We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a nice traditional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg
Ranked #16 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a nice traditional hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

I spent there 2 nights and liked the traditional style and the good quality of the interieur and the spaces in the whole house, not just in common aeras, but in the room as well.
Only one thing disturbed me a little, the smell of old smoke in the lobby, probably from times when was allowed to smoke. They should do something with this..But anyway, the house and the stuff is great...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivanbacsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    229
    88
    23
    16
See reviews for
170
395
62
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

With its grand facade, pretty lakeside location and five-star price, I expected more from the Atlantic. We were somewhat breathlessly greeted by the young desk clerk, who, on spying our backpacks and realising we had no other luggage, enquired if we'd come by EasyJet. With a flourish, he retrieved our booking and declared that we were to be installed in one of their classic rooms, a euphemism for "bottom of the range". Nonetheless, he was very helpful in pointing out various locations on the map, including all the designer shops (in which we had no interest) and a running route around the lake (which was to be our first activity). We did, at one point, fervently wish he would just stop speaking.

Our room, number 527, was at the end of a series of alleyways on the first floor, tucked away in a corner and overlooking the block of upmarket but empty flats next door, with very noisy road works below. The pillows were lumpy, the bed concave and the wi-fi didn't stretch this far, at least not for either of my two devices. The carpet was stained by a leak in the radiator and the room had a very tired, beige look about it. The cupboard was a wall rack with no door and definitely had room for only one person's belongings.

Disappointingly, the hairdryer only worked intermittently, needing a few minutes to cool down between bursts of activity, which made getting ready for dinner a very lengthy affair. Also, the shower did not drain very well, which meant the second person in the shower had to stand in an an inch or two of tepid water.

While very well-located in relation to the train station and the city centre, with some good outdoor eating and sundowner options at the lake side across the road and around the corner, the Atlantic fell far short of the expectations conjured up by its majestic reception area and pillared external facade. Given that we had not come to Hamburg to spend all day in our hotel room, its faults were tolerable. Nonetheless, for the price we paid we should at least have been able to get a working hairdryer and a draining shower. I'm certain your can get better value for money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid 527 or keep the windows shut, otherwise it is very very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ichikawa, Japan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

I stayed 3 nights. It is located near Alster lake of Hamburg and also close to the center of the city. I love room services in the morning because breads and coffee are great. I recommend you should stay for the business.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihitihit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Park, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

I would come back to Germany just for this hotel. I would come back to Hamburg for it. I absolutely fell in love with this hotel. I would only want to stay here. Its perfect.
I loved the location. It was right by the water(across the street) and it was perfect for reading. They had everything. It was a few minutes from Hamburg HBF the city center with ICE trains, the Bahn, and buses. It had a mall in it as well. It was perfect. There were amazing restaurants surrounding the entire area. I couldn't have been happier. There is so much to say about how much I love this place. Walking down the hallways and seeing everything they had on display made me feel like I was walking down a mini museum and I have to say that is my favorite. It made me feel at home and wanting to explore the hotel. It was just so perfect and Im really upset I had to leave. The staff are so nice and polite and generous they were. They are so lucky. I wouldn't mind working or living there. Its filled with history and comfort. I don't know what else I could say that wouldn't be repetitive and redundant. Just stay here. Plan your get away around this hotel. You won't regret it all, it is worth every penny and then some.

Room Tip: Every room is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeccaKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

A Traditional, friendly, Top Class hotel in a great location.
We really liked this hotel, the room was very spacious, we had a two bedroom junior suite facing the courtyard. VERY QUIET which is great for me. large comfortable bed, excellent shower, The staff were excellent, all multi lingual, professional and cool!
Great bar and inner courtyard, although I like to try different hotels, this will take some beating and I cannot wait to go back!
Danke!!!

Room Tip: Inner room facing the courtyard is really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Belgium
Level Contributor
579 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel is first class all around. The staff was so accommodating and it felt as though they were anticipating our needs. Small but well appointed room with a great shower and separate spa tub. Our son loved the turn down service for his stuffed animals. Great location close to everything

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zosia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel is in a great location overlooking the Alster river which gives you beautiful views from the rooms. The staff was wonderful and accommodating and it's located within walking distance from downtown Hamburg. Hope to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Alster
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler2773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#29 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Rotherbaum
Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg

Property: Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg
Address: An der Alster 72 - 79, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#9 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimate standard in service and comfort. For most demanding travellers, a first-class standard in living comfort is just as important as a perfect individual service. This is what the Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg stands for. For more than 105 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Atlantic Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Kempinski Atlantic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing