We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect Hotel, love the lobby” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg
Ranked #14 of 320 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel, love the lobby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

When i travel for business to Hamburg I always like to stay here. It is perfect located in Hamburg near the lake, easy drive from the airport and taxi always in front of the door. The price quality in this hotel is very nice and rooms are amazing. As a blackmember of the group been upgraded stayed for two nights in a junior suite. Maybe some other hotels are slightly better located (for shops) but I like the lobby and the very nice breakfast here. Would come again and again...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    216
    83
    20
    14
See reviews for
154
380
60
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel in good location with very good breakfast and friendly staff.
The room was smelly and the our view was on a noisy construction area a few meters from our window. The room itselfe was already expensive but a parking fee of 30 Euros is even in Hamburg extortion. But what bothered me the most the mattress springs that drilled in my back the whole night. The mattress appeared to be new from outside but the inner life seemed to be a few centuries old.

Room Tip: If you really want to get something for your money I can recommend the "Le Meridien". Its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuela x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for four nights in May. The Superior Room we had booked was really nice (450), spacious and light, and the bathroom was great. Everything was superbly clean and quality. The location is nice because of the Alster across the street (enjoy a beer at one of the restaurants on the water), but a bit far from the shopping areas if you have a problem with walking. We don't and loved the stroll along the shore of the Alster.
We had not booked breakfast but ate at different bakeries close by (which I love).
The Atrium at the Atlantic is nice for a cup of coffee but offers no view.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golden butterflyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great hotel, great staff, great breakfast. Everything superb except the spa which was a little bit disappointing, the sauna & shower in need of restauration.

I really recommend this hotel for people who need to be spoiled once in a while.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MedelSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I had invited my family to an opera weekend in Hamburg and we stayed on this magnificent hotel with juniorsuites with beutiful views to the Alstern lake. Welcome at the room with strawberries and vine and the wonderful book about the hotels 100 years as a hotel for kings and imperors. When we came home after midnight from the opera the bar serviced us with some light dishes and vine and the most elegant service in the lounge area. Next morning we arrived a half hour before the end of breakfast. The restaurant was buzzie for the Fishmarket Brunch a very well known event in Hamburg. The professional staff said we were welcome to stay in the restaurant, but they think we would have more time and it was more relaxed to be served in the bar lounge, and they made a wonderfull breakfast table with many different specialities and two waiters for serving us 3 persons. Now I have stayed twice on this fabouleus hotel and I will come again it is an institution in Hamburg and in my mind for luxury.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner junior suite with view to the Alstern Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hansjoergen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Though not exactly a youngster myself, I felt by far too young for this old fashioned and stiff hotel.
Apparently the hotel only re-opened fairly recently, re-gaining their 5 stars. I wonder why they insisted to decorate everything in these dreary dark colours, dark brown and dark purple in poorly lit (no proper reading light!!!) large rooms. I thought this to be a very pompous and depressing atmosphere (not even bumping into Udo Lindenberg could lift my spirits).
Staff (particularly in breakfast room) was very kind and attentive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaupelei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

I was able to check in early after arriving from the train station. The hotel is just a short walk from there. The doormen and front desk attendents greeted us with warmth and professionalism. My room was large with gorgeous fabrics and the necessary amenities. The bath was luxurious with a separate tub and shower and two sinks. I enjoyed a drink or two in the spacious bar/lounge. The singing pianist was enjoyable, if not the most upbeat. My only concern during my stay was with the slow shower drain.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 320 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#27 of 320 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#4 of 320 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#30 of 320 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg

Property: Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg
Address: An der Alster 72 - 79, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#6 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#9 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimate standard in service and comfort. For most demanding travellers, a first-class standard in living comfort is just as important as a perfect individual service. This is what the Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg stands for. For more than 105 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Atlantic Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Kempinski Atlantic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing