We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy in Hamburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Ranked #48 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed March 27, 2010

Stayed three nights Tue to Fri for a leisure break. I have worked in the suburbs of Hamburg and this time wanted to show my wife the city center so took some time via TA in selecting a nice well-located hotel (room only) and we were not disappointed. I asked for and got a quiet room (105) and whilst the £/Euro rate means nothing is cheap these days in Germany I felt we got a fair deal. There are plenty of nearby coffee shops for breakfast although you need to go a little further afield for anything other than pizza or steak in the evening. Pleasant staff, smart room and ideal location just about sums it up. The acid test is would we go to this hotel again and the answer is a definite yes.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InvictaHerneBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2009

I chose this hotel because they have rooms with 2 double beds, a rarity in Europe, they have a pool/sauna/exercise room and because I like earning Marriot Rewards. The location was great for shopping and cruising the Christmas Markets. The staff was excellent. Unfortunately, the beds were incredibly uncomfortable. One was way too hard and the other had a big dip in the middle. The room furnishings were very dated - no flat screen in our room. The bathroom had a cracked sink, missing grout/possible mold. The shampoo, etc. were no where near what I usually find at a Marriott. Luckily, I checked the bill before we left - it was VERY incorrect. On a positive note, the staff was excellent.

If you stay here, checkout Ristorante Ponti - an Italian place around the corner. It was excellent and not at all overpriced.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoStoppinUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Room was spacious and very quiet and very clean
enjoyed the indoor pool
hotel bar and restaurant needed more wait staff (it was very busy there) but sandwiches were excellent
I liked the location for sightseeing
we really liked Hamburg - beautiful town - great place to walk

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jerrytomsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

The locaton of this Hotel was perfect if you wanted to shop and do all other tourist activities. The rooms were large and the beds were extremely comfortable. The staff that we had there was very accomodating in both languages. The hospitality and amenities are very comparable to what you find in fine hotels here in the US, a comfort to those who were not use accustom to the German/European style of hotels. For me, the bed were a big seller! Big beds for a big guy!

Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
1  Thank TateB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Stayed here with a couple of mates for the Oasis gig, we probably looked a little out of place in the cocktail bar with our City shirts on - but no-one complained (as far as we know...)
Located in what seemed to be an upmarket business/shopping area, short taxi rides to find places to eat/drink.
Really decent hotel, the pool/sauna/spa was good for clearing the heads in the morning.
Great service: reception knew a taxi driver who was happy to drive us to Lubeck airport at about 150mph when we woke up late for our flight, and were equally happy to send our forgotten camera and sunglasses back to the UK via airmail. Great trip.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy_T5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Good centrally located hotel, with friendly staff, though room was initially tricky to find in the maze of corridors. Our room was spacious with a large king bed and typical Marriott furnishings, with an average sized bathroom though the power shower was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SolCutter267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Location of the Marriott Hamburg is very convenient in a posh shopping area. Many attractions of Hamburg can be reached by foot, also good access to public transport.

Rooms:
Old-school Marriott style, not very new, but absolutely OK. Room size is very good. A/C is efficient. Little noise from neighbours although hotel was fully booked.

Did not test the breakfast as there were many cheaper choices in close proximity. Hotel bar is nice and also offers good food for an absolutely reasonable price (drinks however are expensive), therefore I assume the restaurant is good as well.

Staff was nice - no reasons to complain.

This is not a trendy modern place, but a decent Marriott. If you want to stay at this particular chain, the Renaissance is very close and more stylish but does not offer a lounge. All in all not the best Marriott, but a safe bet.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHH_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#34 of 321 in Hamburg
794 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Le Meridien Hamburg
#32 of 321 in Hamburg
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 321 in Hamburg
2,515 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamburg Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamburg Marriott Hotel

Address: ABC-Str. 52, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#36 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#40 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#63 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $151 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hamburg Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hamburg Marriott Hotel is located in the heart of a charming seaport, making us a popular downtown Hamburg Germany hotel. Our central Hamburg hotel is near famous attractions, cultural landmarks, prestigious businesses, and electric nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hamburg Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hamburg
Hamburg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing