We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very friendly and welcoming staff, excellent hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Hamburg Airport
Ranked #83 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
dublin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“very friendly and welcoming staff, excellent hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

This is an excellent hotel in the suburbs of Hamburg near to the airport. There is a free shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel, and the hotel is also about a 10 minute walk to one of the S-bahn stations. The staff were all very friendly and most helpful and welcoming. The room I had was large and had a good sized bathroom too, including a full sized bath. There was also tea and coffee making facilities in the room, a nice large TV set, and a good heater (which was very useful as it was chilly outside). The room was also very well insulated and there was no noise coming in from the planes at the airport (which is a couple of miles away).
The breakfast was very nice, and a good selection of food and plenty of coffee. The staff at breakfast were also very nice and welcoming. The lobby and reception areas are really good too , with nice sofas and chairs to relax in. There are some lovely photographs of planes and the airport up on all the walls of the hotel. For returning to the airport the reception staff will call the free shuttle van to come and collect you.
In the immediate area of the hotel there is a supermarket about 1 block away, and about 5 minutes walk away there is a small mall of shops which then goes on towards the s-bahn station. I would definelty recommend this hotel and would happily return and use it again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikesterDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    216
    104
    33
    21
See reviews for
58
143
67
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

I know this hotel for years, and as some other hotels, the quality is decreasing.

The rooms are of an average quality, downgraded by the bathrooms, where there is often a smell and traces of mould.
The temperature is regulated by an airco-box at the window, which permits temperature regulation, though not on a nice way.
The covers on the beds are too small.
The fitness/spa has also been downgraded over the last years. The swimming pool has been removed, followed by the solarium a couple of months ago.
Free Wi-Fi is only available in the lobby area, but internet is still way too expensive in the rooms. How long do we still have to wait before the Accor-group starts offering free internet in the rooms in their German hotels as they do in France.

+point is the breakfast: great variety and quality.

For holiday/leisure stay, I would never select this hotel. It is maybe ok for a short stop awaiting a flight, though it is not within walking distance to the airport. A free shuttle bus is available.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erik_coremans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

We booked this hotel after our first preference was sold out. The price we paid was ok, but more than we had intended to pay in Hamburg, so we expected a bit more. Our bed was very comfortable, our bathroom was big with a full sized bath and good water pressure. The staff were friendly and always helpful. The wi-fi was good, but only available in the lobby. There is a supermarket next door which was good; it saved us money on breakfast (hotel breakfast is very expensive). There is a train station nearby that gets you into the city in 20-25 minutes. Overall it was good, but not great.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junky87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed for 3 nights this week. The bed was very confortable, and even though its very close to the airport there wasn't that much noise.

There was no ironing board in the room, which i found a minor inconvenience.

Breakfast was 15 EUR extra, which was way overpriced for the seleciton of food on offer.

Although the name of the hotsl suggests close proximity to the airport, the hotel is a 10 minute bus ride away. There is a freee shuttle to and from the airport, it leaves from the departure level between tterminal 1 and 2.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_NorthLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

A great hotel if you have an early flight. A ten minute walk from the train, make sure you get directions. Quiet, comfy, room and bathroom were modernized, and the beds were comfy. No airplane noise after 10:00 pm. Would stay there again. J.S. Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Ibis Hamburg Airport
Ibis Hamburg Airport
#69 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
1.5 mi away
Leonardo Inn Hotel Hamburg Airport
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Hamburg Airport
Courtyard Hamburg Airport
#74 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Amedia Hamburg
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg Airport
11.6 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Hamburg-Stillhorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Hamburg Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Hamburg Airport

Property: Leonardo Hotel Hamburg Airport
Address: Langenhorner Chaussee 183, 22415 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Mercure Hamburg Airport)
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Hamburg Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonardo Hotel Hamburg Airport is located in the north of Hamburg - only 500 m from the underground and only 3 km from the airport away. Business as well as leisure travelers benefit from convenient transport links to the city centre and all attractive sights of Hamburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Hamburg Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hamburg Airport Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing