We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster
Ranked #49 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good comfortable stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed 2 nights and had a comfortable stay
Was charged for the wifi
They have a very good selection of leaf teas in the lobby
The location is very good and you can take a walk around the lake and is close to the main railway station and reasonably close to the airport
While checking in was told you are not charged taxes if you are on business

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pragnaIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear pragnalndia

Thank you very much for providing us with your review. We highly appreciate your review because we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction and to fulfill our guest’s needs, wishes, and wants. We are glad that you enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg City Alster and we are looking forward to welcome you again.


Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    454
    203
    38
    15
See reviews for
99
331
76
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Although not in the centre of Hamburg, the closest metro is only 500m from the hotel that allow access to the whole city with German precision. I found the hotel clean, well maintained but need modernization overall. As part of business trip, I missed news in English (only one channel - BBC news) - all other channels were German. WiFi was extremely expensive with no "free" option anywhere in the hotel. Staff were very helpful and friendly, breakfast extensive for a European hotel.

Room Tip: I had room 642 - corner room - that overlook the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VlamJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear VlamJohannesburg,

Thank you very much for providing us with your review. We highly appreciate your review because we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction and to fulfill our guest’s needs, wishes, and wants. We are glad that you enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg City Alster and we are looking forward to welcome you again.


Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

While attending the CCH for a week, we elected to stay at the Crown Plaza. Our stay was comfortable, priced well, and the service was really good all around. We generally took a taxi to the CCH for about $8-9 EU each way and walked after hours to pubs, resturants, etc.
Breakfast was busy, but well laid out with a good variety of breakfast choices. The bar was nice and busy as well during the week and the beer, cold. Other than rain all week, our stay was pleasant, quiet and comfortable with great service and smile! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAreg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear JAreg2013,

Thank you very much for providing us with your review. We are more than glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg City Alster and we are looking forward to welcome you again.


Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Location - excellent - walking distance to town, with great food choices in town. Particularly liked the Portugese food (Vasco da Gama), Thai (Thai & Sushi) and Cox (German food).

Groceries - there is a big grocery store, further up the street where, you can quality german stuffs. If u r shopping for german stuff to bring home, shop here. The chocolates r like 30-50% cheaper than at the airport.

Rooms - clean and comfiortable.

Hotel food - limited choices at bfast and lunch. For dinner, u can try the King George is not bad, but u will tire out easily. U r better off walkign down the street the check out the food there.

Room Tip: Try higher floors. My room was at the 2nd floor, facing the car park, so I can hear the buses or lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AhWah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Ahwah,

Thank you very much for providing us with your review. We are more than glad that you enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster and we are looking forward to welcome you again.


Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Located a block off the main street, the Crowne Plaza Hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood. With easy access to the walking and bike paths that can take you to the downtown shopping district, you must walk about a mile for really good shopping and restaurants. Of course taxis are also available, but not cheap.
The hotel is clean and mort of the staff is helpful and courteous. Occasionally, there is a strong attitude leaving you feeling unwelcome.
Be ready to walk to the action and come back tired.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank misteroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear misteroos,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you experienced. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. I want to assure the issues you have raised concerning the service will definitely be addressed and appropriate actions will be taken. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the service we offer to our guests.

Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blumenau, SC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I was at this hotel for a conference in the city. It was booked by the company but it was a great choice. Very close to the convention center and also to the city center. Very nice walk nearby. The breakfest buffet was amazing and the attendants were very helpful. The parking was a little bit expensive as the entire germany, arround € 20/day.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank FMPENHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear FMPENHA,

Thank you very much for providing us with your review. We are more than glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster and we are looking forward to welcome you again.


Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed here for one night and I enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel is clean, well-equipped, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room, although a bit on the small side, proved to be more than adequate with a fully stocked mini-bar, a good-sized desk, plenty of fluffy pillows, and a really comfortable bed. The hotel also has a small, yet well-maintained, gym and a 10 meter pool. It is a bit of a drive from the airport; however, its proximity to the city centre proved to be very convenient. The only drawback for me was the cost of wifi: €22 per day was a bit too much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deniseacole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear deniseacole

Thank you very much for providing us with your review. We highly appreciate your review because we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction and to fulfill our guest’s needs, wishes, and wants. We are glad that you enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg City Alster and we are looking forward to welcome you again.


Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
ARCOTEL Rubin
#64 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
25hours Hotel Number One
#56 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#17 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster

Property: Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster
Address: Graumannsweg 10, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#40 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#56 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#59 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing