We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing breakfast!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Wedina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Wedina
Ranked #74 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a surprisingly lovely hotel, just a five-minute walk from the train station in Hamburg. The rooms are standard European small, but comfortable, with modern and spacious bathrooms. The hotel has a literary theme: They have a history of housing/welcoming authors visiting Hamburg, and in the lobby, they have a signed copy of a book by each author who has stayed in the hotel. The breakfast spread is absolutely amazing - delicious pastries, breads, cheese, yogurt, and I think eggs were available as well if you asked for them. The courtyard garden was a lovely place to enjoy breakfast when the weather was accommodating. And finally, the hotel is just down the street from one of Hamburg's beautiful lakes. There's a bar on one of the docks right near the hotel, and sitting by the lake with a glass of Riesling, watching the sun go down, was perfection. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel with wonderful personality and warmth!

Room Tip: Some rooms on the ground floor open out onto the garden - a few of my colleagues had these rooms, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wedina, General Manager at Hotel Wedina, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your lovely description of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    64
    17
    9
    1
See reviews for
39
83
22
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London (England)
Level Contributor
106 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Less than ten minutes walk from the Hauptbahnhof, and in a quiet street off Lange Reihe - a lively street of cafes and shops with an unobtrusive gay scene.

Very friendly welcoming staff in reception, at breakfast, the cleaners.

The hotel is spread over four houses in the street. This time I stayed in the blue house rather than the red and much preferred my room to the rather tired one I had last time. Aggressively modern décor - some walls are bare plaster, but with a balcony overlooking the garden (I had asked for a quiet room). Quite tight around the sides of the double bed, but big enough. Good lighting. Safe. TV with 20 German-language channels. Welcome gifts of a fruit bowl and bottle of water. The hotel has a literary theme - in my room a selection of books by an Egyptian woman author and quotes from her were up as room decoration.

Effective well-lit bathroom.

Breakfast (in the red house) is what made it for me, worth getting there early enough to have a table overlooking the garden through the big picture windows (or you can eat outside). Breakfast itself is a good quality cold buffet: cereals, fruit salad, breads, cheeses, jams. Serving area is quite small, so there can be queues at peak times.

So, I was glad that I came back a second time.

Room Tip: Different buildings have different styles - so browse the website and tell the hotel which of their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wedina, General Manager at Hotel Wedina, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you, for giving us a second chance ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Great hotel. We stayed in the red house. Excellent breakfast. Rooms were quite small but we were only there one night so that was fine. Great location. Really helpful and nice staff. I'm only giving it a four because of the size of the rooms.

Room Tip: Room 130 had a big window but a lot of bees by the vines so when you open the window, bees come in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, Kent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We only stayed here one night and wish it could have been longer. The staff were very friendly and helpful - we had taken the overnight train from Paris to Hamburg and were able to drop our bags off early in the morning and sit and have a coffee before going out to investigate the area. Excellent location and a very easy walk from the station. The garden is lovely and a restful place to have breakfast etc. The room we had was huge and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

I chose there because of a recommendation. . . and staying there for a long weekend turned out as an excellent choice - the location is perferct, since close to the central station, the Binnenalster and the Kunsthalle, there's a lot of cafes, bars and restaurants in St.Georg's main street Lange Reihe and a lot of small shops, too. Despite the weather it was a pleasant experience and sure, in summer when the backyard garden is open it'll be perfect.
I was travelling on my own and first was disappointed about the room - got impression that once again worst rooms are reserved for single travellers but it turned out to be ok. . . - it was a double room with view into the garden, but is was almost ground floor, ie. on tanding place in the first turn of the stairs, aacing the breakfast room and when the breakfast was prepared in the morning, it didn't go unnoticed. . . - but it was a quite room, not much space though besides for the bed. Thanksfully, the cupboard was in a kind of entrance that had an extra door - unfortunately, there were hardly any shelves in it - just one actually and this was quite high up, plenty of space though for hangers. It was clean and tidy but I got the impression that it was a bit old and quite used - one of the bedsheats was torn and it surprised me that it was 'displayed' so openly. . . - the room service may have noticed hthat too so the next day, it had disappeared, maybe just by having turned it to proper side?! The bathroom was spacious with the shower in the bath tube, white and clean and enough space for toilette items.
Staff are friendly and helpful - at the reception and while serving breakfast - a pleasant athmosphere prevailed and it was great to find a computer / free internet access for guests at the entrance, too.
The breakfast offered a lot of choices of beverages and food and both mornings I was lucky to find a free table in the back of the breakfast room which is a kind of wintergarden facing the terrasse and gardern - there's a couple of newspapers available, too - so breakfast can turn into a brunch easily (however, breakfast is served until 11h).

Room Tip: facing the backyard, preferably upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We were travelling with a teenager so wanted to give them space and privacy. We booked a 'studio triple' on the top floor of the 'Green House'. This was very modern, light, airy and tranquil and perfect for us. Each area of the apartment is on a different level - kitchen, a living room with balcony, a bathroom and a double bedroom so it creates a sense of privacy. Our teenager was on the sofabed in the living room. We love very modern interior design so it was a plus for us to have polished concrete walls and a minimalist design but it you like a more traditional approach this hotel has other houses on the same street which have a different theme and a completely different feel. Just to say we are fit and did not mind having to take the stairs to the top floor. I am not sure there is a lift. As other guests have noted the buffet breakfasts at the Wedina are among the very best you will ever get in a hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a top-floor apartment in the ultra-modern Green House
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zepherine_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

First, the hotel is a 3 minute walk from the Binnenalster, a 5 minute walk from the Hauptbahnhof (Take S1 from the airport; do NOT waste money on a taxi), and is in the St. Georg area which is very bio & eco friendly & therefore a little "bohemian", and judging from the amount of renovation construction happening, is only going to get nicer.

The floor plan of the rooms is wonderful, not just a box -- this (along with favorable reviews) was the major reason we chose Wedina. Our room was in the Blue House had a sleeping loft upstairs and a sitting area, office, and kitchen downstairs. I wake up early and putter, which causes major problems with other family members in traditional single-box rooms; this room was the PERFECT layout for us. The windows are HUGE and can open all the way; ours looked upon several mature trees in a small garden and was very green with lots of birds. In addition to a two-"burner" inductive stovetop and refrigerator, there was a Nespresso coffee machine that made the most excellent coffee, with more pods available at the front desk, for less than they cost in stores (a huge Nespresso store is on Neuwallstraße) .

The breakfasts were delicious, with a wide variety of choices, including pickled herring, smoked trout, four different cheeses, ten different kinds of bread, cherry tomatoes, fresh fruit, jams, honey, corn flakes, muesli (with seven different fruits, nuts, seeds to add to your bowl), yogurt, sliced deli meats, and several different kinds of espresso coffees (macchiatto has the most shots and there is also a simple pot of brewed coffee available for minimalists). The teas are special blends, the Assam is highly reviewed (but is not my cup of tea), but the house green tea and the Earl Gray were superb. Finally, boiled eggs are available, but must be requested, since they don't have any way to keep them warm. If you like a harder egg, let them know, or let it set for a few minutes before breaking the shell.

In the non-food department, Wedina has a beautiful communal garden with tables & chairs (get there early if you want to sit outside for breakfast), many bookshelves with books in several languages, and for all age ranges.

There also a dozen well-maintained bicycles for guest use (Hamburg is a BIG bicycling city). If you are new to Hamburg, when walking, stay off the (usually red) bike lanes (sometimes running near the middle of the sidewalk) and definitely look both ways before crossing one of them -- it may just be me, but I was more concerned with getting whacked by a bicycle than a car. It felt a little like being in the UK, where I had to consciously chant, "look right, then left" when crossing a street.

The only thing that was not perfect about Hotel Wedina was that unless you book a room for a month, the stovetop and cooking utensils are not made available, so remember to bring a corkscrew, (although the front desk will happily loan you anything you need, including cutlery, plates, etc.) This, in addition to no microwave, made it difficult to warm milk for use with the wonderful Nespresso coffee machine.

When we booked we planned to cook some meals in the room to save money, as we had never been to Hamburg and our dining experiences in Brussels and Iceland were brutally expensive. We were very pleasantly surprised to find how relatively inexpensive it is to eat out in Hamburg. There is a great local eatery called "Frau Möller", a 30 second walk from the Red House (go right when you exit). It has a simple menu and the goulash is some of the best i have ever tasted. The locals eat here and it is always busy, which tells you a lot. The Frikadellen mit Spiegelei ü Bratkartoffeln appears to be the most popular meal choice; it will definitely fill you up without breaking the bank.

Although the dollar is weak and the room rate is relatively high, we will definitely be returning to Wedina in the future, to visit our child who is now studying in Hamburg for a year abroad.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zincb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
The George Hotel
#41 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
St. Georg
relexa hotel Bellevue
relexa hotel Bellevue
#89 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#57 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#29 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
St. Georg
Senator Hotel Hamburg
Senator Hotel Hamburg
#98 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wedina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wedina

Property: Hotel Wedina
Address: Gurlittstrasse 23, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#27 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#43 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wedina 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Travelocity, HRS, Priceline, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Wedina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedina Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing