We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hotel am Berliner Tor
Ranked #152 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Functional”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is an old, small hotel. Despite the Wyndham name, it does not have a modern feel. Bedrooms are tiny as is the lift. On a busy street.and we found that we had to have the windows open. Rennovations appear to be in progress creating a fair amount of dust and a somewhat shabby feel.

On the upside, near Berlner Tor S and U stops, the staff were quite nice, and the breakfast fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    76
    51
    25
    15
See reviews for
20
88
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during our honeymoon in june. We booked it in advance with the flight tickets and got a good deal.
As we knew it is a 4 star hotel near the all attractions in Hamburg we only hoped for the best.
Honestly we feel very disappointed with the stay.
First of all this is defenetly not a buisness hotel as the wifi works just terrible. The signal comes and goes. It logs you out of their system always and You need to log in again. When my husband ask a man at the reception what is wrong he assured us that they work on the connection and he ll be back to us when we come back from the trip to the city,, he never did.
The check in is something that I cannot even rate from 1 to 5 . The girl was not nice and defently not rude. We didnt feel warm welcomed at the end. She handle us the key to the room and gave us wifi password. We got the sightseeing offers and the map but no pointing out where we are or what is around the hotel.
The room well it is not like on the photo. The tv is some old tv defenetly not flat hd screen tv like they show on their official website so it is a lie. There is no tea & coffee facilites, I was astonished when I saw it. How 4 star hotel is lacking of it ?
The other thing is missing air condition I mean seriously ? No sign of AC in the room , we were located on the last 7th floor , it was stifling in the room. Good that You may open the windows but when there is a strong wind in room it gets too cold. So at the end you lose, with closed windows it is too hot and dry with open windows it is at the end too cold.
Bathroom are small and poorly equipped.
The pillows itself were too big for the linings and too soft. I apprecite two duvet on the bed as usually hotels go just for one.However during our stay the duvet covers were never changed and we stayed 5 days there.
And the last one which i find terrible no sign of smoke detectors I have no idea how this hotel passed a fire test but honestly You could smoke in the room all hour and nothing happened. If this is 4 star hotel honestly they should take 2 star for them or close this hotel.
I have stayed in many other 4 and 5 star hotels in Germany especially in Berlin and I have never met with such disturbing case how they are able to protect my life?
Also during our stay they were clearly "modernising" the hotel and the carpets on the 7th floor were ripped off to the smallest pieces it looks very unprofessional and shows the management of this hotel in a bad light.
The check out was like this "Good morning did you use anything extra or from minibar" i said no and i heard just "goodbye" no questions like "did you have enjoyable stay?""Will you need any help with the taxi or luggage" "wish you nice day hope to welcome you again" it was the worst stay during our 2 weeks in Germany
Defenetly I will not be back and not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KGedik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I stayed here on June 18th. Front desk staff at check in was helpful. I have nothing against them. Lobby was clean. Our room was on the 6th floor. TV in the room was one from a long time ago. It was an old style 13" TV. Bathroom was very small and shower stall ridiculously small. On our floor hall way light was off and a floor lamp was plugged in the hallway!. Carpet on stairway to 7th floor was ripped off. It looks like this is some old hotel that Wyndham is refurbishing. The thing is however that they are not done with it but are charging as if they are. The charges for the property however are not in proportion to the quality. I was going to pay in Euros but that was high. I paid in rewards points which was also high. i did not get good quality and definitely not value for my money.
I will not stay here again and am not likely to choose another Wyndham. This stay has left a bad taste in my mouth. BTW I spent almost 2 weeks in Germany and Austria. I wrote good reviews about other places. This one--

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anand K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in May 2014 for two nights. While checking in, the reception saw that we have two children with us and charged us extra 50 Euro per night to give us a bigger room, although we did not want a bigger room. Their website stated that children stay free. We were tired after a long flight so did not want to argue. We had to wait for 30 minutes to get the room.

The room is so old and outdated. The pictures on their website are the updated rooms and not the one that we stayed in. During our stay there were maintenance worker in the hallway working during the day, painting and working on other things. The carpet in the hallway was torn out.

Very disappointing. Will not go back. The only good thing about this hotel is the location (walking distance to the train station).

Room Tip: Ask for the updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Junita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeikePeter, Manager at Park Hotel am Berliner Tor, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your rating. We are sorry that you were not pleased with your stay.
It is right that children are free in our house. But you booked a standardroom for 2 adults and no children. For more than 2 persons you need to book a bigger room categorie. This is the reason why you had to pay an additional price.
The construction works have been completed, now there are no old rooms anymore.
We wish you all the best. Kind regards, Wyndham Garden Hamburg City Centre Berliner Tor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hammerbrook
City Hotel Hamburg Mitte
City Hotel Hamburg Mitte
#124 of 318 in Hamburg
404 reviews
St. Georg
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammerbrook
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
#15 of 318 in Hamburg
838 reviews
B&B Hotel Hamburg City-Ost
#140 of 318 in Hamburg
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel am Berliner Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel am Berliner Tor

Property: Park Hotel am Berliner Tor
Address: Borgfelder Str. 1-9, 20537 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hamburg City Centre Berliner Tor)
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel am Berliner Tor 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Park Hotel am Berliner Tor" is situated at the heart of what is also known as the " Venice of the North". The Hotel is centrally located and close to the suburban and Underground rail Networks, the Station is called " Berliner Tor". Event facilities Catering for up to 80 guests provide the ideal Setting for functions and festivities of all kind. Direct connection by public transport to all Major Points in Hamburg also to the Fair and Congress Center, as well to the Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Park Hotel am Berliner Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing