We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Europaeischer Hof
Ranked #42 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The location of the hotel is good, just next to the main railway station. It's easy to come and all the shops are nearby... The hotel offers quite normal, good accomodation in clean rooms. Our room in the 5th floor was quite cold (very cold, says my wife) in November, though. Another small drawback was the missing wifi in the room... However, breakfast was excellent and justifies a bit of the price tag, which was perhaps too high considering the room itself... But if you appreciate great location and full stomach in the morning, I can recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jellona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 792 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

Functional hotel right in the heart of Hamburg opposite the main train station. Single rooms a little small, but adequate. Good buffet breakfast. Excellent pool and suana facilities, be sure to look out for the water slide!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Clean, excellent hotel just outside the Hauptbahnhof. +++that you recieve free ticket to U-bahn. Nice breakfast and spa with several saunas, open fire. The only - was that it wasn't wifi at the room. Nice staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rumtog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I love these types of hotels, just good clean friendly updated hotel. Not a high luxury hotel but very comfortable and a great value. Good breakfast. And the lounge-bar area was actually quite nice to get an late evening drink or bowl of ice cream.

We paid 140euros including tax and breakfast for 2 and also 2 passes for the S & U-bahn which came in really handy. We also paid another 16 euros for parking which we had to reserve too. We bought our tickets for a harbor cruise at the hotel and saved money rather than buying at the harbor.

As other's have mentioned, location very handy, directly across from train station. We didn't use the pool or spa.

Our highlight of the trip was the tour of the old soviet Submarine U-434 - it was some place near the fish market, cost 9 euros per person which was kind of steep but worth it, fascinating and well worth it. BUT if you are claustrophobic beware - we went in the evening and were the only ones going thru so I could handle it, but if it had had other people going thru I might have panicked. Nevertheless it was great and I am not a fan of military things in general.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendywendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent two nights at the Europäischer Hof, Hamburg. The hotel was very clean but appeared a little bit dated to me. There seemed to be lots of staff who were all very friendly and professional. During check-in we were given a free pass for public transport which we made good use of, we thought this was brilliant!

Our room was quite large and comfortable and although it faced the main road there was hardly any noise. There was a TV, minibar, desk and a couple of comfy chairs. The shower was in a room of its own, not connected to the rest of the bathroom but not a problem. The safe confused us at first, you close it then swipe any card with a magnetic strip to lock it, use the same card to unlock it. The only downside to the room was no aircon and it got a bit warm during the night. There was no wifi in the room but there was wired internet access which was free.

There was free wifi near reception and there was also a PC with internet access plus a printer which was free to use. My wife made use of the gym and she said it was good, I can’t comment as I had a nice lie in instead. My wife also had a massage and she said it was very good. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of hot and cold food.

The location of the hotel is very good, right opposite the main station, however, there were always quite a few people hanging around the station who were very loud and appeared to be drunk. On the same street as the hotel there are a number of nice bars and restaurants. We explored the area to the back of the hotel and it was a little bit seedy but we found the area on the other side of the station to be a better place for walking and shopping.

Overall we thought the Europäischer Hof was very good and a nice change from the usual chain hotels. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Tedlooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on a business trip. Very good central location with the city centre, the alster area and the train station all within walking distance. The room was very well appointed and clean. The fitness centre was excellent. Breakfast was a treat too served in a lovely breakfast room

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gjo2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I recently stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip.. A nice clean Hotel in a Great Location. The Hotel is in the heart of Hamburg right next to the Main Railway station. Hotel staff were very helpful.I would recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkF78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Reichshof Hamburg, Curio Collection by Hilton
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#51 of 321 in Hamburg
426 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#33 of 321 in Hamburg
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 321 in Hamburg
2,512 reviews
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europaeischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europaeischer Hof

Address: Kirchenallee 45, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#35 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#55 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $166 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europaeischer Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in comfortable, timelessly decorated rooms. Enjoy your breakfast at the stylish Hanseatenraum decorated with lots chrome, warm colours, dark panels and elaborate objects with Swarovski crystals. Or breathe Hanseatic tradition in the Hamburger Restaurant. Eat at the rustic and yet elegant restaurant Paulaner´s offering typical German and international dishes. Feel like James Bond at the Flaggen-Bar and its fifties look. Let the chandeliers in the staircases remind you of the seventies. The Hotel Europäischer Hof Hamburg proves that good design is never out of style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Europaeischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europaeischer Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing