We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Ranked #50 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel location is next to the river side , very comfortable , good for families visiting Hamburg. The staff is very polite and helpful. Overall value for money and try the Indian restaurant in the back yard.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hasan1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,098)
There are newer reviews for Hamburg Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

I went to Hamburg with my brothers family for a summer city trip. I selected the Marriott Hotel for as, because of the Hotels standard (4*) and location.
The Hotel is just a short walk (150m / 3min.) from the U-Bahn station "Gänsemarkt" on a quiet side street.
During summer you may find some very good deals with some Hotel brokers. I had a Deluxe single with a kingsize bed incl. breakfast @ €108.- p.Night and my brothers family 2 adults and 2 kids 8 & 11 shared a Deluxe double with 2 double beds also incl. breakfast for all of them (Kids under 12 in the same room get free breakfast) @ €122.- p.Night!
The kids did also love the possibility of using the indoor pool in the basement spa.
The breakfast buffet had a wide range of cold and hot items (fruits, yoghurt, bread, cold cuts, juice and a hot buffet ) as well as a station for fresh prepared egg dishes.
There is no free Internet or Wifi in the Hotel, but you can do a free online flight check-in and Boarding Pass print at the Business Center.

Room Tip: Rooms with even numbers face the courtyard the odd numbers go along the front of the building with m...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was my 3rd stay at the Hamburg Marriott and it ws excellent as always. The rooms clean, the service outstanding, and the staff friendly. The downtown location is great for getting out, walking around,and seeing the town. I look forward to staying there again next time I am in Hamburg.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Having grown up in Hamburg I once in a while return and stay at a hotel. And wow ... the city has changed the last 25 years. The area where the hotel is always has been very central in walking distance to the "Alster", Opera and main shopping areas. But the road was not one of those you one would have wanted to pass alone at night at that time. Complete change ... modern, buildings, renovated or wramped up, cosy, great shops around.

The hotel is modern and inviting, every staff member will greet you with a smile, ask if they can help. Lobby is inviting, the restaurant/bar offers some straight forward snacks - but with style. The room was well equipped and spacious, have seen for the first time "no minibar" in the room. At check in staff does mention and refer to the vending machine next to reception. Not sure this is a great idea.

Parking is available, but a public one offering direct access to the hotel. Charges of 28 Euro a day is an impressive lot. As the room rate generally seems to excludes breakfast a night will not turn as cheap as one might think at the end. But if you walk around the corner, you'll find some bakeries that might not offer a rich buffet breakfast - but "breakfast basics" that serves my needs well.

Overall I would summarise: Great place to stay, would return do recommend. Just be aware of your budget.

Room Tip: Think all rooms are equally quiet as the hotel is off any mainroad.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Torsten_Kr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this property over a weekend getaway. It is a very nice property, however we had some problems during the stay that made us rate our experience as only "average".

Good things up front: the hotel was clean and comfortable. Nice lounge, restaurant, pool/spa, comfortable beds, nice shower. The staff was friendly and professional. Despite a heavy tourist crowd, the front desk staff maintained classic German efficiency.

Bad: The rate I paid for the size of the room was very expensive. Nice room, but not that nice (250 Euro on Friday and 350 Euro on Saturday). Parking fee was not included.

We did not have the do-not-disturb sign on the door when we left, however the room had not been cleaned. A pre-printed note about not disturbing our privacy was under the door. We saw several other rooms with the same note under the door as we walked down the hallway, and assumed (perhaps) the housekeeper on the 5th floor may not have been as conscientious as he should have been.

Also, since Executive Lounge was being refurbished, a conference room on the 6th floor was used instead. The staff in the lounge was superb. The amenities were okay (what was left of them...more on this in a moment.) The problem was the door was open to the public, and it was incredibly crowded the whole time we were there. On the first night the lounge was completely out of food well before closing time. On the second night, there were folks piling their plates so high, you'd think they were stocking up for a hurricane. The breakfast experience was like trying to get into a fest tent in Munich during Oktoberfest. I'm sorry to sound like an elitist, but I spend lots of time in Marriott properties and expect the lounge to be exclusive (because I pay for it); however we found out many guests were not Marriott Rewards members. Not much to do about that except laugh it off.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Modern, efficient hotel in a great location.

The lobby is nice and inviting. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. the children thoroughly enjoyed the pool. We did not have breakfast there as we chose the Starbucks a block away (20 euros for 4 instead of 20 Euros per person).

Check in was speedy friendly and efficent, check out was similarly pleasant.

Hop on Hop off bus also stops right in front if you want to go out and take a tour of the town.

During the summer, they have a Summer in Hamburg at the plaza around the corner, they set up a little pool area (maybe a foot deep) with some sand and chairs. There are also multiple food vendors ranging from crepes to champagne. Very fun!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wandering-from-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Really enjoyed my recent stay here. OK, it's a Marriott -- but in a good way! Very high standards of accommodation, excellent restaurant and superb staff. Stayed on the club level. Club breakfast was substantial -- many cold items and several hot ones as well. The hotels's restaurant served very nice snacks (tapas style) and excellent dinner. The hotel bar / lounge opened onto a most inviting terrace (I believe meals could be taken there as well). Staff was excellent in providing information such as where to find free wi-fi (Starbucks, just down the block), SIM card (Vodafone, just around the corner), movie listings, etc.

Location is also excellent. Took the train from the airport to Gansemarkt U-Bahn (need to change from S-Bahn to U-bahn along the way, but no hassle). The hotel is practically across the street from this station (though tucked quietly away from the main street). S-Bahn/U-Bahn Jungfernstieg is slighly farther away but very convenient.

A most positive stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAStein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#34 of 319 in Hamburg
773 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 319 in Hamburg
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#16 of 319 in Hamburg
1,575 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#30 of 319 in Hamburg
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamburg Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamburg Marriott Hotel

Address: ABC-Str. 52, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#36 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#40 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#62 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $183 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hamburg Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hamburg Marriott Hotel is located in the heart of a charming seaport, making us a popular downtown Hamburg Germany hotel. Our central Hamburg hotel is near famous attractions, cultural landmarks, prestigious businesses, and electric nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamburg Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hamburg
Hamburg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing