We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good option for families 20 min walk to city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster
Ranked #49 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good option for families 20 min walk to city centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel with pool a pleasant 20 min walk into city centre. We used this hotel at the end of a short cruise from Southampton, we arrived early at around 11am, the hotel prioritised a room for us over others as we had a 2 year old. They also upgraded us to a club room which was very nice. We used the pool which is nice and I also used the steam room and sauna.


Although a 20 min walk from the main square there is a very nice area of bars, restaurants and shops around a two min walk. We found this area very pleasant and not touristy. We ate at a recommendation from the hotel a local German bier hall, Frau muller, very good value and highly recommended.

Another option to walk into the city centre is via the path along the lake side, a good option for a nice day.


Breakfast was included in the rate and was a.good selection of standard breakfast fare.


Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonewar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Tonewar,

Thank you very much for providing us with your review. We highly appreciate your review because we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction and to fulfill our guest’s needs, wishes, and wants. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg City Alster and we are looking forward to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    454
    202
    38
    15
See reviews for
99
331
76
353
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

This I the third Crowne Plaza hotel my husband and I have stayed in (Malaga, I Spain and Kobe, Japan the others) and now choose Crowne Plaza when we can to feel sure of a very enjoyable experience.

What a great welcome here in this Hamburg hotel to find a corner with a display of some 100 tins of different loose tea choices in the reception area. Already a smile on our faces as we chose a tea to help us unwind before retiring to our room.
Our room so comfortable and well appointed. The bed and linen wonderful. A great touch to find the 'sleep essence' to spray on our pillows.
The reception staff so very pleasant . After spending a time in taxis going to and from the centre, one very helpful young receptionist advised on travel by train. Wished we had spoken to him earlier. A 10 minute walk to Urhlander (or something like that) station meant we could travel around the city at a very reasonable cost and with great ease.
Would like to return to Hamburg to experience this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HertfordshireKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear HertfordshireKatie,

Thank you very much for providing us with your lovely review. We highly appreciate your review because we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction and to fulfill our guest’s needs, wishes, and wants. We are more than glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster and we are looking forward to welcome you again.


Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed 2 nights and had a comfortable stay
Was charged for the wifi
They have a very good selection of leaf teas in the lobby
The location is very good and you can take a walk around the lake and is close to the main railway station and reasonably close to the airport
While checking in was told you are not charged taxes if you are on business

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pragnaIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear pragnalndia

Thank you very much for providing us with your review. We highly appreciate your review because we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction and to fulfill our guest’s needs, wishes, and wants. We are glad that you enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg City Alster and we are looking forward to welcome you again.


Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Although not in the centre of Hamburg, the closest metro is only 500m from the hotel that allow access to the whole city with German precision. I found the hotel clean, well maintained but need modernization overall. As part of business trip, I missed news in English (only one channel - BBC news) - all other channels were German. WiFi was extremely expensive with no "free" option anywhere in the hotel. Staff were very helpful and friendly, breakfast extensive for a European hotel.

Room Tip: I had room 642 - corner room - that overlook the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VlamJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear VlamJohannesburg,

Thank you very much for providing us with your review. We highly appreciate your review because we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction and to fulfill our guest’s needs, wishes, and wants. We are glad that you enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg City Alster and we are looking forward to welcome you again.


Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

While attending the CCH for a week, we elected to stay at the Crown Plaza. Our stay was comfortable, priced well, and the service was really good all around. We generally took a taxi to the CCH for about $8-9 EU each way and walked after hours to pubs, resturants, etc.
Breakfast was busy, but well laid out with a good variety of breakfast choices. The bar was nice and busy as well during the week and the beer, cold. Other than rain all week, our stay was pleasant, quiet and comfortable with great service and smile! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAreg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear JAreg2013,

Thank you very much for providing us with your review. We are more than glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg City Alster and we are looking forward to welcome you again.


Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Location - excellent - walking distance to town, with great food choices in town. Particularly liked the Portugese food (Vasco da Gama), Thai (Thai & Sushi) and Cox (German food).

Groceries - there is a big grocery store, further up the street where, you can quality german stuffs. If u r shopping for german stuff to bring home, shop here. The chocolates r like 30-50% cheaper than at the airport.

Rooms - clean and comfiortable.

Hotel food - limited choices at bfast and lunch. For dinner, u can try the King George is not bad, but u will tire out easily. U r better off walkign down the street the check out the food there.

Room Tip: Try higher floors. My room was at the 2nd floor, facing the car park, so I can hear the buses or lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AhWah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Ahwah,

Thank you very much for providing us with your review. We are more than glad that you enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster and we are looking forward to welcome you again.


Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Located a block off the main street, the Crowne Plaza Hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood. With easy access to the walking and bike paths that can take you to the downtown shopping district, you must walk about a mile for really good shopping and restaurants. Of course taxis are also available, but not cheap.
The hotel is clean and mort of the staff is helpful and courteous. Occasionally, there is a strong attitude leaving you feeling unwelcome.
Be ready to walk to the action and come back tired.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank misteroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear misteroos,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you experienced. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. I want to assure the issues you have raised concerning the service will definitely be addressed and appropriate actions will be taken. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the service we offer to our guests.

Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
ARCOTEL Rubin
#65 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
25hours Hotel Number One
#56 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#17 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster

Property: Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster
Address: Graumannsweg 10, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#40 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#56 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#59 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing