We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, staff and location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster
Ranked #45 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel is an excellent choice when staying in Hamburg. It has a good location close to the Alster and is easy to get to. The staff are friendly and efficient, some have been there for a considerable number of years which to me is an indicator of a well run establishment. The rooms are clean, comfortable with very good bathroom facilities. Food is good and the Bar (pub) is an excellent venue to relax in. Overall very good indeed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alant1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Alant,
Thank you very much for your recent visit at Crowne Plaza Hamburg City Alster. We highly appreciate that you took precious time to let us know that you were satisfied with our overall service performance. Your appreciation has been passed on to our employees and we can assure you that your comments will definitely be an inspiration to our team to continue their efforts.

Best regards
Hannes Dreher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,063)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster is a hotel in the mid range segment. For me the rooms are two small - I stayed there severall times but never got a bigger one. They have Executive Rooms with Lounge Access - nothing to write home about. There service is sometimes good, sometimes bad - one time I was with a trainee and it took about 30 minutes to get the room key. But for Hamburg you can get this hotel sometimes for a good price. But it is not centrally located!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reiseprofi_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Reiseprofi_Wien,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Best regards
Hannes Dreher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel has probably seen better times. Rooms have a good size but the air condition system needs some improvements. Breakfast is good, city center can be reached in 15 along the Alster. There you find a good choice of Restaurants and shops.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Roland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Roland_Ste,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I'm sorry about the issues you encountered with our air conditioning unit. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great hotel. Nice and clean and there is always good prices and offers. A bit away from the City central, but nor so far, that you can't walk. Nice hotelbar, with very friendly staff. It's great value for what you pay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear guest
Thank you very much for your recent visit at Crowne Plaza Hamburg City Alster. We highly appreciate that you took precious time to let us know that you were satisfied with our overall service performance. Your appreciation has been passed on to our employees and we can assure you that your comments will definitely be an inspiration to our team to continue their efforts.
Yours sincerely
Hannes Dreher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed there for one night while and had some problems with the lock on my suitcase. Staff was very helpful to solve the problem. Decent rooms but nothing fancy. I've seen better from the Crowne Plaza network.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rftavares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear rftavares,
Thank you very much for your recent visit at Crowne Plaza Hamburg City Alster. We highly appreciate that you took precious time to let us know that you were satisfied with our overall service performance. Your appreciation has been passed on to our employees and we can assure you that your comments will definitely be an inspiration to our team to continue their efforts.

Best regards
Hannes Dreher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The hotel was decent enough with pretty nice rooms. It is located about a 15-20 minute walk from the train station or 5 minute bus ride. There are no restaurants/stores in the immediate vicinity of the hotel.

My main gripe was that internet was ridicously expensive: €5 per hour or €22 for 24 hours.

A nice touch was that I got a really nice razor when I had forgotten mine at home.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gnopps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear guest
Thank you very much for your suggestions concerning the prices on our internet access. We will think about it and try to change if it is possible.
With kind regards
Hannes Dreher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Very good service, both during booking and durring the stay. Great bathroom, delicious breakfast, great bed, lovely staff. This is a hotel I would like to come back to ;o)
Just have to say, that the price for internet/wifi, is to high :o(

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelCPedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear MicaelCPedersen,
Thank you very much for your recent visit at Crowne Plaza Hamburg City Alster. We highly appreciate that you took precious time to let us know that you were satisfied with our overall service performance. Your appreciation has been passed on to our employees and we can assure you that your comments will definitely be an inspiration to our team to continue their efforts.
Best regards
Hannes Dreher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#16 of 319 in Hamburg
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 319 in Hamburg
1,470 reviews
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#15 of 319 in Hamburg
2,167 reviews
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#21 of 319 in Hamburg
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster

Address: Graumannsweg 10, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#39 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#55 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#59 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $102 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing