We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Ranked #35 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Nice room with a big, comfortable bed. Easy access to public transport. The front door is sort of hidden among several stores and cafes, had to search a bit to find it. Breakfast and internet weren't included and were very expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 794 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

A bit run down rooms, with the limited amenities. Internet is an issue, as you are asked to pay until it is discovered that internet is included in the rate.
Over all - not my favorite for the next time.

Room Tip: First of all - make sure internet is included in the arte. Otherwise - 12.50 EUR per device. But ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darek_Wohun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottHotelHH, Director of Operations at Renaissance Hamburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experience with the Renaissance Hamburg Hotel.

You indicated in your response that the hotel is a bit old and internet is an issue. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. Renaissance Hotel will undergo a big renovation thus answering all your concern regarding the building. We know that our internet is not for free but we do provide a free computer with access to the internet at our business center.

We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

Again we thank you for your feedback.

N. Eggers
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We split our stay between the Hamburg Marriott and the Renaissance. They are within 2 blocks of each other. The Renaissance staff was excellent. We wanted to visit the Beatles sites near by and were concerned about safety. A staff member spent 20 minutes talking about the area and what to expect. The front desk gave us great help in finding our way around Hamburg. They spent ample time going over maps and circling sites and public transportation.
Breakfast was included with our room and was excellent. The room was small, clean, and comfortable. The hotel is centrally located. We attended a ballet performance nearby. We were able to walk to and from the performance. There are many shops ( in all price ranges ) within walking distance. The nearby Block House steak restaurant is a good place for home sick Americans to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Fine hotel for a business trip. Rooms are comfortable and clean, as you may expect in Germany. Breakfast is excellent. But most of all: the reception staff is very friendly and helpful (even while some customers aren't). Best of all, the bartender shakes a mean cocktail, with a smile, while you lounge in your chair reading up on your Heidegger, Hegel or Hamburg guides.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Sjoerdd d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We booked through Mr.Jet where our booking was to include breakfast and free parking. The hotel would not honor the deal so breakfast was 29 a day per person and parking was 25 a day resulting in high charges considering the number of days we stayed. Also the website stated wireless Internet in public areas but not true you pay 12.50 a day. Too many unhonored details. Will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zayinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottHotelHH, Director of Operations at Renaissance Hamburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Survey and sharing your experience with the Renaissance Hamburg Hotel.

You indicated in your response that the booking you made was not honored in the hotel and internet is not for free. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. There are a few things to consider why your booking was not honored, let me ask if you have shown us a copy of your confirmation stating that the breakfast and parking are included? With regards to the free wifi at the lobby we offer that in Marriott Hotel since Renaissance is our sister company maybe you have read it in the Marriott site because we never offered free wifi in Renaissance.

We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

N. Eggers
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I have typically stayed at the Marriott in the ABC-Strasse when I have been in Hamburg, but this time I was working near the Chilehaus, so I wanted to stay a bit closer. The hotel is right in the center of Hamburg in the midst of several shopping streets and within a few minutes' walk of the Jungfernstieg and the Binnenalster.

Rooms are quite large by European standards and the decor is typical for a Renaissance (which is one of the more "quirky" Marriott brands, though all Marriott brands are quite consistently, and conservatively, decorated in my experience). The bed was quite comfortable and I slept as well as I ever sleep in a hotel. I stayed over a Friday and Saturday night, so the hotel was quite busy with tourists and the occasional group, though, except for one breakfast where the restaurant was full and I was sent to eat in the bar, the crowds were not really noticeable.

The breakfast buffet was very extensive, though had it not been included in my room rate, I would have gone to a nearby cafe instead. I ate dinner in the restaurant one night, and the food was tasty and not too expensive by the standards of European hotel restaurants.

The Internet worked well and the television system offers the typical range of international channels one would see in any large European chain hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here in August. All as expected for a 4 star hotel, nice and tidy. Clean rooms, we got a huge room. Bed very comfortable. Lifts a bit "cosy" though. Good breakfast.
The hotel is in walking distance to everything so ideal for city visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKPole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
#47 of 321 in Hamburg
1,125 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Le Meridien Hamburg
#32 of 321 in Hamburg
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 321 in Hamburg
2,513 reviews
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Hamburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Hamburg Hotel

Address: Grosse Bleichen, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#77 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $151 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Hamburg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxurious comfort in northern Germany at the Renaissance Hamburg Hotel. Located in the heart of Hamburg, our hotel offers ideal access to the city's vibrant shopping district and beautiful Alster Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Hamburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing