We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,439)
Filter reviews
1,439 results
Traveler rating
301
713
312
75
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
301
713
312
75
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main train station air con city centre minute walk excellent location street side recommend this hotel breakfast staff st georg clean rooms your luggage underground parking early check nice bar double room short stay yogurt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,439 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2019 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel before and would stay again.
Typical Ibis and if you are familiar with the format you know what to expect a functional room without any frills.
Had no issues during my stay, somewhere to get your head down in a decent location.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Southside_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisAlster, Leiter Front Office at Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2019

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely

O. Zimmermann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019

Location of this place is great. A short walk to the main train/subway station. This place is good for a couple nights if you are looking for a good location that is not going to kill the budget. The downside is that we had to have the window in our room open because the fourth floor was so hot. That meant a LOT of noise from passing trains and subways. With the windows closed this is no problem since those windows are really well insulated. We actually changed our room the second night, no problem and the staff was very accommodating.

Downside…the rooms are very small. Think a cabin on a ship type small if you’re North American. But, the rooms are clean and well kept so I’d recommend this if your air/heater works ok.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank salleng56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisAlster, Leiter Front Office at Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely

O. Zimmermann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2019

A good overall business hotel; the staff were the highlight for me. The night manager helped me to change my room at 2am in the morning due to a noise issue; the breakfast staff the next day allowed me to have breakfast at 10.40 am although the official serving hours are up to 10am. Thank you for your friendliness and flexibility.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NotSoMardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisAlster, Leiter Front Office at Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind message. We will gladly forward this to the employees

Kind regards

O. Zimmermann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2019 via mobile

The room smelled cigarette, like someone was smoking there, the toilet was dirty. The check in experience was bad, not professional at all. The phone in my room never worked. I asked in front desk if they can fix the phone and nobody ever came to fix it.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank JVtpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisAlster, Leiter Front Office at Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely

O. Zimmermann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2019 via mobile

Pros:
Located a short 5-10 minute walk from the central station which makes it easier (and cheaper) to travel to and from the airport. Also loads of shops and eateries in the station (even a McDonald’s that’s open until 1am or so which is great if you arrive late and are hungry!)

The hotel is clean, modern and staff are friendly. There’s a luggage room which is always handy.

The hotel is basic but everything you need for a few nights in Hamburg.

Cons:
I came with a group so we had three rooms between us. We were all on the 5th floor but one of the rooms was in a separate building block to the other two which was a slight inconvenience as we had to go back down the lobby, walk down a few corridors and get another lift up again to get to the room in the other block.

We visited in September and the wether was lovely. However, the air-conditioning in the room made next to no difference when trying to cool the room down. We had no choice but to open the window throughout the night, but the hotel is opposite several tracks to central station. It was so loud throughout the night and especially in the mornings. Even with the windows shut!! With the uncomfortable heat and horrendous noise - I didn’t get much sleep at all.

There’s little space to hang/store clothes and belongings.


Overall, yes i encountered a few problems with this hotel but everyone’s experience is different. If you’re staying for a few nights and are looking for a budget hotel, this hotel would do.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank sophiebN3803GZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisAlster, Leiter Front Office at Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Kind regards

O. Zimmermann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews