely friendly, helpful, polite and even happy to share a joke or 2 with you.
The rooms are extremely spacious as well as being cleaned and maintained to a high standard.
There are laundry facilities (Washer & Dryer) on 2 floors. Each room has a large fridge and 2 ring hob enabling you to fend for yourself.

In my mind, the Madison is without doubt the best hotel in Hamburg.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Pete B.,

Thank you so much for this great review. It is always a pleasure to have you with us as our guest. It is so nice to see that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for your praise. The whole team is very happy to welcome you soon again. Best regards to Brunei - see you in september. Yours Thomas kleinertz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Madison is less than 5 minutes walk to the Miniature Wunderland (our main purpose for visiting Hamburg). From the airport, it's best to take the S1 train to the "Stadthausbrück" station and walk about 5 minutes to the hotel. The cab fare is less than €10 to the train station.

Our loft room is very large and airy with contemporary furnishing. The bathroom is spacious as well with separate shower and tub. There is also a lot of storage space. Everything is new and well maintained. We had requested a roll-away bed for our child (€20 extra), it was set up when we checked in.

The nearby Portuguese quarter has many interesting restaurants. The hotel breakfast buffet is excellent.

While free, the wi-fi was slow and spotty. It's also cumbersome that each device requires its own set of username/password (the front desk will print out little slips).

We had to wait until 2 pm to check in since no loft room was available until then. I understand the official check in time is 3:00 pm but was hoping the hotel would accommodate early check in since most flights from the US east coast arrive early in the morning. We were able to leave our luggage at the front desk though.

Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guiche,

we are very happy about your positive and detailed feedback. Thank your very much! We offer a very fast 100 MBit internet access line for the guests WLAN free of charge, but we are going to ckeck all the routers in the hotel if they are working correct - thanks for the hint. Of course we offer early check in as well if there are rooms available. But because we were fully booked the night before you arrived, we needed the time to clean the room. We are greatful that you had a pleasant stay with us and hope to welcome you soon again. Very best regards - Thomas Kleinertz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had a 10 week stay in Hamburg on business and after spending a couple of weeks in other well rated hotels I tried the Madison and decided to spend the rest of my stay here.
The hotel is in a great location, about 5 minutes walk from the nearest train station with plenty of good restaurants nearby. Staff in all areas were outstanding, very helpful and friendly. The restaurant and bar serve excellent food at a decent price. I had a room on the fifth floor, described as an 'apartment' which was modern with loads of room, a small kitchenette and fridge. The room had a huge flat screen Sony TV with English news and movie channels and free wifi.
Inevitably, after 8 weeks I found a few negatives which are as follows:
The gym is not free. Although it seems to be in the same building, it's a separate business.
Monday mornings is refuse collection day and the huge waste containers across the road are emptied. This is very noisy at the front of the hotel around 5am.
The cooking utensils are fairly limited and when I requested another saucepan (3 times) they eventually said "we have run out of saucepans" which I thought was a little odd for a apartment hotel this size.
However, none of the above would put me off using this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickM235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Nick M.,

thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay. I am very happy to hear about our friendly staff, the good restaurant and the modern rooms. But i also want to apologize for the saucepan - your are totally right that these things may not run out in a hotels like ours and i already ordered new ones. Nevertheless we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and recommended us that way. Hopefully we see you soon again at the MADISON. Very best regards - Thomas Kleinertz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

They already have 230 excellent reviews. Do they need another one? Obviously not. But they deserve one. One of the best hotels I ever staid at on business trips. Super friendly staff, nice rooms, providing everything you usually ask and look for, excellent location.

My absolute favorite in Hamburg.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin_austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear "martin_austria",
thank you so much for your review. That is really a fantastic praise and we are very happy about every single review - and a lot more about those positive ones that you gave us. Thank you very much. Best regards - Thomas Kleinertz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Madison was selected as it was closest to our business appointments. The rooms were very spacious. The ambiance was amazing. The staff was extremely friendly & helpful in every possible way. The a-la-carte menu was limited but the quality of the food served was very good. I recommend it highly to anyone visiting Hamburg.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggayan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear "ggayan",
we are very happy about your great feedback. Thank you very much. Nice, that you enjoyed your stay that much and thanks for the praise about our staff. Hope to see you soon again at the MADISON. Best regards - Thomas Kleinertz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

My 3rd stay at this friendly and well appointed independent hotel in downtown Hamburg. Can't fault the hotel; it has everything one would need for a business hotel. Big spacious rooms with nice warm bathrooms, good wifi connection (as many devices as one wishes), good choice of tv channels, fancy coffee machine and a proper desk.

The room was baking hot and although it was snowing heavily during my stay I was not able to cool the room down other than by opening the windows all night. That, combined with odd square and very thin pillows didn't make for a good night's sleep.

Really friendly and efficient desk staff though and bar & restaurant staff also made the stay a pleasurable one.

Fully recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghanabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear "Ghanabound",
thank you very much for your positive feddback regarding your stay. It is good to hear that you had a good time with us even for the third time. I am sorry about the air condition but due to the very unstable temperatures outside we had some difficulties to adjust it. Of course we will check our pillows as well because normally we launder and refill them regularly. They will be better next time. Thank you very much and best regards - Thomas Kleinertz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Hotel St. Annen
Hotel St. Annen
#1 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hamburg

Property: The Madison Hamburg
Address: Schaarsteinweg 4, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madison Hotel Hamburg with its 166 rooms is ideally situated between the Elbphilharmonie, the Speicherstadt and the city, just below the town's emblem - the Michel. From our hotel, you can reach all places of interest on foot and explore Hamburg. We provide excellent transport connections to the highways as well as to the public transport. All of our rooms and suites are at least 35 m² large and offer, amongst other things, a spacious working area with state-of-the-art technology and a large and comfortable bed with a high-quality mattress. A spacious bathroom and a fully equipped kitchenette with refrigerator await you in your air-conditioned room. Our Marleys restaurant presents a wide range of Euro-Asian and international dishes. The breakfast buffet is served from 06:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and on Sundays even until noon. Directly in the house, there is the 3,500 m² Meridian Spa fitness and wellness oasis. Our guests can use the Meridian Spa until noon free of charge and afterwards after paying a reduced daily price. The spacious thermal bath area and the nice massages with aroma oils promise you peace and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Madison Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Madison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing