We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfactory!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt
Ranked #126 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Finland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very satisfactory!”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Very good for being a fairly cheap hotel. The hotel is situated in central Hamburg although not in the absolute centre. The staff at reception and in the breakfast room was very nice and helpful. The rooms are satisfactory, no luxury but clean. Our only problem was the thin walls. If you don't want to get your sleep interrupted by people coming and going next door, bring earplugs.
The breakfast was very good.
Getting to the hotel from the airport only costs 1,90€! Take the S1 train to Landungsbrücke station, then switch to metro U3, get off at the next stop: St Pauli. Use the exit towards Reeperbahn-Holstenwall. Very easy and fast (about 50 mins).

Get a HVV-card and use the public transportation as much as you want. We used the number 112-bus (bus-stop right ouside the hotel) to go to Hauptbahnhof (Central Railway Station) when we wanted to get into town for shopping etc. and back to the hotel. So easy and fast. Very convenient!'

When you're hungry or need groceries, go to the square Grosneumarkt (5-10 mins walk from the hotel). We found several nice restaurants there and the area is very safe so it's completely ok to walk there.

Room Tip: The single rooms have very thin walls as the hotel probably made 2 small rooms out of a bigger one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fridolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    120
    74
    12
    11
See reviews for
41
107
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We decided to stay at the Hotel am Holstenwall for a change of scenery in Hamburg after previously staying at the superbude and trying to find something similar price but more Hamburg charme.

The check in was quick. The location of the hotel is okay, very close distance to the Reeperbahn but a bit longer 20mins walk into centre like Gaensemarkt or Rathaus area. Very close to Landungsbruecken also 5mins walk only.

We did ask for a non-smoking room but unfortunately it seemed it was possible to smoke in the entire hotel, correct me if I am wrong here! It smelled of smoke in the corridor to the room and the room had an ashtray. Great.

The room itself was a large double with outdated furniture. The bathroom was very good, new and clean. No view. The bed was not comfortable, very noisy base and uncomfortable mattress. Also only single duvet covers were on offer and especially in a cold winter night you expect something better. Yes and as per previous reviews, the cushions are a nightmare, just too big and strange for my liking. The Wi-fi in this specific room was near non-existent, it was very difficult to log on and we lost our connection constantly.

The walls between the rooms are paper thin, we were woken up by our neighbour starting to watch TV at 5.30 in the morning.

The only good thing to get you out of bed for, was the rich breakfast offer, all variety, eggs (boiled and scrambled) and breads, cheese and ham, chicken etc and cereals + fruits with coffee/tea and juices. Also, the staff were very friendly and made you feel very welcome throughout.

Overall the stay was just okay/average. I didnt regret booking it, but will definitely consider elsewhere, and if not at a higher price, always recommend superbude instead, more trendy, better sleep and good hospitality.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that doesnt have too many adjacent rooms to avoid noise from neighbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prescriptiondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Some of the reviews I read before my stay had me slightly concerned, but as soon as I arrived, I was completely alleviated. Check-in was a breeze, the room was small, yes, but this is not the Four Seasons, and I got exactly what I expected. The room was clean and very quiet on the 5th floor. Bathroom very clean as well. Included German breakfast was excellent. It's very possible that the hotel was recently renovated and revamped. Judging by the negative older reviews it seems that they have made structural changes, invested in new furniture and linens, and perhaps implicated higher standards for their housekeepers. I paid less than $40 a night here, and couldn't have been better off. The location is optimal, being close to city center, public transportation, and lots of things to do directly in the neighborhood. Yes, the hotel is very close to St. Pauli's Reeperbahn and the red light district, but it's neither noisy nor dangerous. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper levels and away from street side will provide quieter space
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DK
Level Contributor
157 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Great hotel near Reeperbahn (5 min walk)
U-bahn nearby (5 min walk)
Bus outside the door.
Nice and clean room.
Good breakfast.
The bar in only open friday and saterday evening :-( .
Free wifi

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NartoursDk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

First to TripAdvisor crew: this is Hotel Am Holstenwall Novum, not a Select Hotel (anymore?)
The location is simply ideal: 3 minute walk to the nearest U-bahn station, 10 minutes to the haven, beautiful and peaceful park on the other side of the street and a lovely quarter with historical buildings just around the corner (to the right)!
The room (single) looked more classy on photos but reality was not disappointing. The room is clean and has all the necessary things + safe and TV. Wi-fi is free and if it's not working in the room right away, ask for login/password at the reception (and don't throw it away if you take your device out of the hotel). The walls are definitely not noise-proof, but all my neighbours seemed to be just like me - either out or sleeping - so it didn't bother me at all. My only wish to the hotel staff - guys, next time you've got money to spend, buy some better pillows.
The breakfast is just normal breakfast buffet for a European not-too-small-not-too-big-hotel - nothing to be overjoyed with but strictly nothing to complain about. The usual minibar stuff is available at the reception 24x7. The staff is nice and helpful. Recommended for a traveller.
P.S. Almost forgot to say — the room had 2 (two!) electrical sockets available! Many good hotel rooms in my practice had only one, so it's worth mentioning :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaximD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avermes, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

very nice, welcoming and efficient staff; nice breakfast; in a nice relaxing part not too far from the city center, and close enough but not too close to the largest show/red district area if the town. the stadrad system allows you to rent city bikes for almost free, go on their website, all you need is a credit card

from airport, best to change once and get to st pauli station, you are at five minutes' walking distance from the hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean pierre p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed here two nights and liked it very much. Good value and definitely a place we would consider staying at again. The hotel is situated very central and close to most attractions Hamburg has to offer. When checking in and throughout our stay Herr Struck, the hotel receptionist, was very helpful and made our stay very comfortable.

The rooms were however very small, but clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was big enough and clean.

One of the best parts with staying here was definitely the breakfast. The buffet was huge and you could ask for pretty much anything and they would get it for you. The staff was incredible and they made sure everything was fresh and refilled when necessary.

Another good thing was that you could buy cold beverages in the reception. They had everything from sodas and water to beer.

The parking was no problem thanks to parking houses closed by.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktsjob01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Lindner Hotel Am Michel
#21 of 318 in Hamburg
697 reviews
Neustadt
Hanse Clipper Haus
Hanse Clipper Haus
#17 of 318 in Hamburg
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Hotel Stella Maris
Hotel Stella Maris
#83 of 318 in Hamburg
193 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#171 of 318 in Hamburg
87 reviews
Neustadt
Adina Apartment Hotel Hamburg Michel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt

Property: Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt
Address: Holstenwall 19, 20355 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Select Hotel am Holstenwall)
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Holstenwall is centrally located in Hamburg, close to the jetties, harbor and town center. The hotel is characterized by a beautiful facade that is a listed building. Go exploring in the Portuguese quarter and discover the maritime atmosphere of the harbor. The park planet and Blomen opens in the summer light water games. Near the hotel is the Bismarck Memorial, St. Michaelis Church, the Reeperbahn, Grosse Freiheit and the Hamburg Cathedral, which attracts a large audience each year. The musical Phantom of the Opera, which is currently in Hamburg, ensures the best evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Select Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing