We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for a city break.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Ranked #45 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here for a three night city break in August. We flew into Hamburg airport and got the Metro to the hotel without any bother - it is only a short walk from a couple of Metro stations, but we found Jungfernstieg was the most convenient. The hotel is very central and an ideal base for exploring the city.

Check in was a little slow and confused, but I think that was down to staff inexperience, as they all spoke perfect English. We had a nice room on one of the upper floors, one floor below the concierge lounge. The room was clean, quiet and well appointed and the TV had a couple of English language new channels.

The concierge lounge was very good with an excellent selection of comp drinks and snacks during the evening - including a very acceptable sparkling wine. The staff were not the most engaging, in fact few of them spoke to the guests much at all, but they were excellent at keeping the food and drink topped up - both during the evening and at breakfast. They were also very quick and efficient when it came to clearing tables. There is something of a Brit ex-pat club in the lounge - people who are clearly long term residents working nearby - they are quick to offer advice and guidance about local restaurants, sight seeing etc. This more than makes up for the non-engagement of the lounge staff.

The leisure club is very nice - there is a fair sized pool, but no spa or steam room and the saunas are single sex ones in the changing rooms.

Our one downside was that we went during the school holidays and the lounge and corridors echo to the sounds of hyper children apparently full of sugar boosts, making the most of their holidays - this is only a minor point and didn't affect us too much.

Check out was also a little slow but that wouldn't stop us from staying at the hotel again if we returned to Hamburg.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick_Harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

We did felt there very comfortable at this Mariott Hotel in Hamburg, due its high class and professional Service. My Stay ther was for 2 Nights. My Room had a usual size and was pretty cosy outfitted. Very clean and good Bathroom too. On both Evening i went together with some Businessfriends into their nice Restaurant and there was a good Service given to the Guests. Much Choices at the Breakfastbuffet too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freshbluewaterbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This is the standard of hotel that you expect from Marriott. Very clean. Efficient staff. Reasonable value. It has a great location. Walking distance to the lake and the lovely designer shops and City Hall. Easy to use the tube which is a 5 minute walk away. Rooms are very standard. Beds are a bit hard and not as comfortable as the old marriott beds. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Will stay here again if we go back. Marriott breakfast is 28 euros. If you walk to the lake ( 5 mins) go to the main building on the promenade called Alex. They do a buffet breakfast until 11 which is only 8 euros per person and the restaurant has lovely views. This buffet breakfast includes bacon eggs and sausages. Do consider this hotel as it has a lovely pool and is great for a city break.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMM1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here earlier this week on business. Couldn't be any more in the centre so location wise it's perfect. Room was large. Nice desk and chair. King size bed. Nice bathroom. All clean and tidy with a safe and a fridge in the room. No mini bar. They have a self service shop for snacked and drinks in reception.
Down side. Restaurant was extremely expensive. That bad I didn't see anyone eat there at all during my stay. Room service menu was just as bad.
Wifi was 20 euros for 24 hours. In this day and age can't believe it wasn't free. And that's per device. So if u have a laptop. iPad and iPhone. It's 60 pound!
And I couldn't believe when I checked out it was 220 euros a night. Luckily work was paying as I wouldn't pay that myself that's for sure.
If work are paying- then it's a great hotel.
If you're paying, maybe worth finding a deal else where.
Can't knock the hotel. Just the cost.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulLondonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Marriot in Hamburg is in an excellent area of the central district. We really enjoyed our three night stay, plenty of restaurants to choose from near by, the suite we stayed in was a good size, clean and comfortable. It was lovely to use the pool, which is a good size. The staff are extremely efficient from housekeeping to front desk staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had been for few Days in Hamburg and it was very nice Trip there. We like this Mariott Hotel in Hamburg. There was a real and friendly Guestservice. We enjoyed our short Trip there and also our Friends, who have been there too, did say, that it is a good Hotel. Standard Room was cosy and all was clean. Bathroom fully good. There was Breakfast buffet with good things and a tasty Choice of hot Beverages too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthWestBean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights here with glorious weather to boot. Hotel staff are adequately efficient and the rooms are typically Marriottesque. Many charming shops, designer boutiques and art galleries dot the ABC strasse which make interesting window peeking whilst walking down the street. The huge twin marble rock installation in front of the hotel looks like a piece of stonehenge with a fountain running through it. The pool is small and the parking rates are exorbitant. The hotel recommended a great pizza place opposite the Hamburg State Opera which was fantastic and Gansemarkt is quirky. A boat ride on the Alster is highly recommended and dont miss the ice-cream stand opposite the Nivea building.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#33 of 321 in Hamburg
798 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Le Meridien Hamburg
#32 of 321 in Hamburg
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 321 in Hamburg
2,560 reviews
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamburg Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamburg Marriott Hotel

Address: ABC-Str. 52, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#36 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#37 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#63 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $150 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hamburg Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hamburg Marriott Hotel is located in the heart of a charming seaport, making us a popular downtown Hamburg Germany hotel. Our central Hamburg hotel is near famous attractions, cultural landmarks, prestigious businesses, and electric nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hamburg Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hamburg
Hamburg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing