We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms, good location but not a design hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #7 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Big rooms, good location but not a design hotel”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed only one night, the location is very convenient, the rooms and bathroom are spacious and very clean. However, the furniture is a bit out of fashion. I ate in the Italian restaurant, overall a good experience, nice food but yes you can find better. This is not a design funky hotel, more Great Gatsby experience but very recommendable. The only thing I had issue was the wifi, when I asked the receptionist she was unbelievably rude and making faces, not a good front desk. (Was it Camilla?)After me asking 3 x if someone is coming to check she confirmed. Yes the router needed to be restarted....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,154
    446
    111
    21
    10
See reviews for
260
536
100
677
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Need a centrally-located hotel in Hamburg to kick off a family trip. Grand Elysee was able to provide a family room suitable for four (two adults and two pre-teens) at a reasonable price. The room, while not a true suite, was a large footprint with a big living area, a "master bedroom" area separated by a curtain, and a large bathroom. To accommodate two kids, the hotel moved in a couple of nice portable beds ("cots" would be underselling; they were proper mattresses on light frames). While not the same as having two separate rooms, the layout was more than adequate for our needs.

As others have noted, the hotel is in a great location. We took advantage of the proximity to Ubahn stops and the Aussen Alster lake. Also, the location near the Damitor train station provided an added benefit - cheap, good food. There was a noodle shop, multiple sandwich shops, sushi, etc. all a short stroll away - a good break from dropping 100 Euro or more on a "regular" restaurant meal. Also, we found a wonderful breakfast at a bakery/deli on Mittleweg maybe a kilometer from the hotel (sorry-can't remember the name). A much better deal than the relatively expensive options at the hotel itself.

We used the pool a couple of times. Being part of a "spa", the environment was pretty subdued. We felt like the kids had to be on extra-good behavior, which was a little limiting. But, it was nice to be able to have a short swim during the warm weather. Which does raise the last point - as other have mentioned, while there is AC in the rooms, it is very limited. Luckily, we had cool nights where we just opened the windows wide. If you are there during a heat wave, the AC may not be up to the task.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Upper rooms facing the courtyard are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njtraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, DK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for an extended weekend. We asked for a room in one of the upper floors since some (on tripadvisor) have complained over noise from the lobby. We had a nice room on the 6'th floor overlooking the courtyard which was very quiet. We changed our booking from another hotel since this hotel has A/C - and with 30+ outside this showed to be a vice choice.
The room was clean, had a king size bed and a small desk. Could have used a coffee-maker or the possibility to bring a pot of coffee from the café in the lobby. But we had to go to our room, pick up the phone, and call room-service and wait 15 minutes for the coffee.

The spa area are very nice. A pool (15m) and jacuzzi. 2 saunas, a steam bath and different "showers" available. Just don't get the German culture with blocking the sunbeds for several hours when not using them - but has seen this many times in 'charter resorts', so I was not surprised to see it here...

Breakfast are above average (but also the price 20€). Had a second culture clash when the lady next to me in the breakfast restaurant smoked her 5'th cigarette in 30 minutes. Why is smoking allowed were other people eat?

Can recommend a morning run around the Alster lake (500 m away - 7,5 km around)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antzbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We chose this property based on decent proximity to the sites we wanted to see. In that regard, it worked out well. It's convenient to one of the train stations. It's also very close to a very large park (the one which happens to have the fountain display at 10pm).

The staff was helpful, but (the first of a couple caveats here) there was no concierge during much of the weekend. How you can run a hotel of this calibre with no concierge is beyond me. Customer service was lacking in this regard. However, the rest of the staff was helpful and pleasant.

The property was very nice - great big lobby, very nice spa area with steam bath, ice showers, massages, hot tub, etc. The indoor pool was terrific, but on this weekend it was mobbed and impossible to do laps. The pool area has a huge amount of character - one wall was lighted with changing color lights. Lots of windows. Lots of chairs. Bar with vitamin drinks, beer. Very nice amenities.

The room was very nice as well. Very nice updated bathroom with stand up shower/tub, bidet (for those who like that kind of thing), One strange negative - The safe was the smallest I have ever seen. The bed was comfortable. The windows did open but the air outside was far too hot for that. The absolute show-stopper for me was that the a/c was virtually worthless. I asked someone 2 times to come to the room to please make it cooler. Both times I got a similar answer. Apparently there is a German law regulating how much a/c may be used. They explained that the a/c can only be used to the extent that it can only cool the room to 6 degrees Celsius (or 8 degrees depending on their explanation) below the outside temperature. I know Europeans are trying to be very conscious of energy use, which is nice. BUT, I like to be able to sleep at night. Roasting in their over-regulated countries in the summer is not my idea of a pleasant vacation. I can tell you that despite the fact that the a/c controls were pinned on the maximum setting, the room temperature was nowhere near 8 or even 6 degrees of the outside air temperature. They really need to take a thermometer into their rooms on hot days to see that it's not adequate. They are using this law (if there is such a law) as an excuse to cut their expenses. I will NOT be going here again in the summer. It caused too much tension to say nothing of the discomfort.

If you choose to go here, there is a nearby Italian restaurant called TORCELLO at Mittelweg 19. It doesn't look like much on the outside, but it was a great experience. Very welcoming and uber pleasant owner and staff. Very good food. Good wine at good prices. Terrific people.

Room Tip: If it's hot weather, get a north facing room since the a/c isn't going to help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wheretonext32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Excellent and very central location, still able to get a quiet nights sleep. Service always above expectations with a smile. Rooms are modern, clean and practical, not missing anything essential. The Restaurants on site are very good and the atmosphere in general is stylish but not over the top. Enjoying every stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tablank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfsburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very big convention hotel, but with private touch. Fast check in, nice staff and a great room (big corner room on the second floor...). Excellent bar service (my favorite Gin's Monkey 47 ...) and fair prices. The second night we entered and occupite the bar until 2.30 and the service was always great. Breakfast, one of the best !!! Quite room to the inside, huge bed, excellent mattress.
I only missed a separate shower ... Check out was very busy but late check out not a problem at all, which I used because of the long line at check out. I will turn back ...

Room Tip: I had a room to the inside, very quite and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_and_Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandElysee, Verkaufsleiter at Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Frank_and_Barbara,

thank you very much for your great feedback.
We are very glad to read that we could convice you of our hotel facilitys and our offered services.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at the Grand Elysée for your next stay in Hamburg.

Best regards,

the sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed 12 nights. Very comfortable room, nice size with plenty of storage. Excellent service without any problems. Food good (very good for banquet type meals); breakfast buffet a little expensive but probably worth the price-lots of choices and good quality.
Staying so many nights in one hotel can get stale, not at The Grand Elysee

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandElysee, Verkaufsleiter at Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear HDF,

thank you very much for your positive feedback.
The satisfaction of our guests is our highest priority and therefore we are really happy to hear that your stay has been pleasant and satisying.


We look forward to welcoming you back at the Grand Elysée during your next visit to Hamburg.

Best regards,

the sales department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 319 in Hamburg
2,371 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 319 in Hamburg
1,021 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Le Meridien Hamburg
#27 of 319 in Hamburg
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg

Property: Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
Address: Rothenbaumchaussee 10, 20148 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Rotherbaum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#11 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The specialhotel a lively hotel atmosphere with attentive service - 511 rooms and suites - 4 restaurants and bars at the boulevard - Ballroom with 30 function rooms - Award-winning hotel - 5 Sky channels and High-speed Wi-Fi for free - Elyseum Wellness & Spa to 1000 m² - Owner-managed private hotel - Central, conveniently located - Garage with 500 parking areas Located in the green heart of Hamburg, the Grand Elysee Hamburg is an informal meeting place for Hamburgers and visitors from all over the world. The largest five-star private hotel in Germany provides its guests with a welcoming atmosphere and attentive service. Through their commitment, the owner, Eugen Block, and his family have made a decisive contribution to the informal character of the building. What is unique here is the range of fine food on offer in three restaurants, a bar and a cafe. As an event location near the Hamburg Congress and Trade Fair Centre it offers facilities for all kinds and sizes of events in a total area of 4,200 m². A sense of ease and generosity permeates not just the 511 rooms and suites, it is also felt through the atmosphere of the entire hotel. Over and above that, the Grand Elysee Hamburg boasts a large art collection that lends a uniquely personal style to the premises. The location - in the middle of town yet surrounded by green Close to the centre yet overlooking green parkland - only a few hotels can offer this to their guests. The city centre can be reached on foot, with Dammtor station, and its ICE train connections, just a few steps away and with parks and green spaces in the immediate vicinity. This makes for great relaxation while attending conferences and staying at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Elysee Hamburg
Hotel Grand Elysee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing