We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Hotel but still elegant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #6 of 322 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Been staying here for years and the rooms are comfy especially the alcove rooms. Food is usually acceptable and the Fruhstuck is usually above par. Close to railroad station and a short walk to downtown market areas through the nearby park.

Room Tip: Ask for alcove room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorVonCueBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,006)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 2,006 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I spend there three nights. Hotel is not a new one but looks well from outside and inside. Very clean, well managed. Good food in restaurant - city prices Rooms pretty big, clean. Good wardrobe space. Lack of ironing equipment in the room. Lack of tea/ coffee opps in the room. Quality of bathroom is not coresponding to the room in my opinion. Good breakfast. Good spa area with swimming pool. No free internet in the hotel. Old computers for customers with old software - couldn't print boarding pass due to old Adobe. Some aircondition issues in the room and also meeting room - we were sitting 3 hours in cold room until get warmed after hotel staff support. Probably old aircondition was the cause of it.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarsawExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed here with a group I was leading in July. Right from the first glimpse of the hotel to the services throughout and quality of the rooms, everything about the Grand Hotel made a lasting impression, not just with me but my guests also. The cafe is great for casual dining and the staff there excellent, so too in the main restaurant, though lunchtime bookings can sometimes be difficult apparently if they have too few guests dining in. Not so for dinner, very nice! The rooms are above average size for European hotels in my experience. Location is only a very short and pleasant stoll to the centre of town, and staff generally were all happy and willing to assist with any query. We will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the park, They have a small balcony and a blind that is electronically ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drDro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Beautifully furnished spacious room. Fabulous pool and spa. Wonderful selection of restaurants. Bounteous breakfast buffet, including local specialties.
I arrived early in the morning, yet I was immediately checked in. The reception is well staffed and the personnel willing to help with everything.

Room Tip: I prefer the courtyard view, though the view from the outer rooms is also beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjmumms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I very much enjoyed staying here. It's a big, modern hotel, which clearly caters to a lot of business people. Thus I would normally expect it to be rather clinical and lacking in character, but it's not. There is something very welcoming and friendly about the place; though modern it is decorated with style and taste. Everywhere the rooms are light and airy, both in the public and guest rooms, and there is original artwork on display. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The restaurant (bistro) was outstanding- I am used to good French bistro cuisine, and this matched it in quality, although quite expensive. The rooms were beautiful, light, airy and spotlessly clean. There was an excellent, large, pool and spa- beautifully maintained, but, North Americans and Brits, be aware that the sauna is mixed sex but that it is done proper Nordic style, as in naked (the locals will tell you off if you try to wear a swimsuit) Prudes beware! The bar was great, with fantastic, expertly made cocktails of a quality seldom found outside North America. All in all I loved it, found it very good value for money and would definitely go back.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
Thank clhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night in a corner suite.
Apart from the room being extremely large it had lots of windows and therefore plenty of light and the windows opened so if you like fresh air it was wonderful.
A couple of Restaurants to choose from and they seemed satisfactory.(one meal)
I did like the fact that you could get a roll and coffee for breakfast in a cafe setting rather than going for a full breakfast.
Staff were excellent and the hotel does have a "Grand" appearance with all fittings in excellent condition.

Room Tip: Take a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip for 3 nights.
I enjoyed it a great deal. Rooms are specious, very nicely designed, big windows (possible to open).
A lot of light comes in and curtains cover it all at night. Breakfast was very good.
Free internet in the room and 2 big screen computers in the lobby.
I didn't use the spa equipment so I have no information about that.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giovanni17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 322 in Hamburg
2,572 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#2 of 322 in Hamburg
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Hamburg
#29 of 322 in Hamburg
1,549 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg

Address: Rothenbaumchaussee 10, 20148 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Rotherbaum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#8 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#11 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $226 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The specialhotel a lively hotel atmosphere with attentive service - 511 rooms and suites - 4 restaurants and bars at the boulevard - Ballroom with 30 function rooms - Award-winning hotel - 5 Sky channels and High-speed Wi-Fi for free - Elyseum Wellness & Spa to 1000 m² - Owner-managed private hotel - Central, conveniently located - Garage with 500 parking areas Located in the green heart of Hamburg, the Grand Elysee Hamburg is an informal meeting place for Hamburgers and visitors from all over the world. The largest five-star private hotel in Germany provides its guests with a welcoming atmosphere and attentive service. Through their commitment, the owner, Eugen Block, and his family have made a decisive contribution to the informal character of the building. What is unique here is the range of fine food on offer in three restaurants, a bar and a cafe. As an event location near the Hamburg Congress and Trade Fair Centre it offers facilities for all kinds and sizes of events in a total area of 4,200 m². A sense of ease and generosity permeates not just the 511 rooms and suites, it is also felt through the atmosphere of the entire hotel. Over and above that, the Grand Elysee Hamburg boasts a large art collection that lends a uniquely personal style to the premises. The location - in the middle of town yet surrounded by green Close to the centre yet overlooking green parkland - only a few hotels can offer this to their guests. The city centre can be reached on foot, with Dammtor station, and its ICE train connections, just a few steps away and with parks and green spaces in the immediate vicinity. This makes for great relaxation while attending conferences and staying at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Elysee Hamburg
Hotel Grand Elysee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing