We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so good neighbourhood”
Review of Alte Wache Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alte Wache Hotel
Ranked #149 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have spent just one night in this hotel as I was passing by Hamburg and my biggest complainment would be about location.Perhaps it is close to the main shopping area and main city square but it is also too close to main train station so walking near it was not so pleasant experience.Beside this,hotel is very basic,it offers you parking space,more then a basic room and a decent breakfast,so for one night it was ok after all,but it needs a lot of improvments...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lajty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 105 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

I'm quite surprised this place is getting decent reviews. Really it is worse than my old university room and at €77 euros for a single bed, I think it is very overpriced.

I travel frequently for work and don't mind staying in budget places but I also know what I can get for my money and this was not good value.

I arrived today to check in. The road it is placed on did not feel safe to me and that is saying something because I am normally happy to stay anywhere. However, there were around 30 men just hanging around that street. Knowing that I wanted to walk around the city tonight, I would not have felt safe walking there alone, as a woman.

The reception area was fine, a little 70's style and when I booked in, I was handed the key immediately and told the breakfast time.

When I went to the room, my first reaction was complete disappointment. It really is worse than most basic university accommodation. My room had a single bed, looked out to the car park, was noisy but most of all, it was simply bad value for money. The TV looked 20 years old, as did everything else in the room.

Instead of stay there when I was not happy, I returned to reception and said that I did not like the accommodation and wanted to leave. The receptionist did actually offer me a different room but that was not the point, the point was that overall it was bad value. She called the manager immediately, looked annoyed and passed the phone to me, where the manager said I would not be getting a refund. I said that was ok but I would be leaving as I simply did not want to stay.

Having said all of this, if I had paid €40, I would be happy. €70 however is really pushing it.

Finally, I found a better value room just opposite the train station which is much nicer and only €10 more than that other place so I look forward to a nicer night elsewhere :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irish0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Excellent location and close to the main train station. Short easy walk from the main train stationa and close to the underground. Staff were kind and helpful. Price was reasonable - 70 Eur for the night. Room was clean and spacious - pillows were brilliant - reminded me of home.I will stay there again when travelling to Hamburg. The breakfast was very good - good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Firstly this is a basic 3 star hotel close to the station but a nice and clean one.

Location: 3-4 min easy walk from the train station. One gets out of the station or S-Bah exit from the airport (Block House Restaurant facing you is a simple ref) - on the right where the Museum and ZOB glass building is, 300 yards gets you to the hotel. Quite a few restaurants close by and the train/U/S Bahn proximity is super.

Rooms: smallish but that's Europe - clean lobby, clean corridor, clean rooms. Do take rooms on the higher floor - there is an S/U Bahn line below and one feels the rumbles

Staff: Friendly. My flight came in after 10pm on a day when the Hamburg Marathon had all rooms sold out. This hotel simply mentioned that they have my late arrival nodes and there is no need to give them a credit card that I wanted to give them to be super certain. In typical German organization, they kept the room and no hassles - nice

Breakfast: I usually find hotel breakfasts not worth the price. Here at 8 Euros, it was worth it. A nicely laid out room right next to the lobby serves a good breakfast.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank n s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Last weekend my wife and I visited Alte Wache.It was the second time.

The hotel is a very good 3 star hotel with a cosy lounge including a bar.

The staff at the reception was helpful and nice.

The nearness to the central parts of Hamburg is very positive

The only remarks I will mention is that the computer`s connection with Internet was miserable - I was constantly interrupted

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl Johan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Staff is very nice and always ready to give a help or an info. Free internet at the bar and free wi-fi (through a free registration) in your room. Very "strategic" because buses, trains and u-bahn are just at a couple of minutes of walk. NeXT time, I'll sleep there again!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curiouspukeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I was in Hamburg for two days and needed a hotel close to the Central Railway Station. This part of the city is not the best and looks dirty and a bit dangerous. "Alte Wache" is a happy exception: less than 10 minutes walk to the station the hotel is situated in the street which is much more decent (no sex shops!). You can walk to the Rathaus and the center of the city in 15 minutes.
The room itself is nothing special, though clean and calm. The bathroom is recently renovated and very good.
The stuff was ready to ask all my questions. I would definitely choose this hotel for my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cigalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael
The Rilano Hotel Hamburg
#78 of 321 in Hamburg
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#67 of 321 in Hamburg
1,086 reviews
Bridge Inn Hotel
#227 of 321 in Hamburg
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alte Wache Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alte Wache Hotel

Address: 21-25 Adenauerallee, 20097 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: $114 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alte Wache Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alte Wache Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing