We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location, Good Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Ranked #50 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in MArriot. I usually prefer Steigenberger in Hamburg but due to the high rates during my visit last time I had to change to Marriot and satisfied generally.

The location is not the best it can be. The Neuer Wall or Jungfernstieg is more convenient but Marriot's Gansemark only adds 5 minutes additional walking to you day.

The staff is very very friendly. The checkin took only a minute. The rooms are a bit outdated but very comfortable. The beds are one of the best it can be.
The inroom breakfast was always on time and delicious.

The only con was the minibar which is totally empty. You need to purchase buy the snacks and drinks from the refrigerator and pay to the front desk. I dont know if this is the same in other Marriot's but it is totally not ok for a Marriot level.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meetjoeblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,098)
There are newer reviews for Hamburg Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed for three weeks now. Breakfast is good (always same choice, but quite complete continental choice). Rooms are clean and spacious (a bit old-fashioned style, but doing job fine). What I have found annoying with this hotel is the NOISE. Sometimes two customer speaking loud in the corridor late at night (probably after a couple drinks too much for a working day). Also, if the person in the room next door is snoring quite loud, you can hear it all (it has been my case for 3 nighs - and today the cleanign staff had trashed one of my earplugs, so I was charged 1euro at the counter for a pair of swimming pool ones that evidently don´t work as nice!)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alpha79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited Hamburg early December for the Christmas Market and selected the Marriott purely for location. The hotel is situated in an ideal position for each market and is surrounded by restaurants and bars. The hotel itself is excellent value for money, the rooms are very spacious and clean, hotel offers a nice menu and good snack selection, evening atmosphere in the bar is very good, would certainly recommend it for a night cap... will re-visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWSRWR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is located really close to everything you need, shopping, sightseeing and restaurants. The hotel bar is nice and tapa is good and not expensive. The pool in nice and children are allowed to play in it - so if you expect a quiet hour in or next to the pool, visit the pool early or late or outsite vacations and weekends.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank kritnage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a medium sized property centrally located in Hamburg, a few steps off the Gaensemarkt and 2-3 blocks to the Jungfernstieg and the best shopping Hamburg has to offer.

Rooms are well appointed, clean and quiet. My preference is a room facing the street, ideally on a higher floor (there are no more than 8 stories in the building). You could also be assigned a room facing the courtyard. I've never stayed in one but I would imagine they get a little less light but could be more private than the ones facing the street.

The hotel has recently added a small pantry like store at the lobby level, which replaced the mini bars in each room. A practical concept, even if a bit out of place in the lobby.

There is a restaurant in the lobby level which serves decent fare. The spa is small but very nice.

Only drawback is the size of the Executive Room for Marriott Elite members. It's a very small space that seems to be always crowded. The food spread appears to be ok, it's just that there's no room to enjoy it. The same thing happened during my two last stays, so I'm starting to think it's an endemic issue that needs to be dealt with by hotel management.

Other than that, a great property in a good location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed there on 16th December on our way to Westerland. This is your typical Bussiness Hotel at a good location, center of the City. Few minutes walk to shopping and business disctricts. Rooms are clean but no amenities, even no drinking water. Reception was attentive but concierge was not helpfull. They were not interested my enquiry about getting train tickets to Westerland. "You better go to main station to buy your tickets" attitude(!)

Piano Bar at the enterence is cosy and popular.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savas-Unsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We enjoyed a short city break,hotel was well located and the family room had alot of space.We didnt opt for breakfast at the hotel as it seemed very overpriced and also ate out for dinner mainly again due to price of the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamAdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#34 of 319 in Hamburg
772 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 319 in Hamburg
2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#16 of 319 in Hamburg
1,573 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#28 of 319 in Hamburg
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamburg Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamburg Marriott Hotel

Address: ABC-Str. 52, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#36 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#40 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#62 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $184 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hamburg Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hamburg Marriott Hotel is located in the heart of a charming seaport, making us a popular downtown Hamburg Germany hotel. Our central Hamburg hotel is near famous attractions, cultural landmarks, prestigious businesses, and electric nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamburg Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hamburg
Hamburg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing