We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Europaeischer Hof

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Europaeischer Hof
Ranked #43 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Superb hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

Stayed at this hotel from 20 to 23 Mar with colleagues on a business trip.

Excellent place to be in!

We got good rate, with free breakfast (very good spread) and internet connection (hassle free and fast).

Location is excellent, right opposite the main train station, in the city centre, within walking distance to attractions like the Alster Lake and the new shooping mall, Euro Passage. Hotel is well kept. Room is spacious and quiet. Concierge staff is friendly.

There is a good restaurant, Paulaner where you can have nice meals with reasonable prices. Will certainly return!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrslye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    321
    75
    22
    13
See reviews for
86
224
70
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

Only stayed one night to visit a concert and fit in a bit of sightseeing, but would certainly choose this hotel again for a longer visit to Hamburg.
Location right next to the main railway station is very convenient, just a short walk from the Alster Lakes and just through (or around) the station to reach the main shopping district and the old town.
What I particularly enjoyed about the hotel is that it offers all the comfort and facilities you'd expect from the main international chains, but has actually been privately owned by the same family for decades, and as such has a lot more character and personality. Different parts of the hotel have been renovated at different times; all of it is extremely well maintained, but there is quite a quirky mix of styles. We were offered the option to upgrade to one of the newly refurbished rooms but declined as we weren't planning to spend much time in the room. The standard room that we were allocated was very comfortable and well equipped, and whilst not new, showed no signs of wear and tear at all, as they had obviously bought quality fixtures and furnishings that were designed to last.
The hotel's most outstanding feature was definitely the multi-storey Spa area, which is exclusively for hotel guests, and free of charge. Easily the best leisure facilities I have ever encountered in a city-centre hotel.
Breakfast was also excellent; both in terms of selection and quantity of food. Service was flawless, and very generous hours - 6.30 to 11.00 on weekdays and until 12:00 on weekends, so perfect if you enjoy a lie-in! Rather cleverly, they only supply small plates at breakfast to discourage guests from piling everything on at the same time, but naturally you are welcome to go up as often as you like, and we spent a rather leisurely hour sampling all the different meats, cheeses, cakes, fruit etc. Breakfast room divided into several different sections, so felt surprisingly intimate for a large hotel.
At first glance, the rate doesn't seem that cheap (and there don't appear to be any special offers through different booking agencies), but given what is included the hotel is actually very good value-for-money and I would happily return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EalingBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

I have taken my baby to many hotels in many countries (including in Germany), but this is the ONLY hotel that would not let our baby stay with us unless we paid a lot of extra money for a larger room. First they claimed that it was because the regular rooms are too small for adding a cot, but then they refused to even let him sleep in our bed! This clearly shows that the hotel is hostile toward children.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rattvik90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

excellent hotel. location and staff. couldn't say anything wrong about it. don't let any other review put you off - best hotel in Hamburg. We're staying again this year !!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsproms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

The location is great, directly outside the main train station and an easy walk to the Kunsthalle (Art Gallery), several Christmas markets, the main shopping streets and EuropaPassage mall. The hotel also provided free access to public transportation.
I stayed in a single room which was spacious, quiet and very comfortable. The included breakfast buffet was wonderful and above the standard for Europe. All amenities worked well and the room was very clean. Staff were friendly and front desk staff spoke English well (small communication problem with spa staff but not a big deal).
After staying in other similar-priced hotels in the same area this is the only one I will use in the future. Obvious pride in running this hotel with great attention to details. I look forward to returning with my children so they can enjoy the pool and waterslide.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

We stayed (for the 5 time) here recently and we love the thotel, especially the big SPA-area with waterslide and all. Also the lobby bar with the wonderful pianoplayer, is a favourite of ours. It´s nice to sit and have a drink or coffee and listen to him play. The breakfast buffé is amazing! There are only one thing on the downside, the beds are quite hard and that could be a problem for you if you are sensitive to that. Otherwise a great, classic hotel we love to come back to every year.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kriwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

I wonder how I haven't found this hotel so far, but I'll definitely choose it again for my next trips to Hamburg (and also I recommend it to everyone). The location is excellent, the service is good. The rooms are not a perfection, but are enjoyable. The breakfast is more then excellent, with plenty of food incl. egg's omelette of your choice. At the lobby bar have a separated smoking hall, which is very convenient. Additionally the hotel has a swimming pool and SPA center, which I unfortunately was unable to test.
The only inconvenience is that to reach some of the room's sectors there has a small area with stairs, which to pass with luggage is a little uncomfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vasilevn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#64 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
St. Georg
Reichshof Hamburg, Curio Collection by Hilton
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
Hamburg-Altstadt
InterCityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Continental Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europaeischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europaeischer Hof

Property: Hotel Europaeischer Hof
Address: Kirchenallee 45, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#36 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#55 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europaeischer Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in comfortable, timelessly decorated rooms. Enjoy your breakfast at the stylish Hanseatenraum decorated with lots chrome, warm colours, dark panels and elaborate objects with Swarovski crystals. Or breathe Hanseatic tradition in the Hamburger Restaurant. Eat at the rustic and yet elegant restaurant Paulaner´s offering typical German and international dishes. Feel like James Bond at the Flaggen-Bar and its fifties look. Let the chandeliers in the staircases remind you of the seventies. The Hotel Europäischer Hof Hamburg proves that good design is never out of style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Europaeischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europaeischer Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing