We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only but severe problem was wifi...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Hamburg Airport
Ranked #91 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I arrived late at night in Hamburg so a hotel around the airport was needed. Accor offered a business tariff incl. breakfast and free wifi. The personel extremely friendly, but admitted that the wifi might not work in most rooms. And it did not. Anyway, they deducted the parking fee as compensation so I should not complain, but that needs to be fixed. I choose hotels based on the ability to communicate from my room to homebase.

Room Tip: Check about wifi, some rooms are not covered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dungdang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercureHHairport, Director of Sales at Leonardo Hotel Hamburg Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

thanks a lot for your review about your stay at the Mercure Hotel Hamburg Airport, which we have shared immediately with the whole team.

Unfortunately we currently work on getting a faster and stronger connection of wifi in the whole hotel and we really do hope that we can fix this problem as soon as possible.

However, we have forwarded your criticizm to the general management who will handle this problem.

We hope to welcome you at the Mercure Hotel Hamburg Airport soon and send you warm wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 527 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

Looking for a demo of can-do spirit? Step by the the Mercure Hamburg Airport.
Convenience aside - close to the airport, and of course shuttle free of charge - you will rarely run into a crew that is unified by living and breathing service and customer orientation.
Rooms might be more generous in other locations, the well feeling derives from faces and smiles, natural smiles

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uphilltom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercureHHairport, Sales at Leonardo Hotel Hamburg Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your very kind review about your stay at the Mercure Hotel Hamburg Airport.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we have shared your review internally immediately.

We would be very happy to welcome you in the near future again and send you warm wishes from the Mercure Hotel Hamburg Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

On arrival we were informed by Herr Schmitt that due to OVERBOOKING THERE WERE NO ROOMS AVAILABLE. Booking confirmed, but NO???
Car already parked and suitcases in the reception. Why did you not contact us by telephone or email, to spare the trouble??

Normal procedure is to at least offer a similar or better accommodation.
When you rent a car, at least you are offered an upgrade, when the vehicle reserved is not available.

Herr Schmitt could only offer your partner hotel Leonardo, a 3 star property, but with a good discount and as a special BONUS “free breakfast”.
He also mentioned the prices and the discount, but I did not take much notice, expecting that he would take care as PROMISED.
He also offered us to come and spend the second night at the Mercure, which we did not do as we had a day programme and did not want to have all the trouble with luggage and depend on check in and check out hours.
So off we went to the Leonardo as the only option.
Leonardo is certainly not more than a 3 star. A bit run down, but we survived.
No lift and going to the 2nd floor with 5 pieces of heavy luggage is not what we expected, all in our sixties. The main reason for not going back to the Mercure.
The staff was very friendly, the breakfast simple but good enough.

We paid the invoice on departure, but having checked your prices there was NO DISCOUNT /Preisermässigung as promised.
WE paid the normal price and an extra for breakfast: Invoice 36259 total € 184,-
much cheaper than our superior rooms booked and confirmed at the Mercure, but CERTAINLY NO DISCOUNT just the normal price.

Not a very professional handling of your problem.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank SKYPETER-1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercureHHairport, Sales at Leonardo Hotel Hamburg Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for your review about the Mercure & Leonardo Airport Hotel Hamburg.

We feel very sorry that you could not enjoy your stay, neither in the Mercure Hotel Hamburg Airport, nor at the Leonardo Airport Hotel Hamburg.

Due to a booking system error we were ineed overbooked that night, therefore we could only offer you to stay in our 3 star Leonardo Airport Hotel Hamburg.
As we had no chance to upgrade you in another hotel which was close to us, we offered you the 3 star Leonardo Airport Hotel Hamburg and gave you a discount of 50% and did not charge anything for breakfast, as a compensation.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience we caused you by only offering a 3 star hotel. But we do hope that with the discount of 50% as well as the free breakfast we could find an acceptable compensation.

Of course we would be very happy to welcome you in the Mercure Hotel Hamburg Airport again in order to be able to convince you about our prodct and our very kind team.

Warm wishes from the Mercure Hotel Hamburg Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The location is bit off if you want to visit the city, but close to the airport. The U-bahn is €2.95 single journey to the city. Taxi around €30. Parking is possible on the street, although limited to 2 hours during the day. The limitation starts at 8 o'clock, which means it is OK up to 10 o'clock. We found the hotel and rooms very clean, good German standard.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank RayMarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercureHHairport, Sales at Leonardo Hotel Hamburg Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

thanks a lot for your great review about the Mercure Hotel Hamburg Airport which we have shared with the whole team immediately.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you backin the new future again.

Warm wished from the Mercure Hotel Hamburg Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

First of all i can't understand the 4 star rating on this hotel. There was a reception, a restaurant, a bar and the rooms. We weren't offered any other facilities and couldn't find them either. The staff was nice, but didn't offer much in the way of information about the hotel. There was no wifi in the rooms, and no minibar. The aircondition was off, and couldn't be turned on before july, august, even though it was hot (23 degrees celsius). They did have a bathtub and comfortable beds, and the rooms were clean. The location was next to the airport so there was some noice from the planes, but nothing serious. There was a subway a short 10 minute walk away, and shops and some eating places, but we didn't use that much. The subway we used a lot and it took about 20 minutes to Hamburg City Center.

We had a nice stay, but the hotel didn't offer us much extra considering its a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with as little plane noise as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TundraStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercureHHairport, Sales at Leonardo Hotel Hamburg Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

thanks a lot for your review about the Mercure Hotel Hamburg Airport.

We feel very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel that much, due to a lack of information.
Indeed we have a newly renovated Fit&Fun Area with two saunas, which can be used free of charge all day long. Furthermore our bar is very likely to be used during the afternoon and evening to enjoy a cup of coffee or some fresh beer.

We would be very happy to welcome you again in the Mercure Hotel Hamburg Airport, to show you our latest results of our renovation works in our comfort rooms and to finally convince you about us and our product.

Kind regards
Mercure Hotel Hamburg Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Not much to look at from the outside but once inside it was very updated and spacious. Good sized, well appointed room and bathroom. Nice menu at the restaurant , all available with room service and good breakfast. Staff was friendly and helpful. Parking was convenient but a little pricey. Great location for the airport -- just a ten minute drive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercureHHairport, Director of Sales at Leonardo Hotel Hamburg Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Lori,

thanks a lot for your great review about the Mercure Hotel Hamburg Airport, which we immediately have shared with the whole team.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and we would be very happy to welcome you again in the near future at the Mercure Hotel Hamburg Airport !

Kind regards,
Mercure Hotel Hamburg Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The rooms appear to have been refurbished in recent months and are now very nice indeed. Good-sized, attractive colour scheme, large bathroom. Very comfortable stay. Friendly, efficient staff. Food in the evening was good, breakfast is mostly very good, apart from the bread choices, which could be of better quality.
The hotel is located very close to the airport but I was not troubled by aircraft noise at all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank PinotGris2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercureHHairport, Director of Sales at Leonardo Hotel Hamburg Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear guest,

thanks a lot for your kind review about the Mercure Hotel Hamburg Airport.
Your very positive feedback has been shared internally throughout the team.

We are very happy that you were satisfied with our lately renovated comfort-rooms and that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Your criticism about the bread at the breakfast buffet has been forwarded to the repsonsible person immediately and will be discussed intensively with the general management to solve the problem as soon as possible.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Mercure Hotel Hamburg Airport soon!

Kind regards,
Mercure Hotel Hamburg Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
1.5 mi away
Leonardo Inn Hotel Hamburg Airport
2.1 mi away
Best Western Amedia Hamburg
1.7 mi away
Ibis Hamburg Airport
Ibis Hamburg Airport
#63 of 321 in Hamburg
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Hamburg Airport
Courtyard Hamburg Airport
#69 of 321 in Hamburg
427 reviews
11.6 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Hamburg-Stillhorn
2.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Alsterkrug Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Hamburg Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Hamburg Airport

Address: Langenhorner Chaussee 183, 22415 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Mercure Hamburg Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Hamburg
#62 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $74 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Hamburg Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonardo Hotel Hamburg Airport is located in the north of Hamburg - only 500 m from the underground and only 1,5 km from the airport away. Business as well as leisure travelers benefit from convenient transport links to the city centre and all attractive sights of Hamburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Hamburg Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hamburg Airport Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing