We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novum Hotel Alster Hamburg St. Georg
Ranked #170 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Certainly value for money. I had a fine breakfast and the hotel is located in central Hamburg. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Parking is a bit problematic. No elevator and steep steps to 4th floor...

Room Tip: Parking is problematik
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viking-abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 169 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Aachener Hof was my home for a few days in Hamburg. The hotel's located a five minutes walk from the main railway station, which was quite convenient. In the area there are quite a lot of hotels, and also a couple of restaurants.

Checking in and out was straightforward, and luggage storage is available when needed. The staff did what they were supposed to.

My single room was a bit small, but ok, and with acceptable storage space. The bed wasn't the best I've slept in, but still offered a night's sleep. A big minus was the curtain, which didn't dim light from outside much (this being winter, it was mostly dark anyway), but also only covered half the window! Quite outrageous, and meant people could always look in. The room door wasn't very soundproof either, and you could hear everything going on in the hallway.

As has been mentioned by others, there's no lift, and dragging the suitcase up five flights of steep stairs is annoying. Walking all these stairs for breakfast and coming in and out is a slight pain.

The breakfast had a somewhat limited choice, but was still ok. Coffee was refilled quickly upon request.

In all, the hotel enjoys a very convenient location, but has its flaws – it seems like the management doesn't care that much. I could stay here again, but would look for other options as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tvmtvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked 2 nights at this hotel on website booking.com. We arrived late evening after a long day of travelling. Whilst my partner was collecting the key at the front desk I was beginning to have reservations (no pun intended). There were bottle top caps on the floor in the foyer area and the carpet didn't look like it had been vacuumed in quite a while. We lugged our bags up the stairs along a musty smelling corridor and opened the door to a very pokey little double room. The floor was filthy and the carpet was stained. I actually slept in my socks so my bare feet wouldn't touch it. There was mould growing in the shower cubicle. The toilet and basin appeared clean and the sheets on the bed also looked clean. We requested another room but were told there were none vacant. Because it was late and the sheets were clean we stayed the night and checked out the next morning. The desk clerk offered us another room but we refused (if there was one available why weren't we given it the previous night) Our money for the second night was not refunded as the room had been payed in advance through booking.com. We are continuing to pursue a refund.Breakfast was okay and included in the price but having travelled extensively through Germany staying in numerous hotels over a 2 week period I would rate the quality of the breakfast as below average. This may be because of my perception that the hotel was not clean. This hotel is to be avoided at all cost ! Yuck.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

it was disaster, rooms are dirty, bed looked lie someone puked on it, floor is dirty, furniture are destroyed, from walls you can see the pipes comming through your room, doors are sevreral times painted, keys ware not changed for many, many years, all the "hotel" looks like parody of '70. hotel was shown in "booking" as 3 stars with a price level of Novotel or similar-152 Euro/day. this place not desereve even for 1 star, it was the wors experience in my life regarding the hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henryk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. It's pretty easy to find only a few minutes' walk from the central train station (Hauptbahnhof) and located close to a square with plenty of restaurants (Italian, Spanish, Asian) and a cute bubble tea cafe!

Check in was pretty uneventful. However, a few hours later, the receptionist, without knocking, unlocked and entered our bedroom, followed by 3 guests. She looked bemused and asked me to show her the room key to prove we were legitimately staying in the room (this despite being the same lady that checked us in!). It appears that she was checking to see if the room could accommodate 3 guests and hadn't realised that she had already allocated the room to us (the room had space for only 2 guests in any event).

The hotel website states that there is free wifi throughout the hotel. The wifi signal in my room and in the lobby was so poor to be rendered useless. Skype didn't work and when trying to load simple web pages the wifi kept cutting out. Additionally, there is 1 computer in the lobby connected by wire to the internet. It was very slow and the day after check in broke down and remained out of use for the remainder of my stay (see photos). In short, if you need to rely on internet access on your visit to Hamburg, this is NOT the hotel for you!

The hotel has no lift and with some steep steps would not be suitable for those less able to negotiate steps (see photos).

The room itself was of adequate size and had a safe (the key for which you ask at reception). Cable television was watched on a tiny television and the only English channel was CNN. The picture quality for this channel was very grainy. The other 30 or so channels were German but with better picture quality. There is no air conditioning though the windows do open. There was however some traffic noise throughout the night and a church nearby with a bell that rings every 15 minutes! The beds were fairly hard and only 1 pillow provided per person. The pillows flattened very quickly and even when folded would flatten like a pancake!

The bathroom was of a decent size but the shower area was pretty filthy (see photos). I made sure to stay plumb in the centre of the shower cubicle to avoid the grime! Attention to detail in cleaning the bathroom was definitely lacking.

Breakfast was continental, comprising ham and cheese slices, bread rolls/slices, fresh fruit, yoghurt, tea/coffee/juices, with scrambled and boiled eggs as a bonus. It was easy to get a table and overall was pretty decent.

The staff at the hotel came across as pretty rude, particularly the lady working in the morning to whom I spoke regarding the broken computer.

Overall I would not recommend this hotel. During my visit I saw plenty of hotels in the vicinity and I'd have thought they wouldn't come with all the problems that I experienced with the Aachener Hof. There is a Hotel Ibis round the corner and though not an independent hotel, as an international brand I'd expect better standards of cleanliness and service there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

the pictures of this hotel makes you feel you made the right chose ....Ps there is no elevator so dont get a room on the 4th floor I had a room there and it was awful !!!! the next day I changed my room to the first floor and I was able to have a nice room the rooms on the top floor is very bad but the first floor looked like the photos

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank c N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

No-frills well-managed inner-city hotel. Best: Location - walking distance to Hamburg's main railway station and the chic Binnenalster shopping district. Worst: Rooms are spread over 5 floors, but there is no elevator, and the winding staircase is pretty narrow. If you can live with that, it is a good choice, otherwise you have a climbing problem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Norddeutscher Hof Hamburg
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Continental Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Hamburg Stadtzentrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Alster Hamburg St. Georg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Alster Hamburg St. Georg

Address: St. Georgstr. 10, 20099 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Aachener Hof)
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: $45 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Alster Hamburg St. Georg 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home - the Novum Hotel Alster Hamburg St. Georg - in the most exciting and oldest part of the Hanseatic city scene at Pure Life. The central location between the main station and the Alster allows both to achieve the business and the leisure traveler all the targets in Hamburg quickly and easily. The Novum Alster Hotel St. Georg is comfortable and contemporary in design, functional rooms in various categories, free Wi-Fi and an extensive breakfast buffet await every visitor in a newly designed Hotel after its opening in April 2014. Just steps away are found in the "Long line" numerous shops and restaurants for every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novum Hotel Alster Hamburg St. Georg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aachener Hof Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing