We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to check out!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nippon Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #193 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Can't wait to check out!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is nothing special. The atmosphere in The hotel is a little bit sad . Rooms are nice.
Internet is terrible, If you are here for work, no way! At the Same price you can find something nicer! I was asking help for internet, The poor receptionist didn't know how to help me and The owner passed by, with a terrible attitude and she didn't even asked what was The problem. She really don't care about her clients! I come often in Hamburg but unfortunately My favorite hotels were overbooked for a festival... Tomorrow I will find something else!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grandemela80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    48
    24
    8
    6
See reviews for
4
38
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
190 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

It is a very nice hotel.
Good service, nicely decorated.
Not far from town, close to the airport.
Nice hotel for business trip as well.
Their breakfast is very good.
The staff is very helpful.
There are some nice restaurants at walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betti2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

The hotel is located in a lovely neighbourhood, very close to the lake (5 minutes walking distance) and with very beautiful and typical Hamburg houses. The rooms have a tatami part with very comfortable futon beds in which I slept like a baby. The rooms are extremely clean and well maintained, very comfortable, simple and functional. The hotel reception is quite helpful and the people are very discreet and polite. The hotel serves breakfast but the Japanese restaurant is now closed. I really enjoyed my stay and I would advise people who are not looking for too fancy places (but still very comfortable and clean) to stay there, whether for business or leisure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CricHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel twice now. It's Japanese themed and the rooms are minimalist but clean and comfortable. The beds are futon style so quite low and the mattresses are firm (but comfortable). There is matting on the floor and the hotel provide slippers so that you don't wear outdoor shoes in the bedroom part of your room. Instead of curtains there are Japanese style screens which make the room lovely and light but private. The rooms we have stayed in have had 3 big windows that can be opened properly (which makes a nice change). The bathrooms are quite small but well designed and very clean. There are some toiletries - shampoo, shower gel etc which are replenished each day. The shower is good but it is quite snug and I can imagine that some larger people may find this a problem.
There is a small hanging area with 8 hangers (but you could also fit a few more of your own in), the only storage is a couple of drawers and a couple of shelves - which is why I've not given this 5 stars. There's flat screen TV, clock radio, well stocked fridge (and I didn't think the prices were too bad for a hotel); there's a tea tray with tea, coffee, herbal tea and hot chocolate - this is also replenished every day. The staff are really friendly and their English is excellent. We didn't eat in the restaurant so I can't tell you about that.
The hotel is in an excellent location - close to the number 6 bus stop which takes you into the city centre and just a short walk from the lake. The easiest way to get here from the airport is via the S1 train to the main station in town then the number 6 bus from across the road from the station.
A few doors up from the hotel (turn right out of the front door) is a small but excellently stocked supermarket; a little further on is an area of shops and restaurants/cafes; there are more eateries if you turn left and then left again at the next junction. Loads of places to eat withing 5-10 minutes walk of the hotel. The nearest U-bahn station is about a 10 minute walk.
If there's two or more of you, it's worth buying a daily travel ticket for up to 5 people (costs 9 euro 90) as this gives you travel on most of the U-bahn, the buses and the ferries which run up and down the river. The attraction we would recommend everyone sees is the Miniatur Wunderland - it's absolutely incredible!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back don't have much of a view, but they are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sag53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Floor: 3rd
Staff: very friendly
Hotel: modern, comfortable, clean, friendly, well presented reception
Extremely comfortable bed
Room: clean, flat screen TV, Minibar
Bathroom: en suite bathroom, clean, hair dryer
Dining room: well kept, clean
Breakfast: buffet

Iron & ironing board available on request
Complimentary toiletries available.

Only one thing I would have liked are more screens to cover the windows, but this is minor as overall, the hotel is very well kept and serene hotel.
The aesthetic can easily be appreciated as the basics a comfortably covered. I would most certainly return to the hotel!

Longest stay period – 1 nights

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripMember_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at this Japanese style hotel during a business trip. Having been to Japan previously I loved the rice mat flooring and the entire Japanese decoration.
The hotels own Japanese restaurant has served me with the best Asian food outside Japan.
If you like Japanese traditions this is a must stay location during any visit to Hamburg.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoMatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

I loved this hotel! Having stayed in numerous anonymous 4 and 5 star hotels, this was a little quirky but enjoyable, sparkling clean, super breakfast and the staff are very nice and helpful. I slept like a baby on the futon mattress and love the tatami matting in the rooms. There is no CNN or BBC to disrupt, so I woke early and went for a nice walk around the lovely and elegant residential neighbourhood. In short, its wonderful value for money, and the bonus of a little bit of Japan in the middle of Germany was unforgettable for me. I have reccomended the hotel to friends in Berlin and Paris. Parking--over the weekend we parked in the residental area free of charge. There is a nice supermarket 10 minutes away...next time in Hamburg, I will return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amore888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Uhlenhorst
No photo provided
Boulevard Hotel
#249 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Uhlenhorst
Hotel Alsterblick
Hotel Alsterblick
#159 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Winterhude
No photo provided
Hotel Cristobal
#167 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Uhlenhorst
Eilenau Hotel
Eilenau Hotel
#84 of 318 in Hamburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Hotel Mare
#170 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nippon Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nippon Hotel Hamburg

Property: Nippon Hotel Hamburg
Address: Hofweg 75, 22085 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Uhlenhorst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nippon Hotel Hamburg 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HRS, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nippon Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing