We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A First Rate Hotel”
Review of Baseler Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baseler Hof
Ranked #44 of 323 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a wonderful week's holiday at the Hotel Baseler Hof. The experienced staff were friendly and helpful and most had a good command of the English Language. Our room was comfortable, well designed and quiet.
The breakfast buffet was superb, a wide variety of both hot and cold dishes, all were constantly being replenished by the attentive staff. We also enjoyed two beautifully prepared evening meals in the hotel.
There is free WiFi throughout the hotel
On arrival, you receive a 3-day ticket allowing free travel on all public transport.
This hotel is ideally situated a couple of minutes walk from the Binnenalster in one direction and the Planten un Blomen in the other direction; don't miss the evening water light concert in the park. There is also easy access to public transport though many of Hamburg's major attractions are within fairly easy walking distance. All in all the Hotel Baseler Hof is an ideal hotel for both old and young guests. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 379 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent hotel right in the city of Hamburg within walking distance to the Binnenalster. Friendly and very service-oriented personnell. Price matches the category and service.
Rooms are spacious and furnished with taste. I would highly recommend it

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had double room, the space worth money paid. Hotel is remarkable by its atmosphere, which is historical and based on christian values.
As a smoker i appreciated room size and possibility to refresh air quickly.
Breakfast is rich, and may suit any taste. My oftest unsatisfaction with any hotel is normally breakfast, so for their breakfast i will forgive Baseler Hof even other mistakes, but there were none. Thank you for that three nights feeling myself at home.

Room Tip: I had room on the first floor overlooking the main street. It should be the noisiest one, but i was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our family spend two nights in Hamburg - we could not have been more pleased with the Hotel.
Lots of attention to detail - very friendly, experienced and competent staff - located in the center of Hamburg with great options for a morning or evening run around the Aussenalster or Planten and Bloomen - the Hotel provides for free tickets to use the subway and all buses and even the harbor ferries. They also arranged for discounted tickets to all possible attractions. In our case we visited with our Kids the Miniaturwelt Railway exhibit and could cut our wait very short by having the tickets prearranged and payed at the Hotel. For reasons I can not put my finger on this Hotel feels a bit like one of these well run Family Hotels in southern Germany.
Any case for the money this is a great choice for all those that can do without the design and luxury of the high end signature Hotels - a solid good Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg0A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just got back from a short two night stay at the Baseler Hof, and overall was very happy to have chosen this hotel.

Stayed in a single room, and the room was very small, just a single bed which was enclosed on 3 sides by walls, and certainly not much room to move between the bed and the desk. The bathroom was also small, but cleverly designed to make the best use of the available space. Have experienced far smaller bathrooms in recent years. The room looked out over an inner courtyard, and the only view is therefore of other windows. There are many rooms close to each other and the walls are thin, so you may be disturbed by neighbours. One more negative was that the free wifi was quite slow.

Having said the above, I can also say that the room was very clean and it was functional, maybe starting to look a little dated, but everything works. If you are here on business or pleasure you will not probably spend much time in the room, but I would guess that it would become somewhat claustrophobic if you stay here for more than a couple of nights.

Staff at this hotel were a big plus, always friendly and helpful, especially the guy on reception who checked us in.

Location is great, you are a short walk from the Rathaus, main shopping street and most of the other main attractions in the city are within easy reach. The hotel also provides you with a free travel pass, so you can make use of the excellent Hamburg Public Transportation system.

Would certainly consider staying here again next time I visit Hamburg.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AFCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Located in the heart of Hamburg, walking distance to the rail station, the Messe and shops and restaurants. And yet extremely quiet. Sauna and fitness room,,breakfast buffet satisfying any gusto. Very knowledgeable and friendly staff. Walking distance to the car park, but to drive there they issue you a map. The hotel is in a historical building, but updated with every modern comfort.

In room coffee/tea service, internet etc.

Room Tip: not really a spa, but a very good Finish and Swedish sauna open evenings until 11 PM. Rooms are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My family and I stayed at Baseler Hof for an extended weekend. We were greeted in such a friendly and competent way. Our hotel room was comfortable, quiet and personal, as much as the latter is possible for a hotel room. A shelf filled with a great collection of books for every taste (even my son's), a big, well cared for plant and lots of daylight through windows all around was paradise to me after having slept on airplanes and in two other hotel rooms before.
I can also highly recommend the hotel restaurant. The food was excellent, the service very accommodating, despite four overly tired children. The appetizer buffet had an impressive collection of healthy, tasty food.
The location is ideal. We arrived by train at Dammtor and could walk across the foot bridge to get there (suitcases and all). And then to get to other places via U- or S-Bahn takes just a few steps or a refreshing walk to the destination itself (a walk around the Aussenalster, for example, taking the kids to Planten un Blomen with its spectacular playground, exploring Binnenalster).
At breakfast it can get a bit too busy when there are a few conferences taking place at the hotel, but since that is the only downside I can point to, I'd sum it up by saying:
on my next visit to Hamburg it will sure be the Baseler Hof again.

Room Tip: the top floor suite with porch was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christiane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hotel Alster-Hof
#67 of 323 in Hamburg
311 reviews
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Neustadt
Hanse Clipper Haus
Hanse Clipper Haus
#16 of 323 in Hamburg
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#58 of 323 in Hamburg
435 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#26 of 323 in Hamburg
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baseler Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baseler Hof

Address: Esplanade 11, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#48 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#50 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $102 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baseler Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baseler Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baseler Hof Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing