We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster
Ranked #48 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Being a guest with the family, we received a great welcome with very helpful staff. Rooms are big , comfortable and new. The lounge for executives however is rather small and the service could be improved. Bar and restaurants are good with fair pricing.
The location is next to the Alster, but too far away to walk to the city. Here you need public transportation.
After all, it s a good place to stay and can be recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sputzis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Sputzi,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We highly appreciate your review because we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction and to fulfill our guest’s needs, wishes, and wants. Furthermore I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg and I am looking forward to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    458
    204
    38
    15
See reviews for
100
331
76
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Travelled for business for a few nights. The room was spacious and comfy, nicely decorated, they had some nice extras in the bathrooms, and the breakfast was just a blast - a huge selection of anything you might wish for, great quality. Can't talk objectively about the location, since we travelled by taxis everywhere during our stay, but it was a very short ride to the city center.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia_van_Bommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We highly appreciate your review and because of that we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction and to fulfill our guest’s needs, wishes, and wants. Furthermore I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg and I am looking forward to welcome you again.


Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After much debate and looking at alternatives, we decided on the Crowne Plaza Alster. What a great choice. 20-30 mins door to door from the airport on public transport/walking. Conveniently located for the underground (max 10 min walk) and also a short walk to the Alster which will take you into the centre of town via a scenic route. Hotel staff were very helpful and the room was so comfortable and really quiet. Breakfast was plentiful but not fantastic quality and expensive (although if you get the two for one deal, it's much better). We ended up having breakfast out instead, though.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room as they are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madzuko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We highly appreciate your review and because of that we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction and to fulfill our guest’s needs, wishes, and wants. Furthermore I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg and I am looking forward to welcome you again.


Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Every year is a privilege to visit City of Hamburg but most to be in this great hotel when you go on business plan. it is close to the Alster Lake so it has an amazing view from the top floors and if you have a courtesy to visit the Club's Room the view is just amazing and you can even spent the day in the terrace (outdoors)!
My only complain would be that it was completely packed of tourists and staff of hotel could not sometimes reach all the needs of business travelers which is kind of sad because we visit frequently this places forever.
Food is delicious they have this american/european style, they have a swimming pool and a massage site, really relaxing after working days of training and sessions.
The best is that Hamburg has the greatests restaurants and sites to make you feel always excited to visit. The front desk has plenty of experience in recommending you the news so don't miss this hotel experience.

Room Tip: If you ask for the Windows view to garden don't forget to close the Windows to avoid the killin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patyl_1840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We highly appreciate your review and because of that we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction and to fulfill our guest’s needs, wishes, and wants. Furthermore I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg and I am looking forward to welcome you again.


Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The location is pretty good. It's in a residential area so as quiet as the dead and on a '6' bus route which is one of the most convenient. Travel from the airport is on the train S1 to Hauptbahnhof, then bus S6 to the hotel. It's quick. Taxis from the centre of town to the hotel are around Euro 8.50. We couldn't find any cafés or breakfast places near to the hotel so it's either a short bus ride or get the hotel breakfast.

The room was good. We had a club room which was smart and spacious though designed by someone who had not moved on from the 80's/90's. We slept well. I'm an asthmatic with a dust allergy and had no problems. The aircon worked. We found one English speaking channel on the cable selection which was a US news station. There were tea and coffee facilities. and they left us a small complimentary bottle of water (why not two as we are a couple?)

At this time, there is no free wifi in the room. I believe that they're working on it for IHG members on the lower tiers but it's not in yet. For a modern hotel, this is two years too late.

The restaurant is a disaster. If you're offered a free meal, don't take it. Although the restaurant was fully staffed and it was not full, it took us one hour and forty minutes to get a main dish. Although, I'm sure it was all fresh, dishes look like the picture on a ready meal; well presented and constructed but cheaply made. Service was polite but slow and chaotic. We turned down dessert because we just didn't want to waste the whole evening. I would have liked a receipt and change but we gave up waiting.

Front desk also needs a bit of work. It can be a bit frosty at times if you get the wrong person and is geared for the business user. There are some standout staff but others who don't meet international expectations of politeness/friendliness. Management should look at some of the Asian chains and follow their lead.

This is a business hotel, not a cute small hotel for a romantic holiday. On balance, we liked our stay but they need to change a few things if they are to attract the holiday customer.

Room Tip: Go for a club room rather than a standard one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HectorHughMunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear HectorHughMunro,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced. Once again, thank you for your feedback and while we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
499 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

First impressions count, my receptionist was very efficient and welcoming. Her command of
English was excellent even by German standards. The hotel is a good 20 minute walk from
the station but in a very pleasant residential area and close to the big lake. Unlike one other
review I did not consider it dated,the overall ambience is most certain current. Outside landscaping on arrival sets the relaxed atmosphere. The lobby area was very spacious with the lifts opposite the reception desk. There is a central atrium which adds to the light and airy feel. My room on the first floor had all the facilties one would expect and was spotless. The large breakfast room was well supervised on the same level between the atrium and the hotel frontage. I couldn't fault the choice of "English" or traditional continental fayre. I certainly would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: My room faced the frontage and I had no outside noise problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank observer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We highly appreciate your review and because of that we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction and to fulfill our guest’s needs, wishes, and wants. Furthermore I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg and I am looking forward to welcome you again.


Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
312 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Expectations are high when you book a "Crowne Plaza",but except of the name there is nothing royal. This is a standard four star hotel which is a bit outdated in the rooms and bathrooms. We have been granted an update to a club room. Considering it's size I really wonder what the size of a standard room is like.
Nevertheless, it was clean and the service was nice, good breakfast, so nothing to complain.
Best is the location, if you look for a place at the West side of the Alster with walking distance to everywhere, this is your hotel.
Prices are modest considering the location.
So,not good for a romantic experience but worthwhile to stay for business or a weekend...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We highly appreciate your review and because of that we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction and to fulfill our guest’s needs, wishes, and wants. Furthermore I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg and I am looking forward to welcome you again.


Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
ARCOTEL Rubin
#63 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
25hours Hotel Number One
#66 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#18 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster

Property: Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster
Address: Graumannsweg 10, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#40 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#56 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#59 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing