We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg
Ranked #16 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed here just for one night before catching an early train to the airport but wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel is magnificent, from the enormous reception/ lobby area to our wonderful room. We didn't have a room with a view as we were on a deal but the location is right by the lake and a pleasant walk there. Easy walking to everywhere in central Hamburg too.
Stay here if you get the opportunity, it is wonderful.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a lake view but I'm sure all rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    230
    88
    23
    17
See reviews for
170
395
62
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

I am fully satisfied with the stay at the hotel. I especially liked the space inside the hotel and the high ceilings in the room. I couldn't hear any neighbors, which was fantastic!
When you enter the hotel, you can hear wonderful piano music playing, that's just so welcoming and relaxing. The staff is smiling, easy-going and service-minded.
We used the swimming pool twice, it was great too! We will definitely come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natashaairlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel twice a few years apart. The grandeur and splendor of this hotel is mind-blowing! Every room is luxurious with plush beds, high ceilings and unbelievable views. It is close to everything you may need to see in Hamburg, plus it was in a Bond movie (Tomorrow Never Dies)! The best part of the hotel is the concierge named Zahn. I hope he is still working there because a more jolly, helpful man does not exist. If he's on his shift, go see him and bring him some chocolates from the Paulsen chocolate shop. We have found deals online for rooms, but you may have to look pretty hard. Do not miss the opportunity to stay here!

Room Tip: I don't know if you can go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shumagorath86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

It is a nice easy 5-minute walk to the bussy section of downtown by the lake and the inner harbor, great views. One feels special in tho special hotel. The service was superb and without any fault. I will return.

Room Tip: Truly feels like a grande dame of hotels, yet still modern and very updated. I loved it!! It was ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JONVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights for our first trip to Hamburg.

The hotel was truly beautiful. Superb decor and a wonderful refurbishment. The staff were great and we were upgraded to a huge suite, overlooking the lake. A lovely touch. The bed was a dream!!

The bar and drinking lounge were very classy. Lovely piano player playing Christmas classics, great cocktails and bar snacks.

Location was good and it was easy to walk from the main station.

We didnt have breakfast so cant comment on that.

Overall we loved it and would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DT_10London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as a family for a quick weekend getaway, and had a great time. The hotel was a relatively short walk from the main train station. Check in was very smooth, and our luggage was delivered straight away.

Since we travelled with our 6 year old child, we booked the larger room. After the recent renovation, we were very pleased with the furnishings and amenities. The room was spacious, with a bed, chairs, and table, in addition to a wall unit with closet space. The bathroom was also large, with separate areas for the shower and tub. Everything was luxurious and in perfect condition. Toiletries were plentiful and wonderful to use.

Wifi was provided, with a slower service for free, and a high speed service for a fee. We only used the free service, and found it sufficient for checking email and the like, not for uploading pictures or watching videos.

Our room rate had breakfast included, which was served in the restaurant downstairs. A buffet with a wide variety of food and beverages was on display, with hot items prepared on demand from the kitchen. The quality of food was outstanding, and we were even provided with a small mixed juice from the kitchen when we arrived.

We used the indoor pool and sauna in the afternoon, which was a lot of fun. The pool was larger than the normal lap pool. It was too deep for our child to stand, but was still good for swimming with supervision. The sauna is a shared one for men and women in between the 2 locker rooms, and was a good way to unwind. We also saw people using a tanning booth, although we didn't try.

The concierge was extremely friendly and helpful. He gave great advice about visiting Miniatur Wonderland, and sold us tickets so we could bypass any queues.

The only issue we encountered with the hotel, which was nicely resolved, was arranging a rollaway for our child. When we emailed the hotel to inquire about whether we needed a rollaway, we were quoted EUR 60 per night, which seems exorbitant given we were already paying a very high fee for our room. We elected to skip that and share the bed (not ideal, but possible). When we complained about the fee at check in, we were told that EUR 60 is correct, but then a bed was arranged at no fee for our room. We are happy the hotel decided to show mercy.

We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend as a luxurious, comfortable, beautiful hotel experience. Note we also were able to walk to the old town area relatively easily, and the hotel is on a lake, so is great for summer scenery and a jogging course.

Also, we noted other reviews commenting on the noise level in the hotel. We stayed in a room in the elevator lobby area, and literally didn't hear a sound both nights. So room location seems to be a factor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tangek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

arrived 13.12.2013, planned to check out 16.12.2013, but left 24 hours earlier. Reason? we had a room at the back of the hotel on the 2nd floor and overlooking the backyard where the party rooms are located. We experienced 2 nights of very very loud wedding parties. This last till 3 o,çlock in the night. Despite earstoppers we were kept awake. We complainted at the desk in the middle of the night. 1000 apologies received. We checked out 24 hours earlier and were compensated generously with more apologies. So, planning to stay there? book front (lake) side of the hotel. hotel is superb, very beautiful. very friendly staff. excellent restaurant. everything you should expect from a 5 star hotel. but the hotel must realise that the inconvenience for the guests from the party rooms does not belong to a hotel with this standard. you should take this into consideration before you book. only book the lake side.

Room Tip: Never book at the back side of the hotel. Absolutely only at the lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h-haaima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#29 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Rotherbaum
Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg

Property: Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg
Address: An der Alster 72 - 79, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#9 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimate standard in service and comfort. For most demanding travellers, a first-class standard in living comfort is just as important as a perfect individual service. This is what the Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg stands for. For more than 105 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Atlantic Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Kempinski Atlantic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing