We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona
Nearby Hotels
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$131
$126
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$107
$100
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Hyatt Hamburg(Hamburg)
$322
$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$87
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$259
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$209
$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel St. Annen(Hamburg)
$159
$140
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Madison Hamburg(Hamburg)
$164
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveler rating
44
119
65
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
119
65
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravel passtrain stationticket for public transportfree cityconvenient locationhotel is locatedgreat hotelwifireeperbahnconnectioneurope
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 244 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Located right at Altona train station, ideal to visit lively Ottensen / Altona, and just minutes away by train from Hamburg old town centre. Rooms are good value for money - standard Ibis-type rooms and facilities, clean, friendly staff. Their extra value: you get tickets for free public transport for your entire stay - a big savings! What they need to improve - the Wifi isn't free which it really should be; breakfast and parking are expensive, but you can easily eat at the hundreds of cafes and restos nearby. Overall a very good standardized hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fourwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

A modern hotel with an Ibis appearance but at a higher price. Located within the Altona station complex, it has excellent transport connections - and guests get to travel on Hamburg's trains, buses, Ubahn and ferries for the price of the room. (Even available on check out day to get you to the airport, for example.) We chose not to eat in but made use of the many eating establishments within the station or within a short walk in the delightful suburb of Altona. Only some rooms have AC - ours did not - and in hot weather the only recourse is to sleep with the windows open - not good if you are a light sleeper.

It met our needs and I would be happy to return here on another visit.

Room Tip: You have trains on one side or the street on the other. Depends on your likes or dislikes as to which you might choose!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woolloongabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

It is central with a free ticket for public transport during your stay, which saved us heaps. We stayed one night to try it out, and liked it enough to come back for another three nights. Decent breakfast buffet, spacious lifts and corridors, rooms have all the essentials and vital nooks and crannies to store your stuff. We asked for a quiet room, and we received it.
Staff is friendly and helpful (mostly), and I can't help the impression that they are all in training for the 'real' Steigenberger. Yes, the shower can get very hot when someone else its starting their shower, and it is a few years old, and you have to pay for WiFi (even the staff don't like it), but they got the basics right. Suggest they get their rates sorted, there is a funny 7-Day advance booking system, which made us pay three different prices for consecutive nights.
However, would stay there again, anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the upper floors, and you will be facing away from the train station.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daretobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I have stayed here on business when I could not get into the Intercity Hotel in Hamburg City Centre, it was well priced for a reasonable hotel in Hamburg, also what I found useful was the hotel provide a train ticket throughout your stay so that you can get about on public transport whilst staying, as I needed to be in the city centre and thus needed to use the SBahn this was good for me.

The reception staff were helpful and friendly.

The rooms were just about adequate where I stayed felt like it needed a revamp, it looked tired and sad, the intercity in the city centre is far more fresh and modern but then this Altona one is much cheaper, however the room was clean and was not uncomfortable.

The location is handy especially for those travelling on the train as the hotel is literally at the end of the platforms, however I found the train noise in my room to be a pain and was woken a numebr of times through the week due to this, I have read others saying the noise is not a problem so I guess it depends what room you are in mine overlooked the platform so was an issue for me.

Altona train station also has lots of places to eat and drink and to buy snacks/fruit/drinks so you will not go hungry, due to these facilities I did not eat in the hotel, I noticed the bar/restaurant was located in the reception area it looked Ok but no idea on quality.

Good for those wanting a reasonable and comfortable room for business or access to train station.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffers65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We were traveling by train. So for us the location right next to the main railway station and the junction of various underground lines ws very important. The hotel offers extremely quiet and clean rooms. The staff is excellent. A request from us for the room service was done smoothly and in no time. The buffet breakfast is an experience in itself. We also enjoyed the free ticket for the entire train and bus system during the stay. Any time again, Intercity hotels!

Room Tip: Free local train and bus in Hamburg included!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigF_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews