We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Hotel Ambassador Hamburg
Ranked #103 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

You get what you pay for. 22€ taxi ride from the airport, reasonable. The fastest check in I have ever experienced. Clean, quiet and friendly. The only downside? No AC, thank God for the fan! Do not have a hot shower or your room is like a sauna after. The bar is cozy and the bartender was awesome! My tv didn't work but I didn't care. Stayed one night, would go back but not in the summer

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SarahJacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbassadorHam, General Manager at Quality Hotel Ambassador Hamburg, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Ms. Jacks,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations due to the lack of AC in our guest roomsa as well as the problems with your TV. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our bartender, I will be sure to pass this along.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Sabine Glissmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    108
    65
    14
    12
See reviews for
23
43
55
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We booked a long weekend in this hotel for a very reasonable price. The hotel room is light, it's size and is standard, the bed is firm with a thoughtful combination of pillows. Furniture in the room reminds one of the 1990's, and as there was no sign of wear and tear this furniture might just slowly slip into a Retro-style ;-) The bath room is standard, we liked the extra heating lamp to give us that extra touch of warmth when leaving the shower.
Reception staff is professional and kind. We did not try the hotel's breakfast: it was not included in our room price and we found it expensive (14€). There's plenty of cheaper opportunities for taking breakfast at the station or downtown.
The hotel is conveniently located at a few minutes walk from the U/S Bahn station "Berliner Tor" where several U-Bahn and S-Bahn lines meet, And at least 8 different busses pass at that very station. And each of them comes quite regularly: really strategically located!!! The double glazing in the room protected very well against the noise of the traffic below.

Room Tip: Never mind the proximity of the main roads near the hotel: the double glazing is very effective in p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I only stayed for 1 night, arriving in the morning and my room was not ready yet. Room was not too small, but enough for 1 person.

No free Wifi internet, but you can access the internet via the TV, but it's a bit pricey.
Movies and other things are charged to the room, so be careful.

There is the Berlinertor S/U Bahn station a few hundred metres away.
For shops, there is only a service station to the right once you exit the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We had a late check-in around 1 am. The night receptionist was pleasant. But the room was below any standard. We had what they called a familyroom, But how a family could fit in there is beyond my imagination. Old and worn down interiour. Aircon did not work so we "slept" in 28 degrees all night. And there was not a chance in hell for a compensation. I would guess there is 322 better hotels than this one in Hamburg. So stay clear!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwegianTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Gdansk, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Nice hotel, clean, good restaurant. 15 minute walk to City Centre. Free internet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superpati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Used the hotel for business for two days
Check in good, friendly and helpful
Bedroom and bathroom was disappointing. Very dated, stuck in the eighties and rather drab. Very small bathroom separated from the room with a glass sliding door.
No international tv channels.
Wifi in room which worked well.
Quite a bit of noise from room next door.
The room has a mini bar, one free bottle of water, and old tv and portable fan (no air con)

Restaurant offered good service and good food at sensible prices, would be happy to use again.
There is a separate bar next to reception.

Breakfast offered good service and selection of food with newspapers on offer.

Check out very efficient.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

As I didn't arrive in Hamburg until 11pm and had an 9am appointment the next day I only slept here so can only rate the reception and room
The late night reception guy was spot on and could not have been more helpful. I asked for a taxi first thing and it was there on time and the driver was briefed where I wanted to go, good service.
The room was fine with no problems, not big but adequate for me alone.
Breakfast was included and the price was around 90 euro which was fine.
Recommended for a quick stopover.

Room Tip: Sorry no idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hotel am Berliner Tor
#164 of 319 in Hamburg
200 reviews
Hammerbrook
City Hotel Hamburg Mitte
City Hotel Hamburg Mitte
#125 of 319 in Hamburg
425 reviews
Hammerbrook
Novum Hotel Belmondo Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael
St. Georg
Junges Hotel Hamburg
Junges Hotel Hamburg
#92 of 319 in Hamburg
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Ambassador Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Ambassador Hamburg

Property: Quality Hotel Ambassador Hamburg
Address: Heidenkampsweg 34, 20097 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Ambassador Hamburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the "Quality Hotel Ambassador Hamburg". The combination of warm red and refreshing blue ensures a harmonious contrast in the guest rooms. Your business events or private celebrations take place in spacious premises. After a long day, you can indulge in Hanseatic and international cuisine at the FOCUS restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Hotel Ambassador Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hamburg
Quality Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing