We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old favourite - fully recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Madison Hamburg
Ranked #1 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

My 3rd stay at this friendly and well appointed independent hotel in downtown Hamburg. Can't fault the hotel; it has everything one would need for a business hotel. Big spacious rooms with nice warm bathrooms, good wifi connection (as many devices as one wishes), good choice of tv channels, fancy coffee machine and a proper desk.

The room was baking hot and although it was snowing heavily during my stay I was not able to cool the room down other than by opening the windows all night. That, combined with odd square and very thin pillows didn't make for a good night's sleep.

Really friendly and efficient desk staff though and bar & restaurant staff also made the stay a pleasurable one.

Fully recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ghanabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear "Ghanabound",
thank you very much for your positive feddback regarding your stay. It is good to hear that you had a good time with us even for the third time. I am sorry about the air condition but due to the very unstable temperatures outside we had some difficulties to adjust it. Of course we will check our pillows as well because normally we launder and refill them regularly. They will be better next time. Thank you very much and best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
There are newer reviews for The Madison Hamburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed at the Madison for business and found it a wonderful hotel. The welcome was pleasant and efficient. The hotel is located in a good area, not far from public transport, that is clean and safe. The service in the restaurant was excellent, fast and polite with good options for breakfast. The room was very clean and well appointed, with big tv and a small kitchen area. It's condition was excellent.m the room size was large. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darrenhouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear "Darrenhouk",

thank you very much for your great feedback and the recommendation. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant and service as well. Thanks a lot and very best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

What more to say that other reviewers haven't? Stayed here in December for Christmas markets. Had an excellent deal through Hamburg Tourist Service 3 nights for price of 2. Lovely room, good, friendly service - all in all very hospitable.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baglan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear "Baglan",
thank you very much for your nice response and your friendly praise about our service. Hope to see you soon again. Best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel was fantastic. Everyone was extremely friendly, spoke perfect English, and was very helpful. The hotel room itself was amazing...I've never stayed in such a large room. The surround sound system was great, all the SKY HD Movie channels were free, and we felt right at home all 4 nights.

What really made them stand out was after we checked out. I was on the train back to Stuttgart, and realized I'd left my Bose Noise Cancelling Headphones in my room. I called them up, and they said they'd look for it and call back. The next morning they called, said they'd found it, and it'd been shipped back to my house. They saved me a lot of money having to replace it, and went well above & beyond. If I'm ever in Hamburg again, I won't even consider staying at another hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bnort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear "Bnort",thank you very much for your great feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time in Hamburg. Nice to hear that you received your headphones back. Hope to see you soon again at The MADISON. Best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The madison gives you everything you need when you far away from home. A large room and a large bathroom. the bath accsories are of the best choice.
Yes, if you suffer from the candle like lighting in many hotel rooms, this is the place for you. the room, the bathroom are very well lighted.
THe hotel didn't spare any effort to facilitate your stay, begin with Sony hi end audio system which fill the space with soft music end with the well equipped mini kichen.
the staff are very friendly and efficient. Take it it's a wonderfull hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eitanivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear "Eitanivan",
thank you so much for your positive feedback. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed all the amenities in our room and that you had a great time with us. Hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel has been my home for many years, my first time must have been somewhere around 1995 and ever since that time whenevr I was in Hamburg I tried to stay here.

From this hotel you can easily walk to the 'Landesbrucken' and enjoy the view over the river Elbe with all the vessel passing by, the ferry services and the passenger boats showing you all the interesting parts from Hamburg from the waterfront.

On the other hand the shopping centre is a 5 minutes walk away only, so this hotel is really central positioned with good rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CockMolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Two of us spent 4 nights recently at the Madison and having nothing but praise for this hotel. Our studio room was more than generous in size, the facilities were great, the staff were helpful and the location was perfect for exploring Hamburg. The in room kitchen facilities were more than adequate for breakfasts.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonhamburg, Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Stephen G,

thank you so much for your great response which means a lot to us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at THE MADISON as well as in Hamburg. Hope to welcome you back again. Best regards
Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 319 in Hamburg
1,469 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 319 in Hamburg
2,419 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AMERON Hotel Speicherstadt
#11 of 319 in Hamburg
732 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
St. Pauli
Hotel St. Annen
Hotel St. Annen
#2 of 319 in Hamburg
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hamburg

Address: Schaarsteinweg 4, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $168 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madison Hotel Hamburg with its 166 rooms is ideally situated between the Elbphilharmonie, the Speicherstadt and the city, just below the town's emblem - the Michel. From our hotel, you can reach all places of interest on foot and explore Hamburg. We provide excellent transport connections to the highways as well as to the public transport. All of our rooms and suites are at least 35 m² large and offer, amongst other things, a spacious working area with state-of-the-art technology and a large and comfortable bed with a high-quality mattress. A spacious bathroom and a fully equipped kitchenette with refrigerator await you in your air-conditioned room. Our Marleys restaurant presents a wide range of Euro-Asian and international dishes. The breakfast buffet is served from 06:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and on Sundays even until noon. Directly in the house, there is the 3,500 m² Meridian Spa fitness and wellness oasis. Our guests can use the Meridian Spa until noon free of charge and afterwards after paying a reduced daily price. The spacious thermal bath area and the nice massages with aroma oils promise you peace and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Madison Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Madison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing