We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a dissapointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael
Ranked #81 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
350 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
“what a dissapointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2006

arriving Hamburg: very busy airport - the jasper shuttle to the mainstation has no luggage compartments, so busses are overcrowded. ride takes approx. 25 mins.
the city: wonderful city, harbour area, speicherstadt (spicemuseum), very large modelrailway exhibition worth seeing and off course Reberbahn (either you love it, or hate it). If you want party, stay in St.Pauli. Hamburg is a very laid back city compared to many other German cities. People are friendly and open.
Hotel: I was not lucky about the room. Shoeboxroom with tiny toilet/showerroom (1 x 1,5 meters) - I think this was smaller than the one in BW Alfa Aeropuerto Barcelona - washbasin at the entrance of the room. Not comfortable and a waiste of money. The hotel is located almost next to the mainstation and the etnic quarter of Hamburg. Service was friendly and efficient. You can hear/feel the metro which runs just under the hotel.
Loved Hamburg - hated the room.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Aeronaut65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    209
    73
    19
    7
See reviews for
26
158
39
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2005

On a frequent business trip to Hamburg I also chose the St Raphael 3 nights based on previous reviews, choosing a standard room and paying via Expedia at 195GBP excl breakfast, with double room preference. The room although clean however was tiny, with a single bed at 1 side and a couch against the other, with little more then 1 m between them. A previous stay at Best Western Hamburg International was twice the size at less then 2/3 the price. Unfortunately being full there was not an opportunity to upgrade.
I would not recommend prepaying a room at St. Raphael.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AKiwiOnOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2005

This is a great little hotel. It is located just a few minutes walk from the bus station which is perfect for those flying with Ryanair to Lubeck and getting the bus into Hamburg. The hotel is clean with nice modern rooms. Staff are very helpful. Nice buffet breakfast and small but ample bar - the 'Captain's Corner'. Also has top floor jacuzzi/sauna etc.
Perfect for exploring the city. You can easily walk down to the Rathausmarkt without too much effort and train stations are littered everywhere with a fast, efficient and cheap service which will take you anywhere you like very quickly.
Harbour/canal tour from Langdusbrucken reccomended. Also visit the Reeberbahn - it is fun.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2005

Based on the previous reviews, we chose this hotel.
Across from the bus station and a 2 minute walk from the train station, it's location proved to be ideal.
We flew into Lubeck airport (50Km north of Hamburg) and got the bus to almost the front door.
The hotel room had been booked as a "Superior Double" and we were very pleased. A bit more space than your average hotel room.
Our room was very clean and had a bath & shower with clean towels daily.
The food in the hotel was good (we took the buffet, a 5 Euro reduction for hotel guests) while the "a la carte" menu looked nice too.
But there are plenty of eating out places within a 5 minute walk.
We walked for miles enjoying the ambience of Hamburg and would not hesitate in recommending it as an ideal destination for a city break.
The German train network is fantastic, cheap to travel and VERY punctual.
So, go on, enjoy Hamburg using the Best Western Hotel St. Raphael as your base.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2005

I went to Hamburg for a 3-day weekend with my boyfriend and booked a hotel room in the Best Western St. Raphael via the Hamburg Tourism webpage. We arrived well before check-in, so couldn't get our room straight away, but the staff were very nice and let us put our luggage in their locked storage room.

When we got our room, it was not the 4* room I expected, although it was still pleasant, clean and nice enough to stay in for a couple of nights. There were sweets left on our pillows every day, a mini bar, TV, decent sized wardrobe. the only thing missing was a safe in the room. I called reception to ask where it was and they were very nice and came up to the room to look for it. However they couldn't find it and only apologised. That was the biggest disappointment in the hotel. The brochure states that a safe is present in each room, so it should be. However I ended up just leaving my important documents in my luggage in the wardrobe.

Bathroom was very small, but extremely clean, with towels changed every day.

Breakfast was included in the price of our rooms, and we had a very nice buffet, with lots of choice. Breakfast was served from 6:30 to 10am on weekdays, which is a very good time, means you don't have to get up too early!

Free internet access was provided near the reception.

I would agree that the underground running under the hotel wasn't too much of a bother, although I could hear and feel it (I was on the 1st floor though). It did not affect my sleep.

Overall a very pleasant stay, the staff were extremely nice and spoke very good English. I would definitely recommend staying here. We paid €192 for a double room for 2 nights, which is about £130. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2005

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. Very good location. Surprisingly quiet at night, despite underground running directly underneath the hotel. You can feel it but not hear it! Friendly staff, lovely room (with a lovely bathroom and cool Blaupunkt car stereo built into the bedside table).
The evening buffet is very good for a hotel and good value. Breakfast is good but not included in room price (at least for us it wasn't).
Very close to the Central Station and shopping areas. Definitely, we would stay here again in Hamburg.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2005

Fab hotel in the perfect location a little away from the night club area but only 5 min cab ride away, Rooms are excellent and very clean with very friendly staff.ask for 5th floor room as they have great views over the city.
Will use this hotel again on my next visit to hamburg.

Helpful?
7 Thank oxforduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
STAY! Hotel Boardinghouse
STAY! Hotel Boardinghouse
#118 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
St. Georg
City House
City House
#105 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
ARCOTEL Rubin
#64 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#57 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael
Address: Adenauerallee 41, 20097 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#62 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#64 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael is a luxury hotel right in the city centre, ideal for a business trip, city break or your family holiday. It is just a short walk to the main shopping district, many local attractions and the main train station. All 112 rooms feature unique and comfortable decor and timeless elegance. Savour a culinary experience in our restaurant. And after a long day, enjoy a drink in our "Captain's Corner" bar, or unwind in our sauna high above Hamburg's rooftops. One conference room with plenty of natural daylight will hold up to 40 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Raphael
Best Western Hamburg
Hamburg Best Western
Best Western Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing