We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Markets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Europaeischer Hof
Ranked #39 of 323 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel has an excellent location opposite the central station and was perfect for shopping at the Christmas markets. Our bedroom was large and extremely comfortable. Excellent buffet breakfast and the hotel restaurant was perfect after a long day shopping. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linwik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 819 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

We chose this hotel for the proximity to rail station, subways, and restaurants and we were not disappointed. The buffet breakfasts were excellent with a wide variety of choices. Enjoyed one meal in the hotel and it was very good too. Especailly liked the 5 minute walk to the Subway line we used the most. S3. Also as easy walk to corner delicatessen, St Georg area and well worth visitng, the Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe. The concierge and front desk staff were very responsive and helpful . We enjoyed our stay ans would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the extra steps for some 5th floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

If you arrive by train, the walk from the railroad track to the hotel reception is no more than 5 minutes. Right across the street from the main railroad station.
When staying at the hotel you can walk from the hotel through the railroad station further on into the pedestrian streets of Hamburg, and from the hotel to the christmas market at the City Hall, it takes 10 minutes by foot (15 if you walk slow, 45 minutes or more if you have a shopping urge)
I was staying in a single room (room 614) that completely renovated not too long ago. The decor is modern and all amenities and services are there.
The breakfast selection is..... HUGE. There are also chefs making pancakes, omelettes etc. and still this was included in the room price.
I will definitely stay there with my family next time we go to Hamburg for the Christmas market - which can be highly recommended, by the way.
PS: The hotel garage is located AT THE BACK of the building compared to the entrance, and it requires a booking. Valet parking mandatory and cleaing of your car windows upon departure. Superb.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is renovated. I heard in the breakfast room that not all rooms were renovated. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael Friis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The location of the hotel is good, just next to the main railway station. It's easy to come and all the shops are nearby... The hotel offers quite normal, good accomodation in clean rooms. Our room in the 5th floor was quite cold (very cold, says my wife) in November, though. Another small drawback was the missing wifi in the room... However, breakfast was excellent and justifies a bit of the price tag, which was perhaps too high considering the room itself... But if you appreciate great location and full stomach in the morning, I can recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jellona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Functional hotel right in the heart of Hamburg opposite the main train station. Single rooms a little small, but adequate. Good buffet breakfast. Excellent pool and suana facilities, be sure to look out for the water slide!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Clean, excellent hotel just outside the Hauptbahnhof. +++that you recieve free ticket to U-bahn. Nice breakfast and spa with several saunas, open fire. The only - was that it wasn't wifi at the room. Nice staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rumtog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I love these types of hotels, just good clean friendly updated hotel. Not a high luxury hotel but very comfortable and a great value. Good breakfast. And the lounge-bar area was actually quite nice to get an late evening drink or bowl of ice cream.

We paid 140euros including tax and breakfast for 2 and also 2 passes for the S & U-bahn which came in really handy. We also paid another 16 euros for parking which we had to reserve too. We bought our tickets for a harbor cruise at the hotel and saved money rather than buying at the harbor.

As other's have mentioned, location very handy, directly across from train station. We didn't use the pool or spa.

Our highlight of the trip was the tour of the old soviet Submarine U-434 - it was some place near the fish market, cost 9 euros per person which was kind of steep but worth it, fascinating and well worth it. BUT if you are claustrophobic beware - we went in the evening and were the only ones going thru so I could handle it, but if it had had other people going thru I might have panicked. Nevertheless it was great and I am not a fan of military things in general.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendywendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Reichshof Hamburg, Curio Collection by Hilton
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#57 of 323 in Hamburg
435 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#31 of 323 in Hamburg
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europaeischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europaeischer Hof

Address: Kirchenallee 45, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#55 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $157 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europaeischer Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in comfortable, timelessly decorated rooms. Enjoy your breakfast at the stylish Hanseatenraum decorated with lots chrome, warm colours, dark panels and elaborate objects with Swarovski crystals. Or breathe Hanseatic tradition in the Hamburger Restaurant. Eat at the rustic and yet elegant restaurant Paulaner´s offering typical German and international dishes. Feel like James Bond at the Flaggen-Bar and its fifties look. Let the chandeliers in the staircases remind you of the seventies. The Hotel Europäischer Hof Hamburg proves that good design is never out of style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Europaeischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europaeischer Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing