We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Cheers for the Madison Hotel!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Madison Hamburg
Ranked #1 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have stayed several times at the Madison Hotel in Hamburg on business, most recently for an extended stay. The Madison has turned out to be the best home away from home I could ever have hoped for. From front desk to restaurant to bar, their young and enthusiastic staff all speak English, and one and all are extremely kind, knowledgeable and friendly. The restaurant is very good indeed, open all day long until 11pm, and the bar is a cozy place, open much later. There is no room service per se, but you can call down to the restaurant and they will prepare a dinner for you to pick up. The morning buffet is a mouth-watering way to start the day. The rooms are spacious, peaceful and well-designed. On this last trip, I stayed in one of their loft rooms, which was airy and gracious, with a sitting area and small kitchen facility. The large, sound-proof windows opened to catch a breeze, and there was even a little step-out terrace for a check of the weather. The bathroom had an elegant curved-glass shower, as well as a tub, and housekeeping kept everything immaculate. In the past, I've also stayed in their studio and junior suites, and those were attractive, comfortable and very quiet as well. The hotel is nestled close to the Portuguese section of town, lined with shops and restaurants. You can also walk to the harbor, the Alster lakes, Hamburg's wonderful shopping area, museums, transportation, theater, concerts, the Reeperbahn, not to mention a number of fantastic restaurants. I could go on and on, but suffice to say, if you are hoping for a lovely, friendly, convenient, quiet, well-located and well-run hotel, stay at the Madison.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlfredoNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,044)
There are newer reviews for The Madison Hamburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

Until recently when forced to switch to a hotel nearer to my company, I always specifically requested this hotel when travelling to Hamburg on business. I really cannot pick a fault with it. It is near to the harbour, HafenCity and withing easy walking distance of the Rathaus and restaurants etc., whilst the Reeperbahn is not too far in the opposite direction.

The staff are amongst the most friendly anywhere in the world and all speak flawless English. The bar has always been a highlight - the staff will happily chat away to you and make you feel at home, which is always nice when you are travelling alone. They have amazing spicy nuts to boot and chairs on the pavement if you fancy a bit of people-watching in the summer.

Breakfast is expansive, tasty and always delicious.

The rooms are amazing. The last time I stayed, the room was more like a self-contained apartment with cooker and kitchen area, power shower in the spotless bathroom, writing desk, dvd player and king-sized comfy beds. All at the price of an average 3-star room in your average hotel.

I'm not quite sure why this is only #2 in Hamburg, but I'd love to see how #1 can top it. Stay here!

Room Tip: There has been no downside to any of the rooms I've stayed in.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattfromnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Madison lived up to everything good said about it. The location was superb within easy walking distance of all the attractions, whilst also being quiet for a good nights sleep. What makes this hotel so special is the staff who seem to be happy and smiling all the time and nothing is too much trouble. Everyone was great , from reception to the cleaners and Janine and Mabel in the bar.The rooms are unusually large and well equipped with tea/coffee making facilities and even hot plates. You could easily self cater if you so wanted. Fresh apples and sweets in reception were a lovely touch and the owner has given great thought to making the guests feel at home.The fridge and mini bar were well stocked and reasonably price also.Turn left out of the the hotel and into Herren-graben and after crossing the main street you will find the subway entrance to Stadthausbrucke it is only 2.85euro staright to the airport. Turn right and you come to Ditmar Koel Strasse with many places to eat from Italian, Spanish, Brazilian but not Indian or Chinese. A superb Indian can be found at the maharaja on Detlev-Bremerstr. just off the Reeperbahn where you will have a great meal for about 15 euro. The reeperbahn has to be seen of course but its tacky and beset with begging so one visit is more than enough, so go the other way into the shopping area or down by the Harbour. Overall my visit to the Madison was excellent and I shall return to the city and the hotel as there is nowhere better to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms were of good size and well equipped so no issues.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Supercad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I would definitely recommend this hotel. The room was fantastic, the bed was comfortable. We had a view of St Michel from our window. The hotel staff was very friendly. We were very satisfied. The location relative to the river and all the sights was ideal. The only recommendation for improvement was to open the fitness center earlier than 9 am on the weekends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KATHYVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is in a good location, very convenient to transport and attractions. Rooms of very high standard, with all amenities one might need and lots of useful touches to enhance convenience for guests. Also convenient to have laundry on floor. What made the stay memorable was the friendliness of all staff. It started with a very helpful approach to changing booking dates and during my stay it was always personal service with a friendly smile. Value was great, compared with other hotels of this standard. Good both for business and hiolidays.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShelleyMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights last week. I got reference from my friends & the experience was marvelous.
The room was comfortable, breakfast buffet had lot of variety & variation. Restaurant& bar spacious & inviting
The location of the hotel very close to local train & bus service.
Lots of greenery & open space near by, the Haffencity being only 10 mts away by walk.Overall it was JUST NICE

Room Tip: Rooms with front side views, higher floors
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hariharanchennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed at Madison in March for a weekend. This is a really nice hotel with good and personal service. Would not hesitate to stay here every time in Hamburg. Rooms are large and well equipped. The breakfast is excellent. The location is perfect, right between the shopping district and the restaurant district. Five minute walk to Ditmar-koel-strasse where you will find plenty of restaurants (Brasilian, Portugese etc).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patrikeab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 319 in Hamburg
1,467 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 319 in Hamburg
2,418 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AMERON Hotel Speicherstadt
#11 of 319 in Hamburg
732 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#15 of 319 in Hamburg
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hamburg

Address: Schaarsteinweg 4, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $166 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madison Hotel Hamburg with its 166 rooms is ideally situated between the Elbphilharmonie, the Speicherstadt and the city, just below the town's emblem - the Michel. From our hotel, you can reach all places of interest on foot and explore Hamburg. We provide excellent transport connections to the highways as well as to the public transport. All of our rooms and suites are at least 35 m² large and offer, amongst other things, a spacious working area with state-of-the-art technology and a large and comfortable bed with a high-quality mattress. A spacious bathroom and a fully equipped kitchenette with refrigerator await you in your air-conditioned room. Our Marleys restaurant presents a wide range of Euro-Asian and international dishes. The breakfast buffet is served from 06:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and on Sundays even until noon. Directly in the house, there is the 3,500 m² Meridian Spa fitness and wellness oasis. Our guests can use the Meridian Spa until noon free of charge and afterwards after paying a reduced daily price. The spacious thermal bath area and the nice massages with aroma oils promise you peace and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Madison Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Madison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing