We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona
Ranked #115 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed April 1, 2010

To begin with the service was very unfriendly, when I checked in I was told the breakfast next day would start from 6 am. After a sleepless night due to the extreme noise I was asked in the morning to pay the hotel before having breakfast. After paying I was told the breakfast would only start at 7 so I need to wait an hour. When I asked to get back the money for the breakfast which I had no time to wait for, I was told this is not possible. The person even told me this is part of their hotel policy to make an "extra" profit out of their customers! This hotel is a real rip-off, would strongly recommend not to go.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerXY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 233 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2010

I don't suppose you could get closer to the Altona train station than this hotel. My room on the thrid floor and the breakfast room overlooked the train tracks, but there were absolutely no noise from the trains despite this.

I was travelling with a group of 17 classic car enthusiast and had not chosen this hotel myself. But I was pleasantly surprised by this three star hotel.
The room was not very big but adequate with twin beds, a minibar and a small television set. I missed a kettle and there were no coffe/tea/cocoa bags in the room.
The bathroom was large with a radiator which quickly warmed up the room.

The hotel seemed very new with a nice new interior.
The breakfast room was large and I didn't miss anything to chose from in the menu.

The location is perfect for those who needs to use the car train since the entance to the trains is just beside the hotel.

I wouldn't mind staying at this hotel again. There was nothing wrong with the hotel but since it seemed to be so new it lacks charm and cosiness.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaguar-E-type-driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

Stayed here for one night on business on 12th December. Perfectly located across the road from the main Hamburg central station, which connects directly to the airport. It was raining heavily, so the location was perfect. 1 min dash across the road. Make sure you come out of the correct station exit as it would be a long walk around. Google map it before you leave home!!

Arrived about 17.00. Fast check in. Polite staff. 8 floors in all. You get a free bus/train pass when you check in, which you can use back to the airport. Nice touch.

Medium sized room, but normal for a City centre. Very clean and efficient, with all the amenities expected these days. Smallish on suite, but with everything you need including a hair dryer. No iron or board though, so a crumpled stay unfortunately.

Comfy bed - had a good nights sleep. The hotel was busy, but there was no noise.

Well located restaurants and only a few min walk from the town hall, where the main Xmas market was located. 2 min walk to the river bank of the Elbe.

It has a restaurant/bar, where we had a few drinks in the evening. OK, but not much atmosphere.

Fine breakfast with lots of choice. Fast check out.

Could not fault it at E120 B&B. Definitely use it again for Hamburg.

N

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

not far from, quite good choice to stay with friendly staff

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2007

InterCity hotels are normally good and this one probably was as well. We tried it on spec. on Easter Monday. Big mistake. Although the one guy on the desk eventually tried to help us, he kept on trying to serve other guests who arrived later than us as well, with the result that we made no progress. Not what one expects from this chain, now part of the Steigenberger group.
So we left him to it and found another, less busy hotel instead. It was probably more expensive, but at least we could get in quickly and without feeling like fools.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Thank ICE-Zugfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2006

stayed at the inter city hotel for 2 nights from 18th august, booked a twin room. Our check in was extremely efficient, room was very nice and found hotel clean throughout.
Our room overlooked the main train station which is at the back of the hotel, this could be noisy for some people but my friend and i had no problem.
we walked to the famous reeperbahn both evenings which was about 10 to 15 minutes leisurly strole.
i would definitely recommend this hotel, being cheap, cheerful and central.

4  Thank ronmag3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Miami, FL
320
Reviewed July 16, 2005

Conveniently located hotel in Hamburg in a nice area. Rooms well equipped and functional, but without air conditioning. Watch out in the middle weeks of the summer. The room was extremely hot, and with the window open, extremely noisy. Apparently not many places in Hamburg have air conditioning, since the summer is very short... The hotel key acts as a ticket for the public transportation system during your stay, which is very convenient and a great added value, especially with the buses and S bahn trains right outside the door.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
IntercityHotel Hamburg Dammtor Messe
Hamburg-Altstadt
IntercityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altona-Altstadt
NH Hamburg Altona
NH Hamburg Altona
#50 of 321 in Hamburg
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona

Address: Paul-Nevermann-Platz 17, 22765 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: $96 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterCityHotel Hamburg-Altona is located next to the ICE station of the same name, Hamburg Altona, in the very heart of the city. The Hamburg city centre is only 4 km away and can be easily reached by the S-Bahn (city railway). The exhibition grounds are located only 3.5 Km away from the hotel. Positioned between the theatre, musical stages, the exhibition grounds and the harbour, the InterCityHotel provides the ideal starting point for business, scene and culture. Experience Hamburg's city mix of state opera, shopping paradise, museums and variety theatres. With the FreeCityTicket we offer our guests the possibility of using local public transport in Hamburg and the HADAG Elbe ferries free of extra charge. In your overnight stay in Hamburg-Altona you will find 133 comfortable air-conditioned rooms with a pleasant ambience for a relaxed period of time. In addition, there are 4 air-conditioned conference rooms with daylight illumination and modern multimedia conference technology. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercity Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing